We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Mountain Paradise to your Saves list
Hotel Mountain Paradise
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here because our rental car broke down on our way back to the Capitol. We ended up staying 2 nights because we loved it so much. The rooms are huge and all have amazing bathrooms that feature a waterfall shower. Some rooms have small pools in front of them. There is a great central pool complete with bar and snacks. I was recuperating from knee surgery and was driven by golf cart whenever I went anywhere on the property. The staff were all friendly and helpful. One eve helped us to deal with the rental car company which was certainly not required by his job. The restaurant on site serves a hearty breakfast buffet and a gourmet dinner with huge servings. The steak was outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    210
    76
    27
    19
See reviews for
227
511
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We got married in April of 2013 at the Kiota and all our guests stayed at the HMP. We are originally from Denver, CO and guests came from all over the US to be a part of our wedding. The crew at HMP was GREAT! They were all super friendly and attentive with all our guests needs. We would recommend anyone staying at this hotel. The backdrop with the volcano is beautiful, the rooms are very comfortable, food is great, and the staff is amazing! Thank you guys for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Lovely staff and well located. Room was very big with waterfall shower. Loved the staff at reception, they were so helpful. Difficulties were finding the hotel as hotel sign is discrete and can only be seen on one side of the road. The other was wi fi was only accessible in main reception, other than that it was great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We ended our nine day trip to Costa Rica here and were pleasantly surprised at how beautiful and unique this property was. The atmosphere was amazing , lush gardens, volcano view , hummingbirds everywhere, lizards , open - air restaraunt with excellent food and wine selections. Pool area clean with a jacuzzi and swim up bar. They offer excursions and shuttle service which we did not need we had rented a vehicle. There was parking available next to the lobby. the lobby was unique and inviting.
Upon arrival staff were very helpful and friendly and took our bags and gave us a ride to our room via a golf cart. You are not able to drive up to your room as the streets are narrow more like walkways. we had room 104 and at first we requested an upgrade to a room we had heard had the best view. The gentleman helping us to our room suggested that we view our room first before upgrading. when we entered we were again pleasantly surprised and more than satisfied with the accommodations and view. We had two beds in our room a beautiful bathroom with a hot shower and a refreshing cool water waterfall shower. Our patio had a jacuzzi which we did not use and two very comfortable leather chairs we loved sititng on in the morning with coffee.
The guides for the excursions were very friendly offering much insight into the Costa Rican way of life details we would have never known and experienced without them. the hanging bridges and waterfall trip was the best! Would definitely go back to this paradise but would stay longer. The only con for us was that the beds are very uncomfortable but everything else made our stay worth while.

Room Tip: Beds are very hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

excellent place...friendly people, the place is kids friendly, excellent for couples.the whole hotel property is beautiful....Im defintely going back next yr..

ask for the highest room in the mountain since it will have a excellent view.

Room Tip: the higher the room is located the better view you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aibonito, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are a dream, showers and john are clean, sheets were not clean, doors need sweeps for avoiding insects to enter rooms, i had a serius problem with roaches i had to spray around the room some bug killer so that the roaches would stop climing my bed, a recomendation to them is that when the maid cleans the room she most close the door to avoid insects entering the room, they must change there internet provider and long distance calls also,the personal is friendley and very nice. THE FOOD IS Very good, price are fair, breakfast, lunch and dinner were awsome. If planing to use the phone service just $5.00 unlimited international calls sounds good, but funny thing it dident work and the internet(free) dident work also. Be sure to have a cell phone if you need to call back home. When i check in i wasent welcome like other guest, they gave them juice refresments and were very fast to take them to their rooms. The pool is very clean and beautiful. The room ac was very good. The tv was good. The bug part was a big problem and the phone and internet also.

Room Tip: The place is beautiful make sure that sheets are clean, check for roaches! Water in the room is $4.0...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I really couldn't be more enthusiastic about this hotel. Beautiful setting, wonderful staff, even the restaurant is good. Our bungalow had a waterfall shower! The heated swimming pool has a swim-up bar! There are beautiful flowers, butterflies and hummingbirds all over the grounds! The restaurant is open air, with views of the volcano! The rooms are huge (we got one with two beds), comfortable, and air-conditioned. We had a private jacuzzi tub on our back porch! And all of this for an incredibly reasonable price (I think around $150/night).

This place is off the main road, a couple miles from the town of La Fortuna, so if you don't have a car, getting into town might be a little tricky, but honestly, La Fortuna isn't a particularly interesting town, so you wouldn't be missing much. The front desk will book any tours you want to go on (hiking, ziplining, hanging bridges, etc), and you will get picked up at the hotel, so that is very convenient. (However, if you do have a car, I recommend doing these activities yourself - at much reduced prices - rather than these tours.)

But back to the hotel. . .honestly, if I could go back there tomorrow just for the pleasure of the Mountain Paradise, I totally would. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mountain Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.