We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than we could have asked for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mountain Paradise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“More than we could have asked for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Upon arriving at the La Fortuna airport, we were greeted by a friendly driver (which the hotel sent at no extra charge). He drove us through the town of La Fortuna and explained about the area. This was a very enjoyable experience! We were met with cool towels at check in and had to wait a few minutes for our room to finish being prepared. This was to be expected as we arrived prior to the posted check in time. Throughout this time, the staff was exceptional. They offered us beverages and assisted us with planning our Zip line tour (which we highly recommend). The tour included hotel pickup, which was very convenient for us. The hotel also offers a complimentary shuttle service into town a few times each day. One night we stayed in La Fortuna late and it was a fairly inexpensive cab ride back to the hotel ($8).

The hotel itself was absolutely amazing! We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite (room 400, top of the hill but worth the walk!) and it was one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in. Everything was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Upon arrival the maintenance personel was fixing our air conditioning, which afterwards worked perfectly and was much needed. The room had an interior hot tub and a private pool outside. The bathroom had both the waterfall shower and the standard shower. We also found the rocking chairs to be a great place to relax and do some reading. The property set-up is wonderful! The rooms are located in multiple buildings (each containing two units) and the lush vegetation surrounds the area.

The hotel’s general pool area was a great place to hang out. The water was very warm and we met other travelers. The restaurant was expensive, but good, and we ate flavorfully prepared fish for dinner. We found places to eat in town that were good quality for a lot less. Breakfast (included in the rate) was amazing! The buffet had a large selection and featured regional specialties. All of the food was fresh and tasty.

Every staff member we encountered was eager to help. We felt truly valued as guests as they were extremely helpful answering our numerous questions. If we return to the Arenal area someday, we will most certainly stay at Mountain Paradise again. We couldn’t have been more impressed! Our only regret is not seeing the volcano due to the cloud coverage, so we will have to return someday and will be staying at Hotel Mountain Paradise

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    576
    194
    67
    22
    16
See reviews for
209
477
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N. Myrtle Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We had a bungaloe type room w/ air condition, each bungaloe had a view of the Volcano @ arenal, Big bathroom w/ a waterfall shower and a 2nd shower w/ multiple sprayers. Service was good in keeping u busy w/ activities such as going to true Hot arenal Volcanco springs, doing ziplines/skytram over 1,500 ft in the air, going to a 100 plus ft. waterfall, or kayaking and even more. Outdoor Pool w/ swim up tiki hut Bar and massages was a must @ the spa.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

I was so excited to stay at Mountain Paridise after reading reviews on here and learning about it on the hotel website. We had a TERRIBLE experience there....

They placed us the furthest unit from the recepcion (at the top of a hill) and only gave us a golf cart ride to our room once (upon arrival). The phone in our room did not work and we were told 5 times they were "working on it" but no one ever came to investigage it. Therefore, we had no way to get wake up calls or ask for a ride down to the lobby. Because there are no alarm clocks and the phone didn't work, we asked to get a wake up call by a knock on the door - which they forgot to do on both mornings of our stay.....

We found a frog, a lizard, and monster sized moths all over our room. The shower had mildewy water spew out of it (which took away from the "luxurious waterfall shower" concept....

The door to the patio had a two inch crack in it that could not be closed. The mold growing in the room was so excessive (all along the cieling of every wall) that I got sick...

To make it better, a bird somehow got in our room and defecated all over our floors (which the front desk never sent anyone to clean like they said they would).

At check out we explained all of these frustrations and they gave us a whopping 10 percent off of our drinks consumed at the pool. The pool, the perfect view of the volcano, and some of the nice staff was just about the only nice experience staying there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMparadise08, Manager at Hotel Mountain Paradise, responded to this review, July 16, 2010
We really appreciate your comments, especially those about our service. It’s extremely important that we hear the good and the bad experiences about our staff so we can continually improve our service. We are sorry that your experience was so poor, and only wish that you had been more vocal about your problems so we could have remedied your situation to your satisfaction. For example, if you would let us know that you needed help moving rooms, it would have been our pleasure to help you. Granted, our front desk staff should have been on top of the situation and offered to assist you anyway. We are sorry for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

I stayed at the Mountain Paradise with my boyfriend about a month ago. This place was a great place to stay. We loved hanging out at the pool bar at night. The location was great and we liked the fact that the hotel offers a shuttle service to and from town and also to look at the volacano/lava at night. The rooms look exactly like the pictures do (if you look at the pics on Trip Advisor). The grounds were beautiful and everyone on the staff was nice and helpful. You get a lot for what you pay for here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

The common greeting upon your arrival is a cold towel and a cold drink. If you are unfortunate enough to be on the edge of the property, you will be taken by golf cart. The signage for the "out there" villas is poor, especially at night. We got lost several times at night trying to get back from the main lodge. The lighting in the room is poor (this was a junior suite). No bedside lamps. No alarm clock. Lots of bugs, especially in your private garden. The outdoor jacuzzi was nice. Wear mosquito repellent before going out or you will be eaten alive. Breakfast was good. The "lowly" staff was the best, the maids and the shuttle driver and the security guard. The staff in the main office came off with a haughty attitude, especially when asking for something simple. The tours they offer are the same as those in town, but with a $40 surcharge or more. Look for "Charlie" on the main street in La Fortuna across from the park. He'll give you a good deal and allow you to talk him down on the tours. Great views of Arenal during the day. The lava is on the other side though. Expensive for the lack of service. Internet doesn't work the farther from the main building you are.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMparadise08, Manager at Hotel Mountain Paradise, responded to this review, July 16, 2010
Thank you for your comments. We need to hear both good and bad experiences so that we can continue to improve our services for our clients.
We have noted your comments about the service from the staff and will pass this along for improvements

It is our number one priority to make our guests happy, and we are sorry that your stay was not. We will take into consideration all that you said in order to improve the quality of our property for the next guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

My husband and I finished out our Costa Rican adventure at Hotel Mountain Paradise. We arrived late in the day after many hours of travel. The front desk associates were friendly and whisked us off to our room promptly. The restaurant has beautiful views of the volcano from any seat. Ivan, the food and beverage manager is fantastic. He made great wine and dinner recommendations for us each night. Many reviews have said the restaurant is a bit pricey, but I will tell you it is worth every penny. We had lobster twice and it was fantastic, and the ceviche is awesome! The pool is warm with a swim up bar. Rob, the bartender, makes a great margarita as well! The rooms are like little casitas, each one has it's own small garden that has a hot tub on the patio. The showers are waterfalls! Very cool. Some rooms had full ac units. Ours did not, the wall unit kept the temperature fine, but the humidity was so high our clothes never dried out-life in the rainforest! We also recommended a small fridge in the room. Some have them now and the rest will soon. I would highly recommend Hotel Mountain Paradise We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Incredible

I would first like to thank Costa Rican Vacations for setting up with a wonderful journey to another land. The staffs at Mountain Paradise were very welcoming and understanding, of all of our issues (aka my food allergies). The treated us like family. The hotel was incredibly clean and the view of the volcano was amazing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone I know.

Thanks
Elizabeth O.
Boston MA

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mountain Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.