We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow Costa Rica, and Casa Luna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Casa Luna Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Buda, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow Costa Rica, and Casa Luna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Let me start this off by saying I love Costa Rica, this was the vacation just for me and my wife it was a last minute hey lets go, and we went. The Ecoterra Groupon deal was great. Casa Luna was the place to relax after each days adventure. The staff at the hotel was always on the ball to help with last minute "can I get a massage now " requests or we need a trip to San Jose tommorow. They pulled it off every time, and I need to give a personel thank you to the taxi driver Wilson, Casa Luna got him for us he was our driver/guide for a day of shopping and running around Costa Rica 10.5 hours of running around. He always had a smile and knew where to take us. If you go the La Fortuna ask for him.

Ecoterra/Casa Luna the best thing I can say about your services is we will be back and we are bring our kids.

P.S. sorry one down side dont ask for a strawberry/mango margritta and Casa Luna, bartender could not pull it off.

Thanks
John and Lori

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    177
    36
    8
    2
See reviews for
95
251
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at Casa Luna with a 5 day/4 night Groupon package. Pretty much everything was great about our stay here. The rooms were nice with a great covered porch for sitting and reading or taking everything in, the pool was nice, and the spa was great. The restaurant was good, although the limited menu did get a little old after a few days. Luckily the hotel is within walking distance of La Fortuna or just a short cab ride away. Although the Arenal Volcano was covered in clouds for pretty much all of our stay, the views from our room were pretty amazing.

Our package included a few activities through Ecoterra, including rafting and a visit to an organic farm, ziplining, horseback riding, and hot springs. The hotel will also arrange several tours. We ended up paying extra for the Hanging Bridges tour, which was great. The hotel staff were all extremely friendly and willing to help with anything. Overall, I'd highly recommend Casa Luna.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We ended up staying at Casa Luna because of a Groupon package that we purchased. We were not sure how the hotel would be, but when we arrived it was perfect!! The hotel grounds are beautiful and you can see the Arenal Volcano from your room. The restaurant is great and the staff there are even better. They were very friendly and the waiter came to grab us when we were walking on property to show us this neon green frog. It was awesome! I would definitely go back to La Fortuna and stay at Casa Luna again. Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I did extensive research for a hotel in La Fortuna before I chose Casa Luna. It turned out to be a great choice. This hotel has a fantastic view of the volcano and is about five minutes from town. Service was friendly and the front desk was accommodating. Although this hotel is close to town, I would not recommend walking into town (just to be on the safe side). We visited this hotel during the slow season, so there was no one at the pool and we practically had the entire property to ourselves. If you are looking for a relaxing escape without any extra accommodations, then this is a perfect choice.

A few tips: Book a room on the second floor; skip the restaurant in the hotel and try Don Rufino's in town instead; visit the La Fortuna waterfall; and book a day pass at Tabacon Hot Springs (amazing!). Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in for 7 days in this is a quaint hotel, located 5 minutes by cab from La Fortuna ($5), When you look out your room you see the Arenal Volcano on the non-active side. The grounds are lush and so pretty to walk through. Fish, birds, lizards and frogs are amoungst to be found.
The fridge and a/c in the room was great and you had a great size balcony to enjoy the sounds of the rainforest in the evening.
I wasnt too keen on the breakfast which was the same everyday. Eggs, rice. beans, fruit and yogurt. You may request pancakes and cereal. When it is full with guests, breakfast is buffet style. The fresh strawberry juice is really good.
We had dinner a couple of times, I had a pasta dish which was pretty tasty and the talapia dish was excellent. My fav was chicken sandwich which i had the rest of my stay. For dessert I recommed the pineapple flambe (they put on a show!) and the coconut flan. The pina colada is delish, made fresh with local pineapples.
They are awesome with referring tours and what to do while you are there. We had booked several tours. White water rafting with lunch at a nearby organic farm- Don Juan. Arenal hanging bridges and La Fortuna Waterfall (for the falls, its $10 for admission, just take a cab there or walking from hotel is 45 mins uphill, no tour guide needed). Horse back riding with ziplining and hot springs at Los Lagos Hotel. Last was a Proyecto Asis (animal refuge center-highly reccomend if you love animals) and in the evening a Volcano hike. One tip on booking taxis without tours, the first company we called wanted $90 roundtrip to take us to the animal place and the hotel was able to get someone to take us for $50 and they waiting the whole time we were there. All were through Ecoterra, awesome guides :)
I went to take a peek at the spa, but didnt actually have a chance to book anything. The room is so pretty and its right next to the river which you hear as you are in there.
This is a great place to come and enjoy nature to the fullest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The other reviewers have pretty much said everything already. The hotel is quite nice compared to other hotels in the town. The rooms were very well kept and clean. The only thing missing was a blow dryer. I guess I assumed there would be one in the room but definitely bring your own if you need one. I had a great view of the volcano from the balcony of my room.

The staff was incredibly nice. There were some communication issues sometimes but overall experience was good. My mother got an eye infection from white water rafting and the front desk managed to have medication for that!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Casa Luna is a beautiful hotel overlooking Arenal Volcano and set amid lush foliage. It has a lovely restaurant with a delicious and varied menu, and a beautiful bar area that is open on 2 sides and seems to be set down in the middle of a rainforest. The pool area is one of the highlights of the place, allowing one to swim or sunbathe while looking out on the volcano (clouds permitting). The staff could not be more helpful, particularly at reception, where they assisted us in planning the day trips and activities that are key to a memorable stay in the Arenal area. We also appreciated being near to, but not in, the town of La Fortuna, and the hotel's efforts to minimize their environmental footprint. Our only complaints (pretty minor, in the scheme of things) were that the standard rooms don't provide much room for hanging up or putting away clothes and that the wines offered offered by the glass in the restaurant didn't do justice to the well-prepared and -presented food. All in all, a jewel of a place.

Room Tip: Second-storey rooms have better views of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.