We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Quite but not worth money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mountain Paradise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Mountain Paradise
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Quite but not worth money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed in Family Suite, best view of Volcano. but service sucks here. No internet works barely in lounge. Spa and common area is under served and out dated. Breakfast was average and not done as timely. Staff is very nice but management is poor. Not the best restaurant..eat at La Fortuna worth money and Cab Fare. No coffee in room or water so better to have your own. It is a resort with out service. Our room was very nice, landscape is fabulous, Cleaning staff was very courteous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    575
    193
    67
    22
    16
See reviews for
207
478
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We loved this hotel. Our room, which we shared with our teenage son, was large, with two big beds and a view of the volcano. Our bathroon had two showers, one of which was created to look like a rock face, with plants in it. Awesome! The pool is heated to bath temperature so you can sit at the swim up 24 hour bar and relax for ages whilst looking at the volcano. The bar food was nice, loved the ceviche. It is a beautiful setting. Resturant food was lovely, the bill was a bit pricey though. Would definitely stay again, you just can´t beat the location and view.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FO
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

First let me say we left some important things in their safe. They arranged to have it all transferred to my next hotel and everything arrived intact with no loss of money or other important documents!! The property is made-up of multiple cabins Which are well appointed. There is a fair walk to get to the office and to the restaurant. There is no Internet access from the cabins and it's very spotty, even, in the reception area. The pool is heated to around 100° And has a swim in bar. It is fairly isolated so getting into town to a restaurant requires a vehicle or a taxi ride. They provide a shuttle in and out of town but the 4;20 PM shuttle was over 30 minutes late when I tried to go into town. I think the restaurant was one of the better tourist restaurants I have eaten in in Costa Rica. The breakfast buffet is excellent. If you are a coffee drinker and choose to brew your own in your room with the coffee they provided, there is an extra charge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I've been to many hotels in the area, and this is the best I've ever been to. The price for the suite is ok, and the suites are really comfortable. They have jacuzzi and a spa bath which is very beautiful. The pool is very relaxing and the restaurant is ok. I totally recommend it and I will definitely return.
The only not so good thing is that the jacuzzi is outside of the room.

Room Tip: You can get a jacuzzi from junior suites rooms, and in all rooms breakfast was included
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent four nights at Hotel Mountain Paradise and absolutely enjoyed our stay! The staff was wonderful (especially Johan at the poolside bar and Alfredo at the front desk). Everyone at Hotel Mountain Paradise wants to ensure that your stay is wonderful - and it will be!

The rooms are very secluded and provide excellent views of all of the local vegetation and Arenal Volcano. The rock shower was very unique as well!

The location is perfect and offers something for everyone - it is close to all of the Arenal excursions but also offers lots of options for relaxation. We truly enjoyed our stay at the Mountain Paradise and look forward to planning another trip to Costa Rica in the future so that we can return to the Mountain Paradise!

Room Tip: The larger the number of the room, the further it will be away from the lobby, pool, restaurant, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is the place for down to earth people who want to get away from it all - in style. The front desk and pool bar staff are the best. They will bend over backwards for their guests. Plus, the rooms have a/c and the canopied bed is very comfortable. Visit the pool bar for the best piña colada of your life.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Mountain Paradise recently and really enjoyed the hotel. The property is packed with loads of tropical plants, trees, and flowers that draw hummingbirds non-stop. The pool and wet bar are great. Be sure to order dinner from Johan at the pool at least once. It's a nice change from the restaurant, and the food is just as good. Our bungalow had 2 large bedrooms and 2 bathroosms, with plenty of space for our family of 5. The personal swimming pool was a wonderful bonus, but the waterfall shower in the master bedroom felt a bit like we were in a primate exhibit! There's a small kitchenette, too, but no gathering table. We would have liked to been able to play cards on our veranda. Oh well, rocking and reading wasn't a bad way to spend a few hours. The front desk staff including Daniel, were very helpful, and their English was great. Dinner in the main restaurant was very good, too. Being "green season", we were prepared for clouds and rain, and had to trust the postcards that Arenal Volcano was right outside our door. Finally, on our last day, the clouds left, and we got to enjoy the amazing view of the volcano...which really is right THERE. The shuttle to La Fortuna was clean and reliable, though the schedule was a little quirky. Just be sure to check the timetable carefully. Can't speak to value as the fee was baked into our total travel package, but all in all, a first rate hotel.

Room Tip: The sidewalks are hilly and slippery when wet, step carefully. All the bungalows are private but cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mountain Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.