We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mountain Paradise to your Saves list
Hotel Mountain Paradise
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

What can i say but absolutely gorgeous hotel!! Beautiful grounds and landscaping. Our room was great and very comfortable. The pool area was amazing and the staff and service gets five stars!! Can't wait to visit again!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    233
    92
    31
    20
See reviews for
240
551
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quepos, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here 3 nights with our 3 boys and it was great. We opted for the master suite with the pool and it worked great! There was enough pool action to keep the boys busy (ages 11, 9.5 twins) and tire them out. This included the jungle themed main bathroom shower, the boys have never wanted to take showers until now. The views of the volcano where amazing when you could see it. The food was family friendly, service was good, the grounds beautiful and felt private. The only reason I didn't give a 5 is for the wifi which is only available in common spaces and very slow.

Room Tip: If traveling with kids, go for the deluxe room with pool, you won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with Collette Tours. Near Arenal volcano. Patio has outdoor jacuzzi. Rooms are large and bathrooms are very large with a regular shower and also a "volcano" shower.
TV, A/C, hair dryer, in room safe. Wifi only at reception, pool and restaurant. Pool water was very nice but the bottom of the pool needs to be refinished. Beds were hard and pillows lumpy. Pool towels are available at reception and be sure to return or they will charge you. Food at the restaurant on the property was very good. Good buffet breakfast with a chef making eggs of your choice.
Not so good...we had a toilet issue - push handle was stuff and told the front desk. The problem was never fixed and we had to take the top off to pop the handle back out. The lighting on the property could be better. At night, hard to find your room.

Room Tip: Room 104 is close to the pool and dining room. Anyone with a mobility issue, request a room closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The grounds of this hotel are gorgeous! The views are amazing and it is a great central location for exploring arenal. The food at the restaurant is good, a little pricy for dinner. The pool is warm and has a great swim up bar. The bartender was really friendly and the drinks were good. The rooms were really nice and the waterfall shower was lovely.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had driven 1,000 kilometres on Costa Rica's highways and byways when we arrived in La Fortuna de San Carlos. When we turned off Ruta 142 onto the cobbled driveway of Hotel Mountain Paradise it seemed as though we had left Costa Rica behind on the road.

The cobbled driveway winds and climbs until you arrive at a security kiosk. The guard confirms your name and reservation before lifting the barrier. We rolled our eyes at these segregation measures, which were something we hadn't seen anywhere in Costa Rica. We drove on to the car park next to reception.

Hotel staff were abundant in reception, and didn't seem to be doing much. They were dressed in what could be described as theme park uniforms and provided what seemed a stiff and rehearsed introduction. After we had checked in we were told to take a seat by the door while we waited for a golf cart to arrive, which would then take us to our lodge.

While we sat waiting a waiter brought us what were cringingly labelled our "welcome drinks". Shortly after we'd taken our first sip a male employee wearing a boonie hat (indoors) took a seat opposite us while he tried to sell various "activities" to us. We read this manoeuvre as cheap shot extortion on the part of the hotel, upselling products that we knew to be available independently in the town centre or nearby. We were disgusted by his description of a man-made lagoon where he brought people to see amphibians, which seemed contrived and in very poor taste as it had undoubtedly displaced wild species that had lived there previously. Hotel Mountain Paradise does little to embrace its natural setting - instead it inflicts itself on the environment.

We had a hard time dismissing the adventure salesman, and had just a minute or two to enjoy our "welcome drinks" when a golf cart pulled in underneath the porte-cochère outside the door. We loaded our luggage and hopped in. The driver took us uphill through the landscaped grounds which lacked any character and seemed sanitised.

Our lodge was at the top of the hill, number 320. The interior was awful. A steady stream of millipedes crawled in underneath the front door by day and by night. We gathered well over thirty of these during our two-night stay. The walls were painted mustard yellow and the bathroom had a "waterfall" shower that wouldn't have looked out of place on the set of Fraggle Rock. The water pressure wasn't up to much, but then neither was the drainage. Even running a trickle in the shower for five minutes enough water would pool up to flood the entire bathroom.

We looked at dining in the hotel on our first night but we weren't encouraged by the sight of just three occupied tables among the thirty or more that were set, so we headed into La Fortuna for food. The hotel arranged taxis to and from the town. We were charged full price for the return trip despite hotel staff pooling with us.

Breakfast was among the few highlights of staying at Hotel Mountain Paradise. A wide selection was offered which included fresh fruit, breads, cereals as well as a hot buffet of rice, beans, chicken, eggs and bacon. Americano was poured by wait staff and freshly squeezed fruit juices were also available. Unfortunately the dining area was plagued by wasps from early morning - possibly owing to its situation in open air close to the hotel's waste storage areas.

Checking out was an ordeal. We had to fix up for the two taxis, for which we didn't argue the toss, and a couple of drinks we'd had at the bar on our first evening there. At first we tried to pay in colones, with the only large denomination note we had. The reception staff took what seemed an eternity returning our change, only to turn around and tell us that they didn't have enough. It seemed as though they wanted to hold onto a healthy tip for themselves. Discretion was exercised and we settled in dollars, paying only what was due. We passed through border control, drove off the cobbles and back into Costa Rica.

This bland resort hotel is aimed squarely at package holidays from the United States. Only go here if you want to experience Central Florida in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Close to town and not far from the springs and other adventure activities. Overall, we were very happy with our stay and for the price you can't find a better value. Large rooms, swim up bar that you can order food from and great views.

Room Tip: Tell them it's your honeymoon in the reservation notes and they will give you a great room locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ok lets start with the view, on a clear day your at the poolside bar with a great view of the Arenal volcano. The gardens a nice but can be a bit of a truck to your room (buggies provided if required for anyone with real walking difficulties)

Rooms were large and had a great looking shower and a waterfall shower (however, this is a gimmick and very disappointing but the main shower was great).

Room had a broken safe deposit box and a coffee machine with no coffee (later found out that in the home of coffee this is for sale at reception for $3 - not that dear but disappointing they could not include this in the room).

The patio had what was advertised as a hot tub but mine was the size of a small bath (some other rooms had better ones).

Then there is the pool, nice to look at but the bar happy hour included beer one day not the next WHY all depends on the barman it seems who kept disappearing.

Oh and towels for the pool are included...but they are not at the pool...not they are at reception down the hill and back again ...again WHY.

The disappointing waterfall shower, no coffee, no towels at pool and rather pathetic hot tub mad this a 3 star (would of been a 2 except for the view)

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mountain Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.