We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and romantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mountain Paradise to your Saves list
Hotel Mountain Paradise
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely and romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a magical hotel with cute little cottages as rooms. Each chalet/cottage is nicely decorated with tropical themed bathrooms with a little waterfall as the shower! We had a little Jacuzzi on the balcony. The view is amazing and you feel like you are actually in the middle of the rainforest. There are lovely star fruit trees, beautiful hummingbirds and a lovely view of the rainforest. We were not lucky enough to see the volcano as it was the rainy season and the clouds were covering it but our stay was truly magical.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    214
    77
    27
    19
See reviews for
228
522
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Tx
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This resort is situated in one of the most scenic environments I have ever visited. We rented a car and drove from Sardinal to La Fortuna (driving is interesting for sure but we didn't experience any major problems). The sign for the hotel faces the La Fortuna direction so we missed our turn and drove into La Fortuna but got directions from the Alamo rental shop. The resort is uphill about one mile and surrounded by the (thinned out) Costa Rica rainforest. The view of the Arenal volcano I'm sure would have been spectacular if we could see it but we were there during the rainy season so the peak of the mountain was shrouded in clouds. Don't go the rainforest during rainy season if you don't want rain! Coming from a hot dry Texas summer we didn't mind the cool weather (70s) and rain a bit! The resort is organized into small duplex cabinas that were very nice. Our teenage kids especially loved the waterfall feature in the bathrooms that also included a separate multifunction massage shower (no bath). Dining is on the European plan with breakfast included (breakfast is served at 6:30 AM and they didn't even make the coffee until then that was an issue or an early riser like me!). There were only a few other guests while we were there so it seemed we practically had the resort to ourselves. There is a nice small pool (heated and unheated sections) with a bar, and wifi is available in the dining area, pool, and lobby. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

my husband and i stayed x 2 nights in july 2014; we booked through a group travel package w/ Gate 1 Travel. christian and estaban at the front desk are wonderful -- super helpful in coordinating/arranging activities/transportation. a few the ladies that work up there could learn a few things from them. overall, our stay was good. no major complaints, and the breakfast was great. my major "complaint" if i can even call it that was all the random critters/bugs/lizards and such that come w/ the room. i've always been ridiculously terrified of everything in that department -- illogically so, actually. i think many of the folks in our overall tour group were also surprised by this...but i guess we should have assumed given the jungle-y surroundings. honestly, if anything, i definitely faced my fears many times, and i think i have grown from the experience! i did hear of one room where there was a snake, but the staff quickly removed it. given this, we never felt comfortable just relaxing in our room - but it made us seek out tons of adventures, so that worked out =)

the pool bar was ok; pretty quiet scene overall, and the pool could have used a good cleaning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Staff was incredibly friendly and made it a point to provide excellent service. They got to know my family over our 4 day stay and provided unique personalized service to us. They treated us as family and not just as guests, with good humor incorporated. The pool was amazing and the swim up bar was well utilized. The rooms were very spacious with high gazebo ceilings, and the bathrooms were very unique and over-sized. The room service always left us with something new and exciting each day, as we would come in to find origami displays made out of our towels. There was a personalized golf cart taxi service as well which was neat, as each villa was privately spaced out from the other rooms. Pathways were surrounded by eloquent trees and gardens, so our villa was quiet and personal. Overall it was a great hotel and we would certainly stay again as a family.

A special thanks to Elver, Fabian, Bryan, and our maid Hilda for making our experience wonderful.

Alex, Ali, Amanda, Denise, and Greg

Room Tip: Check to see if your room has a hot tub. Some have smaller jacuzzis, but some rooms have much large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The rooms are more like bungalows. We had our own private pool and yard area. The bathrooms are huge. The waterfall shower was a waste of time. Personally I would have reduced the bathroom size and created a common area. Ours had only the two rooms, bathrooms, and a kitchenette. For some reason they had not installed the sink in the kitchen. We ended up sitting on the patio a lot. The free breakfast was AWESOME. It has made to order omelets or scrambled eggs, fruit, meats, pancakes, ... All of it was very good.

We had a minor issue with a double billing, but management worked hard to rectify the issue to my complete satisfaction. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Hopefully next time it won't rain quite so much.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Our family stayed at the resort in July 2014. The view of the Arenal Volcano was spectacular, the service quite good, the food excellent, and the pool inviting. Our room (actually our own private villa/casita) was centrally located and spacious. The private hot tub outside the door of the master bedroom was beautiful, although the water never got warm in it. We particularly enjoyed the service we received from Elver in the dining room, and the transportation provided by Maritza to/from the town of La Fortuna was comfortable and right on schedule. Thanks to everyone at Mountain Paradise in La Fortuna, Costa Rica. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Rooms that have a view of the volcano are obviously key. We stayed in room 203 and it provided a fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The staff at this hotel was so incredibly friendly, helpful, and fun that it really helped an otherwise average hotel some great! We were welcomed with a fruit drink and after tellign them we were on our honeymoon, they quickly rushed to the room before we got there to decorate the bed and floor with flower petals. The location was not too bad, the hotel offered a free shuttle (though we didn't have time to use), they were SO helpful with setting up tours (even tours that we did not want to schedule through the tour groups they tended use, but an outside one), and the pool area was nice. The food was only okay after comparing to other areas we went to, it was a little pricey for what you got, but the convenience of having 2 restaurants within walking distance was nice. The room itself was a bit older, the shower was neat because it was a waterfall, but it definitely felt kind of damp most of our stay. Also, room was VERY dark - we had room 1, which was nice because it was closest to the restaurants, pool, and front desk. It was a good stop and not a bad price for what you get (most of the hotels in the area were pretty expensive compared to other areas, but I think that's the nature of Arenal). Wifi was spotty in room, but great in front desk area, and it was nice that they offered unlimited international phone calls for $5 daily. Overall, would recommend if you are on a budget and looking for great service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mountain Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.