We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Amazing home away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mountain Paradise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Miami Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Incredibly Amazing home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

This hotel was beautifuly layed out on the hillsides next to volcano arenal. We were so close we could see rocks cascading down the side of the volcano. The rooms were all seperate villas with beautiful stone walkways between and lush flower bushes everywhere. The landscaping was up-kept perfectly as well. The pool had 3 small waterfalls emptying into pools of varying temperature. Each room had a patio with chairs and jacuzzi overlooking volcano. Also a beautiful stone waterfall shower and seperate, 7-jet, glass shower that was amazing. The bathrooms were very large and the toilet in a seperate stall. The hotel was very close to the town of La Fortuna with shops and restaurants. (10 minutes driving) Horseback riding, zip line canopy tours and the hot springs were also each about 10 mintues away. The hotels own restaurant was open concept and every table really did have a view of the volcano. The food was delicious as well and not too expensive. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly staff who offered help with anything we needed. We were transported to our room on a golf cart so there was no need to carry bags up the slight inclined hill. We could also call at anytime and receive a ride back to reception. Everyone was so accomodating. They helped us to book our activities and rides to the activities. They also helped us place a few local phone calls. We would call in the morning to have our room cleaned while we were out and they would immediately have it done. There was also fresh coffee in the room every morning and a free breakfast until 10am. Everything about our stay was amazing. I definately reccomend this hotel as the Best place to stay around Arenal. Thankyou Mountain Paradise! You made my stay wonderful**

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    576
    194
    67
    22
    16
See reviews for
209
477
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

This hotel is beautiful, has amazing accommodations, and a stellar restaurant. The food there was simply amazing, and the food specialist, Ivan, was a very kind man who knew exactly what you would like after only a couple of days. An added bonus was the amazing shower - it was an indoor waterfall type thing, very hard to explain, but nonetheless incredible. I have nothing but high praise for this hotel and the people who run it. It is a high class Costa Rican hotel, run by Costa Ricans - the way it should be!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Arrived for check in, friendly, courtious hosts showed me to my private room. It was amazining...private patio hot tub, "Rain-forest" shower, large LCD tv, computerized climate control, full-sliding double doors open to the sounds and fragrances outside. The heated pool was immaculated, with in-pool bar, television, music, and waterfall. The on-site restraunt featured great food at reasonable prices, the chef and wait staff were friendly and provided great service. Free shuttle to the fun-filled town of La Fortuna made the stay especially nice. Breathtaking view of the Arenal volcano, a landscaping paradise with hundreds of colorful tropical plants, hundreds of friendly hummingbirds that like being photographed up-close, and dozens of other colorful birds abound. Free internet in the lobby made staying in touch with work and family a pleasure. Comfortable lobby. I have traveled extensively to many countries and several continents, this was one of my favorite and most memorable lodgeing experiences. I look forward to returning again. FIVE STARS

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

We loved the Mountain Paradise. The service was excellent, the grounds are beautiful. Rooms are unique, extra large and comfortable. We really enjoyed having our own verandah and hot tub with unobstructed view of the volcano. The hot pool was a surprise, but enjoyable. The restaurant is very good. Ivan, the food & beverage manager, takes special care of each guest. Try the "Seafood for two"-bon appetit! At Mountain Paradise you won't feel crowded, I highly recommend it. 5 Star.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

We booked the room for three nights. This hotel was so stinky with mold/mildew that we all were effected with terrible headaches. The pool was pretty, but totally cloudy and full of drunk people at night, so much so that my nine year old did not want to go in. It was such a challenge to even sleep there for one night, that in the morning we absolutely had to get out of there, no matter what the cost. We spoke to the manager who could clearly hear my daughter's asthma/coughing as a result of the mold. He told us he could refund one night only, so we ended up losing $170. (and had a whole day of headaches to boot).

The hotel did NOT look like the photos. It is sad because clearly they tried to make it nice, but whoever the architect was failed miserably, making for a tacky, seedy feel. Also, the dead bugs/marks all over the walls of the room were very yucky. My husband checked under the bed to see if we left anything, and there were dead bugs all under it. Food was also horrible. We ended up leaving and staying at Arenal Nayara for a bit more and the bit of extra money was absolutely worth every penny. Everything there was perfect and absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

We flew in to San Jose and drove straight to Hotel Mountain Paradise. The drive was nice and scenic but little bumpy so we were very happy to arrive and were very delighted with what we saw.

The hotel grounds are beautiful. We were greeted by very friendly and professional staff. Within minutes of arriving we were taken to our cottage. We were very happy with our room. Very clean and very unique. Loved the bathrooms. The view of the Volcano from our terrace is breathtaking. The restaurant was great, wonderful food, good variety and fantastic service. It was very nice to meet Ivan!

The pool and bar area are also so beautiful! This is truly a hidden gem and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

The resort was beautiful. Our room was a detatched little villa with our own pool, our own jacuzzi, a waterfall shower and a massage shower, comfy king bed and our own kitchen (the bathroom alone was the same size of some of the hotels we stayed in elsewhere). This was the JUNIOR suite. The room also had a few other great touches, like an ipod dock alarm clock, a safe, a little patio with rocking chairs.

The people working at the resort were incredibly friendly and warm, and went out of their way to make sure we had a good visit.

The only downside was the restaurant, which was terribly overpriced. $6 US for a side of fries? Most nights we went in to town or ate at the resort next door (the prices were more reasonable and the food much better). Though the hotel operates a shuttle throughout the day, the last one returns to the resort just before dinner time.
If you don't have a rental car, the cab price in to town is about $8 each way (shuttle is free if you catch it). It's a few kilometers out of the 'town', but staying close to the volcano was really part of the whole experience.

You can't hear the 'newlyweds' - each suite is a detached little villa and are about 40ft apart!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mountain Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.