We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Impressive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mountain Paradise to your Saves list
Hotel Mountain Paradise
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Most Impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The largest and most unique bathroom with waterfall shower. You have your own Casita . Hottub on your deck. they have golf carts for shuttles as it is a bit hilly. Outside pool is well heated and swim up bar . Rooms are huge have TV Internet is sporiatic in rooms, better in restauaunt and public buildings .

Seemd to be a bit understaffed . Very lush property and great view of Arenal Volcano

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    229
    85
    30
    19
See reviews for
235
537
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Definitely a disappointment. I stayed at Arenal Springs Resort last time I was here and had a perfect view of the volcano from my bed and porch. They were booked up this time so our travel agent suggested this place. The room was "interesting" in an overly furnished way, but the general smell of the room and bedding were musty and moldy. Though the gardens were nice they covered any view of the volcano from our room and porch. Also, we were told to wait for five minutes on two occasions and waited an hour one time when we were trying to change rooms, and the second time were never picked up at the hot springs as promised so we had to take a cab back after three phone calls to the hotel and waiting an hour as well. In fairness, the garden style shower in the bathroom was awesome, the staff seemed friendly and the food was good enough in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner, but I would avoid staying here again if at all possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

If the Arenal volcano were actually erupting, this would be a pretty spectacular place. It is architected so that you can look out your room's window or from your patio hot and see the tip of the cone, or sit at the "wet bar" and watch similarly.

But the eruptions and action apparently stopped 2 years ago. So one has to judge this hotel and town on its merits.

The best way to describe the rooms at the Mountain Paradise is Poconos in Costa Rica; over-the-top, low-quality, kitsch. The rooms have funny showers made of stone with a waterfall coming over your head; ours even had a complementary live frog hopping around and a giant cockroach during the night. The enormous king bed has a funny curtain around it with giant logs overhead. And of course there is an air conditioner and a flat screen TV.

The guests are generally whit trash. At 10:15PM, I just witnessed a 300+ lb American man, who's every 5th word is a curse, rearrange the lounge furniture, sit in a chair, and fragment it to smithereens. He then discussed with his family how they all had been drinking continuously since 10AM, and whether to report the destruction to the staff.

The hotel itself organizes tours with an insane markup.

The town also pretty much sucks; it has been overrun with busloads of tourists (the scene at the hot springs in the evening is insane).

So, if you're looking for an alternative to Fort Lauderdale for Spring Break, you could consider this. If you were looking for a place that brings out the quality of Costa Rica, avoid this place completely.

A one virtue of this place is the staff, who smile, laugh it off and seem to get on.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a fabulous vacation at this hotel. We stayed at the Mountain Paradise for 6 nights (3/16-3/22/13). It exceeded our expectation and we have travelled to many places. The service was outstanding and the friendliness and helpfulness of the employees was superb! Daniel greeted us with a great smile and helped charge my phone; Majid assisted with our boarding passes for the return;Donelo always got us into town; Ana kept our room organized and decorated with towel sculptures; Jessica made our reservations and transfers happen with ease; Tracy was helpful at the reception desk and Johan got us the best guides for our excursions. The grounds were magnificent and put us at rest right away! The breakfasts were authentic and plentiful.
Thank you all!
Charlotte Parniawski and Vincent Adinolfi

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We loved our stay at Hotel Mtn Paradise. We stayed for 4 nights in early November (November 7 -11) and it rained EVERY second of EVERY day. We never got to see the Volcanoe...it was covered by clouds 24/7. That was a huge bummer because that was one of the main reasons we booked this hotel. Our room was very, very big with 2 showers, a hot tub, and two beds! It was amazing. The showers were really cool...one regular showers and one "waterfall" shower that spilt out over a rock in the room. The service was wonderful - they will come and pick you up or take you to your room on a golf cart because there is quite a lot of walking to your room, most of it is uphill as well. We also booked our excursions through the hotel (white water rafting, rappeling waterfalls, and zip lining) and they took care of everything for us. They also got us a driver to pick us up from our first hotel and bring us there and a driver to take us to the airport...so very helpful and saved my husband and I a lot of headache! They would call cabs for us to go into the city, as well...just about 5-7 minutes from La Fortuna! The food was pretty good, but not the best we had in CR. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone!! PURA VIDA

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Chatham, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Mountain paradise was one of the best hotels we've been to anywhere, ever. The views were fantastic and the grounds were beautiful. Itt always seemed to be so private, there were never any crowds anywhere. The private cottages with your own little pool were perfect. The food was awesome, lunch and dinner were a little pricey. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. We made friends very quickly with Daniel and Johitan, two employees who were the best, very helpful, very friendly guys. The local town is really close for shopping of all kinds and there were tons of excursions like zip-line canopy tours, whitewater rafting, hot springs and volcano hikes all within about a 20 minute ride. We saw a sloth crossing the road one day and the next day a pretty big iguana hung out with us at the pool. We were sad to leave and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We recently stayed 4 nights at the Hotel. The view is wonderful and the garden. The accommodations were reasonably good- while the showers were beautifully authentic and the water plentiful, the walls and toilet could use some upgrading. We were a group of ten people in four rooms/suites. all of us had toilet problems the first night or two. Staff were courteous but with exception of a couple of staff, they were unfriendly ( unlike those in the buena costa province). Service was ok. They do not cater to children. The one restaurant had one menu ( slightly expensive ) with nothing like burgers, fries, etc for children. The pool bar menu had the burgers,chicken fingers, club sandwich etc but only seated four or five people on stools around the bar. As a group there was no room for us all. So when we asked for the other menu for the children and anyone who wanted a burger etc, it was not readily accepted. Two waiters were nice about it and understood the first couple of nights. The following nights other staff were reluctant and made us feel like we were cheap.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mountain Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.