We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mountain Paradise to your Saves list
Hotel Mountain Paradise
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Old Chatham, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Mountain paradise was one of the best hotels we've been to anywhere, ever. The views were fantastic and the grounds were beautiful. Itt always seemed to be so private, there were never any crowds anywhere. The private cottages with your own little pool were perfect. The food was awesome, lunch and dinner were a little pricey. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. We made friends very quickly with Daniel and Johitan, two employees who were the best, very helpful, very friendly guys. The local town is really close for shopping of all kinds and there were tons of excursions like zip-line canopy tours, whitewater rafting, hot springs and volcano hikes all within about a 20 minute ride. We saw a sloth crossing the road one day and the next day a pretty big iguana hung out with us at the pool. We were sad to leave and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    213
    77
    27
    19
See reviews for
228
522
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We recently stayed 4 nights at the Hotel. The view is wonderful and the garden. The accommodations were reasonably good- while the showers were beautifully authentic and the water plentiful, the walls and toilet could use some upgrading. We were a group of ten people in four rooms/suites. all of us had toilet problems the first night or two. Staff were courteous but with exception of a couple of staff, they were unfriendly ( unlike those in the buena costa province). Service was ok. They do not cater to children. The one restaurant had one menu ( slightly expensive ) with nothing like burgers, fries, etc for children. The pool bar menu had the burgers,chicken fingers, club sandwich etc but only seated four or five people on stools around the bar. As a group there was no room for us all. So when we asked for the other menu for the children and anyone who wanted a burger etc, it was not readily accepted. Two waiters were nice about it and understood the first couple of nights. The following nights other staff were reluctant and made us feel like we were cheap.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

REally fabulous food. Everyone should try the paella for two and the breakfast buffet was fantastic. Dinner and lunch were pricey--but worth it. Beautiful grounds, very nice Jr. Suite. The waterfall shower is cool--but the water gets everywhere. We traveled with two school age kids. There were no other children in the resort--it seemed to be much more geared toward romance than families, but the kids did love the heated pool and we did some great activities in the area--especially the hanging bridges tour. Employees were very nice and helpful. The drawback was that it is a bit of a hike to get into town so either have your hiking boots ready or have small bills for taxi rides.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Loved this hotel. Junior suite was perfect, lovely to sit out on private patio and see all the wildlife. (Armadillo, frogs, lizards & variety of birds) Waterfall shower in room was a nice touch and there was also a jet shower to please everyone - bathroom was HUGE! Got 2 little bottles of water in room each day & satchet of coffee. The pool area was nice although you're lucky if you can get a sunbed in the late afternoon. Too far out of the village to walk to, but not really a problem as restaurant was fine at the hotel. Good views of the volcano & had some clear days to get lovely photos. You do however HAVE to pay $10 (or $20) a night to the hotel which I don't think is on. This apparently is towards hot water, transfer to their off-site bistro & free international phone calls.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed one night and enjoyed our visit. The pool with the swim up bar was fantastic and the grounds were incredibly beautiful. We enjoyed a delicious full breakfast. The rooms were fantastic and spacious. We loved the waterfall shower. The hot tub did not work as well as we hoped - it's a little small for 2 adults (if you're looking to enjoy a romantic soak as a couple) and the water was not very warm. Other than this, we had a great experience. Friendly staff and excellent location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for 3 nights and fell in love with the place. Our room, or more like an entire cottage, was unbelievable. It was beautiful, clean and very romantic. There are gorgeous plantings, birds and other wildlife all amongst the property. The restaurant and food were excellent. Every single employee had a smile on their face and was helpful & fun. We loved the swim up bar to hang out at night. The shuttle from the hotel to downtown La Fortuna was free, a nice surprise! I will definitely be returning to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We cannot say enough good things about Hotel Mountain Paradise. We were wondering what we got ourselves into when we had to turn off the main road onto a dirt road, but once we passed a little section of bumpy road we found the road to paradise!

The staff greeted us with hot towels to wash our hands, checked us in, and helped us with our luggage. They then drove us in a golf cart to our bungalow. The ride was beautiful - tropical trees, flowers and plants, hummingbirds flying around, and a great view of the volcano.

We couldn't believe our luck when we walked into our bungalow - it was HUGE! A king-size bed and a queen-size bed with room to spare, a patio with two rocking chairs and a jacuzzi, and a huge bathroom with two showers - a regular shower and a waterfall shower. The bathroom also had a separate little toilet room.

Water bottles were left for us daily, which was especially appreciated when we took tours. There's a computer in the main lodge for guest use. It had spotty wi-fi, but that's typical in Costa Rica and it was better than nothing.

HMP also offers a free shuttle into La Fortuna. We rented an SUV when we were in Costa Rica, but we still used the shuttle to go into town since it was free and eliminated the need to try to find a parking spot.

Breakfast was included in our stay, and there were plenty of options - a typical Costa Rican breakfast as well as yogurt, fruit, toast and pastries. We had dinner at the restaurant the first night we were there. The food was delicious, but it was a little expensive.

The pool felt more like a hot tub than a pool, which was perfect in the late afternoon and early evening. We spent hours swimming in it and talking with other travelers.

There's not a lot to do there in terms of entertainment, but if you're taking tours around the area during the day and are looking for a nice place to stay, this is it.

We would definitely stay at Hotel Mountain Paradise again, and we would recommend it to anyone visiting the La Fortuna area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mountain Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.