We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mountain Paradise to your Saves list
Hotel Mountain Paradise
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Connecticut
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

This hotel is beautiful, has amazing accommodations, and a stellar restaurant. The food there was simply amazing, and the food specialist, Ivan, was a very kind man who knew exactly what you would like after only a couple of days. An added bonus was the amazing shower - it was an indoor waterfall type thing, very hard to explain, but nonetheless incredible. I have nothing but high praise for this hotel and the people who run it. It is a high class Costa Rican hotel, run by Costa Ricans - the way it should be!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    231
    87
    31
    19
See reviews for
238
547
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Arrived for check in, friendly, courtious hosts showed me to my private room. It was amazining...private patio hot tub, "Rain-forest" shower, large LCD tv, computerized climate control, full-sliding double doors open to the sounds and fragrances outside. The heated pool was immaculated, with in-pool bar, television, music, and waterfall. The on-site restraunt featured great food at reasonable prices, the chef and wait staff were friendly and provided great service. Free shuttle to the fun-filled town of La Fortuna made the stay especially nice. Breathtaking view of the Arenal volcano, a landscaping paradise with hundreds of colorful tropical plants, hundreds of friendly hummingbirds that like being photographed up-close, and dozens of other colorful birds abound. Free internet in the lobby made staying in touch with work and family a pleasure. Comfortable lobby. I have traveled extensively to many countries and several continents, this was one of my favorite and most memorable lodgeing experiences. I look forward to returning again. FIVE STARS

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

We loved the Mountain Paradise. The service was excellent, the grounds are beautiful. Rooms are unique, extra large and comfortable. We really enjoyed having our own verandah and hot tub with unobstructed view of the volcano. The hot pool was a surprise, but enjoyable. The restaurant is very good. Ivan, the food & beverage manager, takes special care of each guest. Try the "Seafood for two"-bon appetit! At Mountain Paradise you won't feel crowded, I highly recommend it. 5 Star.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

We booked the room for three nights. This hotel was so stinky with mold/mildew that we all were effected with terrible headaches. The pool was pretty, but totally cloudy and full of drunk people at night, so much so that my nine year old did not want to go in. It was such a challenge to even sleep there for one night, that in the morning we absolutely had to get out of there, no matter what the cost. We spoke to the manager who could clearly hear my daughter's asthma/coughing as a result of the mold. He told us he could refund one night only, so we ended up losing $170. (and had a whole day of headaches to boot).

The hotel did NOT look like the photos. It is sad because clearly they tried to make it nice, but whoever the architect was failed miserably, making for a tacky, seedy feel. Also, the dead bugs/marks all over the walls of the room were very yucky. My husband checked under the bed to see if we left anything, and there were dead bugs all under it. Food was also horrible. We ended up leaving and staying at Arenal Nayara for a bit more and the bit of extra money was absolutely worth every penny. Everything there was perfect and absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

We flew in to San Jose and drove straight to Hotel Mountain Paradise. The drive was nice and scenic but little bumpy so we were very happy to arrive and were very delighted with what we saw.

The hotel grounds are beautiful. We were greeted by very friendly and professional staff. Within minutes of arriving we were taken to our cottage. We were very happy with our room. Very clean and very unique. Loved the bathrooms. The view of the Volcano from our terrace is breathtaking. The restaurant was great, wonderful food, good variety and fantastic service. It was very nice to meet Ivan!

The pool and bar area are also so beautiful! This is truly a hidden gem and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

The resort was beautiful. Our room was a detatched little villa with our own pool, our own jacuzzi, a waterfall shower and a massage shower, comfy king bed and our own kitchen (the bathroom alone was the same size of some of the hotels we stayed in elsewhere). This was the JUNIOR suite. The room also had a few other great touches, like an ipod dock alarm clock, a safe, a little patio with rocking chairs.

The people working at the resort were incredibly friendly and warm, and went out of their way to make sure we had a good visit.

The only downside was the restaurant, which was terribly overpriced. $6 US for a side of fries? Most nights we went in to town or ate at the resort next door (the prices were more reasonable and the food much better). Though the hotel operates a shuttle throughout the day, the last one returns to the resort just before dinner time.
If you don't have a rental car, the cab price in to town is about $8 each way (shuttle is free if you catch it). It's a few kilometers out of the 'town', but staying close to the volcano was really part of the whole experience.

You can't hear the 'newlyweds' - each suite is a detached little villa and are about 40ft apart!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesr Covina, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

The name of the hotel says it all.... it was paradise.

This was the first hotel we stayed at in Costa Rica - and BY FAR the best. Even though Arenal/La Fortuna was the first leg of our adventure honeymoon, I didn't want to leave.

The rooms are spacious, each with its own patio and rocking chairs. I was so tempted to try to take one of those suckers home with me! The rooms either a private jacuzzi (we had the junior suite, and it had the jacuzzi) - but I think the bigger rooms have a private pool. Each patio overlooks the beautiful gardens - with a perfect view of the volcano.

The showers blew me away. There is one stand up shower - and get this....a waterfall shower!! The walls are lined with rocks and the spot is hidden in the rocks. The water falls over the top rock like a waterfall. Amazing!!!!

The pool was our favorite place to be when we weren't out on any adventures. The pool is heated, has two waterfalls, and a swim up bar with TV. I could NOT have asked for more.

The staff is amazingly friendly, so accomodating, and extremely attentive....especially in the restaurant. We stayed three nights and the servers remembered how we liked our coffee in the morning, our names, and even the fact that I always wanted ketchup with everything. As soon as the server saw us walking up the path, he poured our coffee (just the way we liked) and brought out my ketchup. I find this fabulous - as there were many guests - each receiving the same attention and service. (The ceviche is out of this world!!)

I HIGHLY recommend this hotel. It's clean, about $6 taxi ride to the city, and EVERYTHING you can ask for! If I could, I'd give it 10 stars!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mountain Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.