We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canyoneering in Lost Canyon, Costa Rica with Desafio Adventures” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desafio Adventure Company - Day Tours

Desafio Adventure Company - Day Tours
Behind the Central Church, Downtown La Fortuna | Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
506-2479-0020
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Desafio Adventure Company is a family-owned and operated tour outfitter and considered Costa Rica's premier "one-stop-shop" for adventure travel. We offer high-quality rafting tours, canyoneering, horseback riding, mountain biking, hiking, birdwatching, kayaking, stand up paddling, transportation, conservation programs, volunteer opportunities and more. We have two rules at Desafio: 1) Be Safe and 2) Have Serious Fun! Look for us near the Arenal Volcano with centers of operation in Monteverde, Tenorio/Guanacaste and Playa Samara! Let us take you to the land of raging, tropical rivers, active volcanoes, deep, jungle canyons and isolated beaches!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Canyoneering in Lost Canyon, Costa Rica with Desafio Adventures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

One of the highlights of Costa RIca! Great fun and spectacular views in the rain forest. Approximately 4.5 hour adventure combining hiking, and rappelling down 4 waterfalls, the longest is 200 feet! Guides were friendly, patient and very safety-conscious. All spoke great English and all had a fun sense of humour. We were served a delicious buffet after. There is a long ride up to the mountain in the Jungle Limo on a very rocky bumpy narrow road. So if you can handle the ride to Monteverde you can handle this. My only regret: not bringing a waterproof camera as the scenery and views are incredible. Don't leave Costa Rica without canyoneering.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,672
    113
    27
    11
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Canyoneering: Best adventures tour on our Costa Rica trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Canyoneering adventure we went on was incredible! Repelling down 220ft waterfalls is unlike anything else you can do! Such a rush. Victor and David were our tour guides and we were the only 2 on the trip with them! It was like our own private jungle tour. They helped us to feel comfortable with the equipment and how to repel properly. We felt safe and in good hands the whole time. Jumping into the water hole was so much fun and David even stopped the flow of the river and we sat at the bottom of the waterfall and let all the water come rushing down at our backs... What a thrill. They were able to point out animals on the way and we even saw a big wolf spider. Great lunch after, too! If you want to do a Canyoneering adventure, Desafio is the company to go with! Thanks David and Victor for an awesome adventure!
Pura Vida,
Molly & Curt, Denver, CO

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesafioAdventures, Owner at Desafio Adventure Company - Day Tours, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Molly and Curt ~

You Coloradoans sure know how to have fun! So glad you enjoyed our Lost Canyon Adventures Canyoneering! You're right, David and Victor are very entertaining and safe guides and we like to run, small, personalized tours so you can thoroughly enjoy the rainforest! Now that you've been bitten by the canyoning bug in Costa Rica, you'll have to try some canyoning back home (like in Utah!) We hope you were inspired and that you also come back down to Costa Rica to try some of our new canyon exploration itineraries!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review!

Your friends in Costa Rica,
Suresh and Christine Krishnan
DESAFIO ADVENTURE COMPANY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best tour company in Arenal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

These guys are great! Definitely the tour company that's best for folks my age (early twenties). Went mountain biking with these guys and had a super tasty surprise at the end! Made cycling 25 kms so worth it!!! If we did this all over again, I'd book every outing with these guys.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesafioAdventures, Owner at Desafio Adventure Company - Day Tours, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi WordofSteve ~

Thank you for the very nice review -- what a great compliment: "Best Tour Company in Arenal!" There are many excellent companies here in the Epicenter of Adventure of Costa Rica near the Arenal Volcano and we all work hard to maintain high levels of customer service and safety. We're glad you were able to try out one of our mountain bike tours - we now offer an intense ride called the "Single-Track Madness" - if you didn't get a chance to try it, we hope you come back and also let us take you rafting, canyoneering, stand up paddling and much more -- especially if you want to explore other parts of Costa Rica with us like Monteverde, Guanacaste/Tenorio and Playa Samara! THANK YOU, again!

Your friends at Desafío Adventure Company,
Suresh and Christine Krishnan, owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Cayman Islands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

went waterfall rappelling with these guys. best price that we were quoted. they picked us up at our hostel and were so energetic! it was a lot of fun. the guys are a bit corny, but so much fun. you only jump about 4 waterfalls by the end i was ready to do more, so that's a little bit of a let down. it's also a big climb back to the lodge. they provide food which is pretty decent. definitely would recommend it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Excellent Organization - They put together our whole trip for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just came back from our trip in Costa Rica. We originally contacted Desafio before leaving for Costa Rica to arrange some tours we wanted to do in La Fortuna and Monteverde. Once we started emailing back and forth, the customer service contact (Daisy) offered to book additional things for us including hotels and transportation. We ended up booking most of our trip through them and glad that we did so. Everything we did through Desafio was excellent. We did their mountain biking trip from Arenal to Monteverde and really enjoyed the scenery and information provided by the guide. We also did a couple of tours in the cloud forest in Monteverde with excellent guides and enjoyed that as well. We were happy with the hotel recommendations from the options provided to us and verified each hotel on trip advisor before selecting it. Most importantly for us, is that the transportation was excellent. Each driver was friendly and arrived on time and accommodated every request we had. We used another large tour company last time we went to Costa Rica and found Desafio to be the best by far. If you are planning a trip for the first time I would highly recommend using them to help plan the vacation because if anything goes wrong with a hotel or shuttle driver you can contact the main office and they can rectify things for you (which you can't do if you book on your own). Anyways I can say enough good things about this organization. They are very customer friendly and have their act together.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesafioAdventures, Owner at Desafio Adventure Company - Day Tours, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hola Jimmycan ~

What a wonderful review! There is no other compliment that makes Suresh and I smile more than seeing someone write we have "excellent organization." We are so proud of our team - it's so nice to know you were happy with how things were organized. You're right, since we have offices on the ground in La Fortuna, Monteverde, Tenorio/Guanacaste and Playa Samara, it's easier for us to put together Costa Rica vacations with smooth logistics and good hotel recommendations. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We hope you'll come back again soon!

Your friends at Desafío Adventure Company
Suresh and Christine Krishnan, owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desafio Adventure Company - Day Tours also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Desafio Adventure Company - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desafio Adventure Company - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.