We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but adequate, great views but there must be much better hotels in the area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Cangreja Lodge

Save Saved
You added La Cangreja Lodge to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Cangreja Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Km West of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
166 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Basic but adequate, great views but there must be much better hotels in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Nothing to write home about. Free wifi in reception/restaurant area. Decent breakfast, with usual Costa Rican caveat of being fairly baisc with lack of variety in this level of hotel (fine if you like eggs, rice and beans). Rooms are large but basic, but they are clean. Fantastic location for views of the volcano, but hotel is a good way out of town for restaurants etc. Decent shower.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

I'll start with the positive the poor guy at the reception desk is very nice, and I they agreed not to charge my credit card when I refused to stay there.
I am sorry I wasnt able to take photos, but I was so upset I didnt even think about photographing my room.
1- The bedspreads are very old, stinking and look like originally they were white, but now the color is like the color of coffee stains.
2-Although I didnt sleep here I sat on the bed, and felt that a cardboard box on a stone was more comfortable.
3- The room did not smell clean.
4- There is only a coat rack in the room to keep your close on, so you would have to keep everything in your suitcase.
5- The website offers tours, you can walk arround their property but it has no path, or they can take you where the cows are so you can milk a cow and see how cheese is made, and thats what they consider a tour.
6- Not all the lights work, so it is pretty dark in the rooms.
When I didnt like the first room, they put me in another one where the window didnt close and it had moth and flies arround it. Then they put me in the "better room" with a jaccuzi, the sofa was torn, only one light worked in the bathroom, it had 3 beds and I was traveling solo, and it stunk. If you want to enjoy you vacation that you spent your hard earn money on dont waste it on here to ruin your vacation

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

It is an affordable hotel, with a great view of the volcano. They give you breakfast which is yummy and they are always asking if they can help you with something. They like to take care of the customers. Silvia is the owner and she is very nice. Esteban is super friendly too, he actually drove us to the volcano (waited 2 hours for us), took us back to the hotel and then took us to the hot springs and pick us up 3 hours later, all for $40. The taxis can be expensive if you don't have a car. The room had a safe, a tv, table with chairs and very good size. Very clean too. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

We booked this hotel for Christmas and when we arrived they moved us to another hotel because they oversold their hotel, so they moved us to a smaller hotel, no clean, not hot water, etc. When we talked to the owner of the hotel, she said that she had to move us because she didn't have rooms available even we have made and prepaid for the reservation 3 months in advance. The owner of the hotel said that she didn't have to tell us about the change in advance because that is her business and she would handle it as she wants and she wouldn't give us any refund or upgrade for the decision that she made, this is just unacceptable and unprofessional, so I strongly say to the people who are planning to go there, think it twice because there are not guarantees of the reservations that you make with them even you have paid for it

  • Liked — We not even received the rooms that we paid for
  • Disliked — Unprofessional and horrible managing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

We had a terrible experience at this hotel. We are a family of 4 who prepaid for 2 separate rooms for 2 nights as part of an adventure tour package. When we arrived for our stay, our rooms had been given away to others, with no explanation or apology (remember, the rooms were already paid for). We had a tour guide and driver who spoke Spanish, and after much angry haggling on their part, the hotel sent us next door to their "sister property". The rooms there were infested with ants, had no hot water, 4 of the 6 lights were broken, none of the electrical outlets worked. The place was a fleabag. The next day, our tour company's manager called the hotel manager to discuss the situation. He said she was unapologetic, saying it was her right as the owner to do what she wished. The tour company will never do business with them again, and I urge you DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL or the same could happen to you.
Nina Wallace
Haddonfield, New Jersey

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2008

I stayed at La Cangreja Lodge with a group of students on an EF Tour to Costa Rica. It was great!!! The hotel is nice with clean rooms that are comfortable and have great windows with wonderful views. The amenities are pretty basic but the people who run it are wonderful!!! They were friendly, helpful, and went all out to make sure that my students all had a wonderful stay. It is family run and the kids in the family (and some of the adults) even played soccer with our students. The hotel is in a quiet rural setting about 7 miles from town but that made it a neat experience. Group members watched a cow being born on a neighboring farm and there were horses and even a turkey right on site. There were also tropical birds in the trees and theres kind of a neat nature hike about a half mile up the road toward La Fortuna. The food was quite good and the restaurant is open air and is really neat. If you need a place to stay in la Fortuna you should enjoy La Cangreja Lodge.

  • Liked — wonderful hosts and staff!
  • Disliked — a bit out of the way
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco,CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

Our travel agent was unable to find anything else with availability in the Arenal area during the December peak so we were a bit nervous about staying here. Overall, it was okay. The room is very basic but clean. There weren't any in-room telephones but there was a small TV with cable. The view from the large windows is very nice. There aren't really any ammenities at the hotel except a sad looking pool that we couldn't use because it was raining. Breakfast is typical of Costa Rica and is served buffet style. Pretty good. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The location is pretty good-it is right on the road with all of the other hotels and resorts including the hot springs. The town was about a 10-15 minute drive but most of the activities were closer to the area of the hotels.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, 2 cute friendly little dogs that belonged to the staff, convenient location
  • Disliked — no ammenities, limited computer access (just 1 in lobby, staff always using), very basic room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Cangreja Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cangreja Lodge

Address: 8 Km West of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 63 hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cangreja Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Cangreja Lodge is an excellent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your La Cangreja Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cangreja Hotel
La Cangreja Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cangreja Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.