We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Casa Luna Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Westchester, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel and great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel was fantastic! Rooms a little small but still cozy. Very clean rooms and they make little animals out of towels for you. The restaurant was nice too. They set up tours for us that we're great too. The spa was a pleasant escape. The room does get damp and smells musty but its because of the humidity and moisture.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    171
    34
    8
    2
See reviews for
92
241
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was raining the entire time. The volcano was covered in cloud so we didn't get to see the top of it.
We walked up the road to see the waterfall ($10 entry fee) but not to the town. We found it a bit difficult to find the hotel as it's not in the town and we didn't spot any signs for it when driving through, so had to stop and ask for directions.
Our room was on the ground floor but smelt damp and musty. The fridge didn't work.
The breakfast buffet was average and the staff were slow to replenish the items. My omelette wasnt cooked through properly - very very runny in the centre, My husband's eggs were only just cooked too on the 1st morning but better the next.
The evening dinner was good and we enjoyed it.
Reception staff were very helpful.
The gardens outside the rooms are pleasant and we heard but didn't see any frogs. Unfortunately we didnt use the pool or even see it as the weather was too wet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a good value. It is a close drive to Fortuna, which makes alternate dinner plans easy. Staff is friendly, but the rooms are very basic. Breakfast is ok but nothing fancy. It seemed like there was limited hot water, and there were no hair dryers in the room (that said, we didn't request one from housekeeping).

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A medium sized place with a number of rooms, a pool and a restaurant. I've stayed here twice and both times the room was musty. Since I am allergic to mold, I had to sleep with the window open and there were no screens. Rooms are OK, clean, grounds are well maintained. Restaurant is OK. Front desk staff were friendly but not the restaurant staff. Place was at least not as touristy as some of the other places in the La Fortuna area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QBGAP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I arrived at Casa Luna for our fourth and fifth nights of traveling through Costa Rica.

We had driven from Monteverde that day and were looking forward to some rest and relaxation.

We were greeted at the front desk with a welcome and a smile. We were offered welcome beverages in champagne glasses which were delicious. The clerk was helpful and informative, providing us with a map of the hotel grounds and some suggestions for local tours/outings. He also mentioned the onsite spa, and we booked a couple's massage for that afternoon. The massage was awesome. The spa ladies were exceptionally professional and skilled.

Our room was only a few steps from the parking lot and was big and spacious, with an air conditioner and lovely washroom. As is typical everywhere in Costa Rica, the rooms were slightly damp and therefore had a slightly damp odor. This was solved by running our air conditioner for a while which cooled the air and removed much of the humidity from the room.

We immediately enjoyed cooling off in the gorgeous pool, which we rarely had to share with anyone else throughout our stay. It had a bar next to it, which sometimes had service and sometimes didn't, but you could buy a drink from the restaurant and take it to the pool with you if you wanted.

The service and food in the restaurant and bar was exceptional - I recommend trying the 'sour' - a local drink. The included breakfast had both hot and cold options, with eggs to order and lots of fresh fruit.

There was an amazing amount of wildlife on the gorgeous grounds so keep your eyes open. Lizards, frogs, birds, monkeys. Pretty incredible. The gardens were so serene.

As for location, it was perfect for everything we wanted to do. We were minutes from the waterfall park (the hotel is located on the road to the volcano) and a very short drive to all of the hot springs and to the centre of downtown. Because we weren't in the middle of downtown, it was very quiet at the hotel at night, which we thoroughly enjoyed for a solid night's sleep.

I highly recommend Casa Luna for anyone staying in the area. I would stay here again. Awesome service, gorgeous grounds, refreshing pool, and perfect location.

Room Tip: I think an upper level room might have better views and, of course, you wouldn't be able to hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Very easy to find once we got fo La Fortuna from San Jose in the fog. Everyone was helpful, especially the front desk, scheduling tours. Enjoyed the grounds immensely, listening to the frogs at night and the birds during the day was so relaxing. Breakfasts all very good. The spa was my favourite part of the 3 days here. The spa attendants were professional, very skilled in massage therapy and the setting was unbelievable. I would say to definitely treat yourself.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Our stay unfortunately coincided with our second and third days of nonstop cool rain so no views of Volcan Arenal were to be had. We noticed an overpowering musty odor emanating from the room. We understand that rains happens a lot in Costa Rica but you would imagine that the staff would be able to find a solution to eliminate the smell. On the plus side, we loved the towel animals and the made-to-order omelet station! The staff was quite friendly as well!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;