We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place & great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Luna Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Agawam, ma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place & great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay a Casa Luna Hotel. The staff here is excellent. Yerlin at the front desk was the best! She made sure our stay was perfect. The staff here really goes out their way to add to your vacation. Roy was waitor and he equally as friendly and helpful as Yerlin. Everyone that works here is awesome but I can't remember any other names. The food here at the restaurant was some of the best we had on the entire trip. The hotel is clean and the grounds are nice. The pool is clean and perfect. The location is great. You are within walking distance (be it up hill) to a beautiful waterfall. I would recommend Casa Luna to anyone staying in the Arenal Volcano area. The prices are also reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    191
    38
    9
    2
See reviews for
102
268
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We purchased a package through Living Social, and it was fabulous! The hotel grounds were very charming, did not feel crowded, even though most of the rooms were booked. The setting is so relaxing, and the staff was very accommodating. Every request was answered with "con gusto" and it was genuine. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms are simple, but clean, and they really do make an effort to be green with their practices. I would definitely go back, and I highly recommend it if you want a casual, but comfortable visit. We did various excursions, including horseback riding, white water rafting, zip lining and a walk through Arenal park. All of the excursions were booked by Ecoterra Costa Rica, and we could not have made better arrangements if we had done all the research ourselves. There were several surprises that turned out to be highlights -- the organic farm to table experience at Casona, for one. The guides were knowledgeable and fun! I will definitely watch out for more adventures like this.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have great views! If you don't enjoy birds singing at night, bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Casa Luna and the La Fortuna/Arenal region was the perfect answer for unwinding and relaxing. We enjoyed the greenery and the variety of birds on the property as well as the sound of the creek flowing in the background. About 2 kilometers up the hill from Casa Luna was the Catarata Waterfall, a very nice treat with great views of the falls and a good workout climbing the stairs to leave ($10 admission). There's also a great Woodshop with a variety of artifacts you can purchase. The piece we purchased was later found at the airport at 3x the cost. The staff at Casa Luna were very friendly and helpful. We purchased a package through Groupon.com that came complete with transportation to and from the airport, accomodations at Casa Luna and a variety of adventure activities. Highly recommend Wave Expeditions for the white water rafting experience followed with a fresh home cooked meal at a great farmhouse (all arranged by Wave Expedtions). I must say the people in Costa Rica truly represent 'Pura Vida', everywhere we went we were met with pleasant and polite people. No high pressure sales usually experienced in turist traps.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Beautiful grounds, hotel, secluded location that has a beautiful view of the volcano (ask for 2nd floor room with balcony). Very relaxing. The hotel is not an "upscale/fancy" hotel, however, it is great for the price. What puts this hotel above others for me, and what stood out the most, was the amazing customer service and staff that work there. Ricardo, Peter, Karen, just to name a few, were very helpful when I had several issues with Groupon (which is how I found/booked the hotel) and for planning the rest of my trip (helped me plan my trip to Manual Antonio), and they went above and beyond. They also have a great tour company operating from the hotel (Ecoterra) which had very good prices and the best tours. There is a 20 minute challenging walk to the La Fortuna waterfall, but totally worth it and fun. Did not try the spa but heard it's great. Highly recommend this hotel, had a blast and loved the people.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor with balcony is great for a better view of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent 4 days at Casa Luna and really loved the stay. The rooms were lovely and we had a fabulous view of Volcano Arenal from our balcony. The setting is beautiful and the staff are uniformly helpful, friendly and attentive. The food in the restaraunt was fine and we had nice massages at the spa. Every morning we were greeted by many beautiful and colorful birds and in the evening the frogs sang. We used a Living Social package and enjoyed most of the adventure tours--the day at Los Lagos Resort was a bit tiresome. I would return, happily

Room Tip: Ask for the upper floors for a better volcano view; Modulos A-F have the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Casa Luna for 5 days and was very pleased with the quality of this hotel. For starters, the view from our room of the volcano was wonderful. The landscaping is very well kept and the rooms were very clean. Our breakfast was included-there was the same menu everyday for the most part-fruit, bread, cheese, rice and beans, and a very sweet lady made eggs for you however you'd like them. For dinner we tried the ceviche and chicken ceasar salad-I would recommend both. My only minor complaint was that I believe the staff was more attentive during dinner time than breakfast. The reception staff was very helpful in reserving tours and answering all of our questions about the tours and our transportation back to the airport.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Costa Rica. The town of the Fortuna is about two miles away and there are a bunch of adventurous tours nearby if that's what you're looking for.

My only suggestion for this hotel is that I think it would be great if it included a Game Center-maybe a dominoes table or darts perhaps? It'd be nice if there were an activity to participate in during the evening since it gets dark early (around 5:30) to get to know the other hotel guests or just for one's own entertainment.

Thank you for the wonderful memories!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastvale, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel is not very close to all the main excursions so it costs to drive to the location you need to go for most of the activities, but let me just express how immensely relaxing the grounds are. Green everywhere with the birds singing, it's great if you like birds. The room itself was average. The bedding was worn out, in fact mine had a tear. The room smelled damp but otherwise was clean. The staff is extremely nice. I guess the only thing to note about it is the fact that it's not in the heart of where most attractions are so if you don't mind to spend $$ to get to the activities then you'll be fine. If you're driving, then you're totally fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.