We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely surprise - more than they advertise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mountain Paradise to your Saves list
Hotel Mountain Paradise
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise - more than they advertise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here with our two kids - 10 and 13 - for three nights. Let me say, it was a real surprise since we booked it a little last minute and little else was available...you know how those things usually work out??!? Anyway, we arrived after a LOOOONG drive from San Jose - I recommend only doing that in the daylight - and were given room 405. It's at the top of the hill with it's own, wait for it, plunge pool!! Better than that, assuming the clouds are cooperating, the view of the volcano is spectacular. There was a bedroom with two double beds so our kids didn't have to sleep together plus their bath - shower had wall of jets. The kitchenette was struggling to be a kitchenette - refridge was helpful but teeny coffee maker, no sink, no microwave. King bed was very comfortable, nice sheets, and the master bath offered a "waterfall" shower which was very cool. Every day, they left an interesting towel sculpture on the bed for our entertainment. You should know that the pool is not big and was a little crowded while we were there - but they offer a swim up bar which looked like a lot of fun! Breakfast was included adding to the value - and was really quite good. We ate on site two night because we were wiped from our day. You should know that it is not centrally located - but nothing in Fortuna is really centrally located. The attractions (zip lining, etc) will come and pick you up but expect to pay for that. Each room is a villa - this wasn't fully explained on their website but should be because they are private and surrounded by lush gardens and feel like your own little house on a hill in a green, vibrant rainforest. We would absolutely go back.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a pool but the others have a jacuzzi - maybe you prefer that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    245
    95
    31
    20
See reviews for
247
566
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.
We had the last Villa on the hill, amazing view on Arenal volcano, our own pool and the "jungle shower" which was a lot of fun. Rooms were spacious and clean. Surrounding is amazing with green plants and a lot of birds. Staff is friendly and helpfull, you can get a pick up by golf cart if needed. Definitely recomment this hotel.
However food at their fusion restaurant is very low average: to avoid!

Room Tip: Ask for a villa with pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We recently stayed at Mountain Paradise for two nights with our three children. We were pleasant surprised how nice our room was after reading the mixed reviews. We had a private pool in front of our room, the two bedroom suite was immaculate and the decor was perfect for the country. We enjoyed the pool and restaurant. The service in the dining room was outstanding and breakfast was delicious with a variety of foods to choose from. We had our tours pre booked and weren't on the premises for much of our stay. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 401 which was a newer room, it had great views and was large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The largest and most unique bathroom with waterfall shower. You have your own Casita . Hottub on your deck. they have golf carts for shuttles as it is a bit hilly. Outside pool is well heated and swim up bar . Rooms are huge have TV Internet is sporiatic in rooms, better in restauaunt and public buildings .

Seemd to be a bit understaffed . Very lush property and great view of Arenal Volcano

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Definitely a disappointment. I stayed at Arenal Springs Resort last time I was here and had a perfect view of the volcano from my bed and porch. They were booked up this time so our travel agent suggested this place. The room was "interesting" in an overly furnished way, but the general smell of the room and bedding were musty and moldy. Though the gardens were nice they covered any view of the volcano from our room and porch. Also, we were told to wait for five minutes on two occasions and waited an hour one time when we were trying to change rooms, and the second time were never picked up at the hot springs as promised so we had to take a cab back after three phone calls to the hotel and waiting an hour as well. In fairness, the garden style shower in the bathroom was awesome, the staff seemed friendly and the food was good enough in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner, but I would avoid staying here again if at all possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

If the Arenal volcano were actually erupting, this would be a pretty spectacular place. It is architected so that you can look out your room's window or from your patio hot and see the tip of the cone, or sit at the "wet bar" and watch similarly.

But the eruptions and action apparently stopped 2 years ago. So one has to judge this hotel and town on its merits.

The best way to describe the rooms at the Mountain Paradise is Poconos in Costa Rica; over-the-top, low-quality, kitsch. The rooms have funny showers made of stone with a waterfall coming over your head; ours even had a complementary live frog hopping around and a giant cockroach during the night. The enormous king bed has a funny curtain around it with giant logs overhead. And of course there is an air conditioner and a flat screen TV.

The guests are generally whit trash. At 10:15PM, I just witnessed a 300+ lb American man, who's every 5th word is a curse, rearrange the lounge furniture, sit in a chair, and fragment it to smithereens. He then discussed with his family how they all had been drinking continuously since 10AM, and whether to report the destruction to the staff.

The hotel itself organizes tours with an insane markup.

The town also pretty much sucks; it has been overrun with busloads of tourists (the scene at the hot springs in the evening is insane).

So, if you're looking for an alternative to Fort Lauderdale for Spring Break, you could consider this. If you were looking for a place that brings out the quality of Costa Rica, avoid this place completely.

A one virtue of this place is the staff, who smile, laugh it off and seem to get on.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a fabulous vacation at this hotel. We stayed at the Mountain Paradise for 6 nights (3/16-3/22/13). It exceeded our expectation and we have travelled to many places. The service was outstanding and the friendliness and helpfulness of the employees was superb! Daniel greeted us with a great smile and helped charge my phone; Majid assisted with our boarding passes for the return;Donelo always got us into town; Ana kept our room organized and decorated with towel sculptures; Jessica made our reservations and transfers happen with ease; Tracy was helpful at the reception desk and Johan got us the best guides for our excursions. The grounds were magnificent and put us at rest right away! The breakfasts were authentic and plentiful.
Thank you all!
Charlotte Parniawski and Vincent Adinolfi

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#13 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,688 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,176 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#3 of 69 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,558 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 818 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Corin
Hotel Royal Corin
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mountain Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.