We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice and quiet place !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Luna Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Quepos, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“very nice and quiet place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We have had a very nice and pleasant days in Casa Luna.
We should come back here when it is possible and enjoy our room and the restaurant !
Nice garden, clean rooms, nice pool, and good restaurant: thanks !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Owner at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at Casa Luna. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us and we are very appreciative of your kind words about the property and your room.
It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    189
    37
    9
    2
See reviews for
99
268
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We flew in to San Jose and took transportation to this hotel. It was about 3 hours after flying for 4 hours but it was well worth it. The people are sincere and accomodating. The food was out of this world at the restaurant on property. All the rooms have great views. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel or the people that work there. It was very clean. The grounds were beautiful. We had the swimming pool all to ourselves. I will absolutely go back! We used a Groupon in which we had the hotel and excursions included. Best Value Ever!

Room Tip: All the rooms are individual. My friends had a room right across the hall. It was so convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Owner at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
For us it was a pleasure to have served you and your friends. You are already part of our family and we look forward to meeting the next vacations! It was our pleasure to serve you and we can't wait to see you again! Thank you for your great comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This was our first trip to CR and we took a 12 day tour and this was our third hotel.
The hotel is about a 5 to 10 min ride from La Fortuna . The grounds very beautiful are very well kept . The rooms all face the volcano and the view is stunning .The reviews are pretty accurate.
We found the food good but a little over priced. A lot of tours use this hotel and as a result the restaurant can be busy. We went in to La Fortuna and ate a twice at Don Ruffinos and we found the food very good here. The Wi-Fi was great I was able to check in on face book.
We found the room a little small but the fridge was a great plus.
We walked into La Fortuna but this took an hour. ( make sure you bring plenty of water)

Room Tip: ask for a second floor room , as a better view and more private, Also keep your jeans out of site as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Owner at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
We are extremely pleased that your experience at the hotel was excellent! We are proud to provide personalized service and quality. We greatly appreciate your comment and that motivates us to improve day by day. We hope you come back again to Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This was our first trip to CR so we did the tour - La Fortuna, Tamarindo, Monteverde, Manuel Antonio, San Jose. Landed in San Jose about 1pm and drove directly to La Fortuna - took about 3 hours - but worked better than staying in SJ. Excellent place to stay - staff was great and location good. All the good reviews are spot on - not sure about the negative ones but things happen so probably true for the time but we recommend the hotel totally. Place feels like a mini version of a 5star resort - beautiful grounds, good restaurant, great pool - all the things KurtR59 says. Best input from us is probably about location - on paved road about a mile from town (many hotels around area look great on internet but down dirt road and too far from town to go back and forth easily - don't get suckered in by great pictures of place but check out location first) Don't be turned off when arriving - looks plain from road but when you enter it is a great contained compound and you feel immersed in comfort. We were looking for a mid-priced resort and this fit the bill perfectly. La Fortuna is a good typical CR town to visit - felt safe wandering around, people friendly, not large, several good places to eat. Especially recommend Don Ruffinos and Neme - first is higher fare but reasonable and excellent meat dishes, second is truly local but food was great and inexpensive. Don't be turned off by location - was safe and fine for tourists.

Have to give special kudos to Caroline at front desk and Danny who went above and beyond the call by arranging to have my Apple power cord sent to Monteverde location when I had left it plugged in when leaving Casa Luna. Which brings up best point of trip - free Wifi everywhere in CR. Since had phone turned off for trip, Wifi provided easy communication and GPS ability throughout trip - used Facetime too and it was perfect - no delays, no problems.

Some general observations for first time traveler - use regular power plugs, great Wifi throughout country, food excellent (veggies/fruit/pastas/salads great - meat ok), roads not bad (asphalt two lane everwhere, some dirt - some bad, got GPS but didn't really need since could use iphone GPS and sync when at wifi spot, no problem with water anywhere, felt safe everywhere within reason, people friendly and everyone speaks English usually better that half the States, weather during dry season was excellent overall.

Room Tip: All rooms face into pool and ground - think that second floor is a little better for view but didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Owner at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you very much Mr. Hardgrave for your comment. It was a real pleasure to have you and yourwife stay with us. Your comment is very much appreciated by us and other fellow travelers.
We are very pleased that you had a great time at our hotel and that our location was important for you.
Your comment motivate us to keep improving everyday. You are now part of our family and we hope this won´t be your last trip to Costa Rica! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This fine setting near the Arenal volcano boasts an excellent restaurant, a beautiful pool, a spa with all the services and fine rooms arranged four to a building throughout beautifully landscaped grounds. The smallish rooms have two good double beds and while there are no in-room chairs, they are on the balconies and patios and very portable. No in room AC but the air always seems to be moving with plenty of ventilation.

The open air-covered roof-in hotel dining offers a range of prices though perhaps on the high end for most entrees. We had excellent food and service. Connect with Wifi in the open air lobby. There is a large, beautiful pool with a swim-up bar setting. The bar room is being completed. A bird watchers paradise with a lot of nocturnal bird activity. $4 US taxi ride to the town for shopping.

Room Tip: Second floor balcony rooms -- across the parking lot and opposite the spa building -- offer fine cam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Owner at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
We are very happy that you had enjoyed our hotel as much as we enjoyed serving you. We are pleased that you had a great time in our restaurant, bar and rooms.
We do have AC in all of our rooms, however our restaurant its open so like you said its pretty ventilated.
Thank you again for your comment, you are now part of our family and we would love to see you again. Muchas Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

They misplaced our reservation, so we ended up spending an hour in the lobby waiting for things to get sorted out. Our guide from Desafio stayed the whole time until everything was ok. But the lady at the front desk was not very accommodating. She kept apologizing to us in English but then telling the tour guide in Spanish that it was our problem, not hers. Our guide kept requesting that he would stay until everything was sorted out, just let us go enjoy the spa. But she said until we proved that we had paid ahead of time (this Hotel did not give us a voucher like many of the other hotels had) she would not let us go anywhere. Then she would turn to us and apologize in English again (she didn't realize we could speak Spanish). The food in the restaurant very average. Although the spa was nice, the frustration with everything else ruined our stay. The guests next us were also having a problem getting what they had paid for, unfortunately, they didn't have a very helpful tour guide handling the hotels reservation problem.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Owner at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment. We are very sorry for the whole inconvenience. We are trying to investigate further on this issue. We would really appreciate if you send us an email in order to properly compensate for this situation. Once again we apologize and look forward to hear back from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in late January. It was just a 2 minute drive from town, close enough but far enough to be quite relaxing. Our room had a porch overlooking the nice grounds of the hotel and the volcano. The staff was also very helpful throughout our stay. Very clean hotel also, highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Owner at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
We are very happy that you had a great time in our hotel and that the location was key to have a relaxed vacation. It was our pleasure to serve you and we can't wait to see you again! Thank you for your great comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.