We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfl customer service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mountain Paradise to your Saves list
Hotel Mountain Paradise
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
East Windsor, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderfl customer service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for four nights to begin our Costa Rican honeymoon. First, we arrived late at night and the hotel is impossible to find in the dark. It is not recognized in the GPS and the one sign off the main road is very small and is not lit up. We drove up and down the main road for almost an hour and asked more than five people before finally finding it. There was someone waiting for us with a golf cart for our luggage when we arrived and we were given a letter asking us to stop by the lobby when they were open the following day. All we wanted to do when we got there was inform our families that we had arrived safely and go to sleep, but we could not get the internet to connect. This was an issue the whole time we were there and we were reassured more than once that they would reset the modem and it would be able to connect, we gave up on asking eventually because it was clear that the signal was not strong enough to reach the guuest rooms.

The grounds were absolutely beautiful and had many tropical flowers, plants, trees, birds and other animals easily visible. We took many, many pictures of the grounds and were very impressed in that aspect. The view of the volcano from most parts of the property are awesome also, especially from the restaurant and behind the front desk.

The room itself was very large and had two king size beds in it. When we checked in, all of the bathroom windows were wide open (without screens) and there were a few little lizards in our bathroom. We just closed the bathroom door and hoped they would dissapear! We kept telling ourselves that we were in a tropical country and that it was just different than home. The beds were very hard, but we had such busy days that we found ourselves passing out at night and spending very little time in the room.

The bathrooms look beautiful, but upon close inspection make you feel a little weary. The toilet is in it's own little room that is very poorly lit and very humid. Both showers make a huge mess when you use them and flood the whole bathroom.

We ate lunch at the restaurant once and the food was decent, we had better and worse on our trip. We didn't utilize the pool because we did many daily excursions and it as packed and loud with drunk people at night.

There were little ants and spiders EVERYWHERE in the room, all over the furniture. We made sure to shake everything out before we packed it for our next leg of the trip.

Overall, the hotel was satisfactory and we enjoyed the time we spent in La Fortuna. I may return to it because of the staff, everyone was so wonderful. The guys at the front desk talked to us for a long time about the volcano and the history of the area. When we checked out we were headed to another hotel that was 5 hours away, when we got there we realized we had forgotten an envelope with a substantially large amount of American money in the safe at Hotel Mountain Paradise and naturally we both freaked out. We called them and Daniel was so quick to help us out and went out of his way to make sure there was an easy way for us to be able to retreive the money and we were returned every penny that we left.

If you're looking for ultimate luxury, go else where, but if you're looking for beautiful grounds with wonderful customer service, and lots of local knowledge than I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Specifically ask for a room with a view of the volcano if that is why you're choosing this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    219
    78
    27
    19
See reviews for
229
524
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Top Contributor
409 reviews 409 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Spent 2 days at this wonderful hotel.
The rooms are a series of individual bungalows each with a fantastic bathroom that has 2 showers,one of which is a rain Forrest.
There is AC.which works well.
The rooms are large very comfortable beds.
Breakfast was ala carte and very tasty
The grounds are magnificent and the staff were very helpful.
This was a real winner!

Room Tip: Had room room 106 which was very cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed there only for two days, and I wish it was longer. Everything was perfect - really nice staff, the food in the restaurant, the pool with bar, and the room was the best of all. The waterfall shower, jacuzzi on patio, large beds, etc. Yes, there were some kind of ants outside of room, but you will meet insects everywhere in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days and then went down to Manuel Antonio where we payed twice as much for our hotel that we liked half as much and in retrospect...we wished we would have just stayed at Mountain Paradise the whole time. The food was great, the staff were amazing and helpful, the room was AWESOME! The waterfall shower is cool, yeah, the water kind of gets everywhere, but if you put a towel down at the edge of it, it's not a big deal. And it is super romantic. We could see the volcano from the Jacuzzi on our patio and in the mornings there were all different kinds of wildlife that would stroll past. I guess if I had to complain about something, it would be that the music at the pool was obnoxious hip-hop that I really didn't want to hear on my vacation in paradise. Other than that though, loved this place!

Room Tip: Get a room far from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our experience was wonderful. The staff is very friendly, attentive and helpful. The hotel concierge service was superb, especially Alfredo and Daniel they made sure we were taken care of from the moment we arrived. They are so knowledgeable about places to go, where to eat, and the history of La Fortuna and Arenal Volcano.The hotel manager Hermes was also very helpful and attentive, made sure our stay was exceptional and it was. So, thank you to the staff at Mountain Paradise for the amazing service and making sure we had an amazing time.We went on the ATV tour with La Pradera, our guide was Kendall and he was great, we have a wonderful time and the views, were breathtaking. We feel we made new friends here. We also went to Tabacon Hot Springs, it was raining that night, but the said it was the best time to go and they were right. The hot springs were so warm that it didn't even matter, and the food was unbelievably good. Lastly, we went to Sky Tram for zip lines and pour guides Nacho (real name is Ignacio) and Jorge we phenomenal, we had such a great time! We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 102 and had the best view of the volcano with a private hot tub. Also, you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed there in April, at first sight the place looks very nice. If your with anyone that has a bug and critter phobia this is not the place for you. The beds were hard and uncomfortable. Overall the rooms were clean, but you would see the occassional spider, millipedes, scropions, lizards and of course Geckos. We had an 8 inch gecko in the bathroom one night. Made for an interesting evening. Was told that these things are all around and they just live with them. One tour guide told us that he hates them because all they do is S**T all over the house. The pool was about the only saving grace at this place. Spent alot of time in the pool it was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed for two days of our trip and could have spent a week. beautiful grounds, nice staff, very good food. Got to try the heart of palm rice, yummy! Couldn't find anything negative to say! Spent time walking the grounds and saw more hummingbirds than I could count, and lots of birds I had never seen before. My hubby loved the waterfall shower!

Room Tip: all seemed to have a great view and angled so you couldn't see your neighbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mountain Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.