We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mountain Paradise to your Saves list
Hotel Mountain Paradise
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
a.c, n.j
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

gorgeous place very clean. The cabins were so romantic and private.Loved the waterfall shower so much fun.The food was fantastic. The staff was extremely helpful and nice. From Diego checking us in with a big smile.Jessica answered all of my emails quickly about all the questions I had about costa rica. Alfredo and all of the restaurant staff were so welcoming at all hours of the day and night. Johan made us his scrappy special at the wet bar sooo good and made us laugh. Christain Vega our tour guide was top notch. He was so knowledgeable about everything Costa Rica from the plants to the animals and history. he made us feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    217
    77
    27
    19
See reviews for
228
523
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife, 15 year old daughter, 8 year old son, and I spend four nights at Mountain Paradise in late June 2013. We had an absolutely fantastic time. The view of the volcano was perfect from our cottage, which was very clean and well maintained. The grounds beautiful and arranged such that every cottage felt relatively private, and the restaurant and pool bar were both very nice.

However, the best thing of all was the staff. Make an effort to meet the people you will see every day --- Arlen, Diego, and Julio in the restaurant, Johann at the pool bar, and Alfredo in the office --- and I'm sure you'll find as we did that they are all very friendly and willing to answer any questions you may have about the the language, the hotel, the area, and Costa Rica in general. We did our best to speak Spanish as much as possible, but if you prefer English, almost everyone on staff is fluent.

The hotel is a convenient home base for the many tours offered in the area, including zip lining, horseback riding, tours through the hanging bridges, and so forth. The town of Fortuna is about 15 minutes by transport, and offers a change of scenery and additional eating options.

The weather in June was partly sunny, partly overcast, with about 1-2 hours of rain each day. Being from the high desert of Nevada, we actually looked forward to the rain however.

We just returned home and frankly can't wait until the day we can go back. Fantastic vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Arenal Volcano. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We flew in from Atlanta, and our flight was delayed 4 hours! We called once we finally landed, and they were so accommodating to our late arrival and helped us re-schedule our dinner reservations and hot springs visit. The wait staff and bar tenders were great (and funny), and they usually do multiple jobs at the hotel (i.e. grounds maintenance and bar tender). It's about a 4-ish hour drive from the San Jose airport, lots of fun little places ("disco techs") in the little town......While we were there, we visited the hot springs, zip-lined and did a class 4 white water rafting trip.

I read through some of the reviews of those who rated it "poor"; they are obviously just being a stick in the mud. We have traveled all over the world - this place was by far the BEST!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We drove 3 hours from Liberia airport to stay at mountain paradise hotel.
Upon arrival, we were greeted with cool towels and a welcome cocktail . It was the perfect way to refresh after a long plane ride, and a long car ride.
We were checked in by Alfredo, who was wonderful ! We checked in quickly and were driven to our rooms.
the rooms are BEAUTIFUL. What's nice is that everyone has their own little house. The grounds of the hotel are so pretty. But, what really makes the hotel is the view of the volcano! Each room has a back porch with a Jacuzzi tub. It was so nice to come home to the Jacuzzi tub after a long day of activities.
The pool is amazing.
The complimentary breakfast is delicious.

The staff at this hotel goes above and beyond to make sure your stay is perfect! Thank you to Alfredo, Mike, and Gabriela for really going the extra mile to make our trip wonderful. Anything you needed these guys were able to help, and with a smile!

Only complaint was the restaurant at the hotel is overpriced. But that the ONLY thing.

Thanks for making our vacation great !! we hope to come back soon !

-From the crazy people from new york.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 309, and it was perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We very much enjoyed our time at the Mountain Paradise Hotel. They really went out of their way to make us feel welcome and take care of us. We were welcomed with a cool scented towel and a lovely juice drink. When we got caught in a rainforest after a hike, they took our shoes to the dryer to try and dry them out for us. When I forgot something after we left, they made a special effort to get it back to us. We especially liked Michael, the shuttle driver. We was great, very hard working. In fact, one of the things this hotel offers that many hotels in the area don't is a free shuttle into town and back again several times a day. That's a very nice feature. Sure, there could be more counter space in the bathroom, the path to the rooms is a little steep, and the lighting was a little funky. But the grounds were gorgeous, the little casitas and their gardens were lovely and peaceful. My husband and I arrived and just sat in the rocking chairs on porch of our room and enjoyed the gardens. There were lots of families here and it seemed like a great place to bring kids even though we didn't bring ours. One tip is not to leave your doors open like we did in the beginning-- after a few minutes some tiny ants invaded to get at my leftover juice, but when I called the front desk they quickly took care of it. If we hadn't left the door open, it wouldn't have been a problem but you are right on the edge of the rainforest here and part of the price for it being so beautiful is that there is a lot of wildlife...including insect life nearby. A little precaution when opening and closing the doors seemed to solve the problem. We felt is was totally worth staying here for the gorgeous views and grounds, and it was a terrific value for the money,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Pura Vida! This was a great hotel with more than friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms and grounds. We had great views of the Volcano and the rooms with your own pool are well worth the extra cost! Beds were comfortable and each cottage was just secluded enough where we didn't feel like we were in a corporate hotel in the middle of the rain forest. The staff were extremely helpful in not only ensuring we were comfortable with our stay, but also helped us get to the correct spots for our excursion pick ups as well as helped us learn basic spanish! Great hotel which really made you feel like you were away from all the hustle and bustle of a stressful city!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I just spent two nights here and wish it could have been more. I think I took more pictures of the flowers and hummingbirds on the grounds than of the volcano. The room was unreal, beautifully done with a waterfall shower in the huge bathroom and a jacuzzi out on the patio, which faces the volcano of course. The staff was eager to please from check-in to check-out. Location is also perfect, close to La Fortuna and the waterfalls there and equally close to the Arenal Volcano National Park. It is also near Lake Arenal and numerous activities in the area. I can't wait to go back. Oops, I almost forgot to mention the food. I only ate breakfast there but the food was great, from the banana pancakes to the huevos rancheros. What a spread.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room but it wouldn't hurt to request a room with a patio pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mountain Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.