We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chris Thiel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Mountain Paradise to your Saves list
Hotel Mountain Paradise
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Pembroke Pines, Florida
1 review
“Chris Thiel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The place was just amazing and the staff was the bomb. All staff speaks English well, so it made you feel right at home if you can not speak Spanish. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The cleaning staff created different animals out of towels each day. Never seen that before and was soo cute. The landscape was very lush and was very well maintained by staff member Abel and Freddy. The breakfast at the hotel was soo good and the restaurant had a view that none can compare. I interacted quite often with front desk staff named Daniel. He was very nice and we always enjoyed going to see him and chat with him. It was the best vacation I had and I was at the hotel for 6 days. Would defiantly recommend the place and would definitely go back there. Thank you all for your friendliness, knowledge, and professionalism.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    209
    76
    27
    19
See reviews for
227
510
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arnold, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The grounds are beautiful, and the staff friendly, courteous, and eager to help. The views are terrific from the patio of our room and the restaurant where we enjoyed breakfast.
The place was difficult to find in the dark as the sign is placed back from the road and has small lettering next to a large picture. We passed it the first time and almost missed it again in the daylight.
After being shown to our room we tried to settle in. No dresser or closet. Put our luggage on the extra bed. The waterfall shower is novel and picturesque. However as others mentioned, water splashes all over and makes the floor extremely slippery. Be careful. Not impressed with the hi-tech light controller either, especially since it decided to start beeping in the middle of the night.
Our room was half of a duplex and our neighbors arrived around 2:00am. We heard EVERYTHING. Apparently there is no sound proofing. Thank goodness for earplugs.
In room coffee is available at extra cost.
Location is good and provided easy access to the town of LaFortuna, Arenal Volcano and Lake, along with many local attractions such as Pure Trek Canyoning, Arenal Hanging Bridges, Sky Tram and zip lines.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great location - close to Baldi and the NP. The flowers and plantings are gorgeous and our patio looked out directly on the volcano. The staff provided a wonderful welcome and made our stay great. We had some difficulty with our departure and the office staff stepped in and helped us contact our driver.

The rooms are dramatic! The bathrooms are huge with waterfall showers. We saw a great variety of birds right from our room, pool, and grounds - turkeys, toucans, hummingbirds, parrots, and nightingales.

The restaurant was good - the included breakfast offered CR and American style breakfasts with plenty of fruit, cereal and juices. Their dinner menu is elaborate by my standards. Our selections were well done and their wine list is decent.

Room Tip: Slower time of the year so it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Getting to the hotel from the airport was a journey in itself. Upon arrival though, made it well worth the ride. This hotel is awesome with the waterfall shower and jacuzzi in your private backyard. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Every time we walked to our room if felt as if we were going to our own little romantic paradise. The room was clean and the grounds were clean and well kept as well. I would definitely go back when I return to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I would give this hotel 4 stars and I can definitely see why other people have rated it this way. There are some great points but some things were a let down for us personally. We found the lighting very annoying. Although there was a hi tec wall pad to control the lights, they still never got bright enough, and the room always seemed dark even with the patio doors open due to the bushes and shrubery around each terrace. The major reason we have knocked stars off was due to the poor service at the resturant we had. Both of us were dissatisfied with both our starters and main meals. I had to send my first main dish back as it was utterly inedible. I have no idea how a chef could have sent it out and thought it was ok. My second choice came back and was missing ingredients from the menu, and by then my OH had finished eating and we just wanted to leave. They staff did wipe some cost from the bill though and this was much appreciated. Onto the positive points, and there are many I must agree. The room is nice and large with a good sized tv. The terrace is lovely to sit on and watch the humming birds, and we made use of the mini jacuzzi which I recommend you should definitly not miss out on. The breakfast was good all days except one when the waiter didnt hand us a menu to order from as usual and just said continental or a different style (I forget which others now). Not knowing which was what I ordered continental and all I got was 3 slices of warm bread (not even toasted!) and no butter. Another good point was the heated pool and swim up bar that we used. It was quiet season when we arrived and we often had it to ourselves. The barman Johann(?) was a delight. Oh, and not to forget the impressive style bathroom. Having 2 showers to choose from was great. Although one of our windows was damaged and didnt shut properly. As such, this was a risk for theft so was disappointing. The wifi also did not work in our room despite it being near reception and the website offering this as a service. All this though, we had a great stay and enjoyed the area. Would recommend for many others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was the best hotel we stayed in while visiting Costa Rica. The rooms, setting, service and staff were first rate. The grounds and view of volcano Arenal were spectacular. I would highly recommend Hotel Mountain Paradise to anyone traveling to La Fortuna.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a most pleasant experience......from the time we arrived with a greeting drink to the end of our stay, we have nothing but praise to offer about this Hotel. Gabriela at front desk was always helpful, pleasant and friendly with a smile! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is accustomed to being treated well in a lovely atmosphere! My mouth dropped open when I saw the bathroom.......garden paradise! You won't be disappointed and the beds were exceptionally comfortable. We slept with the patio door open and never used A/C. Thank you to the staff for making our stay such a memorable one.

Room Tip: check out the bathroom.........I was so pleasantly surprised! The showers are amazing......and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mountain Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.