We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mountain Paradise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This resort has great views of the Arenal vulcano - when it is not in the clouds.

We were on this flexivoucher system, and to be honest they were a tad unfriendly in the beginning. But the manager sorted things out and managed to get us a room. The rooms are huge, with a queen and king sized beds. The bathrooms have two showers (one jet stream and the other some kind of waterfall system. We only had breakfast here, which was standard quality.

We didn't go to the wet bar, as it seemed to be crowded by loud drinking guests.

It's a nice resort. And a good hub to visit the vulcano's in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    600
    203
    71
    25
    16
See reviews for
217
499
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Clean and spacious rooms with nice extra features like the waterfall shower and private patio with a hot tub. The hotel grounds are beautiful with flowers and hummingbirds everywhere. The staff are fantastic, particularly Danny at the front desk. He was a great help in planning our tours and transportation. The breakfast was decent. The one downside is the wifi is not so great but if you walk around you will find a decent enough signal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was really looking forward to going to this resort. However, it wasn't all that great. To start, we booked the shuttle back to the airport with the hotel. The driver was thirty minutes late in picking us up. To make up for lost time, he drove really fast and I got car sick. Granted, the roads in Costa Rica aren't the smoothest and straightest. But when I booked with another company for the shuttle from the hotel back to the airport, the driver was slower and I was able to nap. So no, the roads aren't too blame.

When we got to the hotel, my friend spoke to the manager about the tardiness. The manager did not apologizeand instead kept emphasizing that we paid a discounted price of $120 for the shuttle versus $140. It was as if they were implying that the lateness should be acceptable since they have us a discount. In reality, because they were late and we didn't speak Spanish, we received help at the airport and tipped the helper. So it all really evened out.

From there, it went down hill. It seemed like because we complained, the front desk was cold to us. They were super friendly to the older guests (whenever we were waiting for the shuttle at the front, front desk staff would always speak to the other guests, making small talk, but not us). I felt like they judged us as young brats who were unruly and being difficult. I wouldn't stay here again.The rooms are nice and all but it's not worth the cold shoulder.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Upon our arrival (after a long drive) we were met at the door by reception, asked us to sit on the comfortable couch in the lobby. We were brought warm wet wash clothes, and informed us we had been upgraded to a master suite! They took us there in a golf cart and gave us a walk through of the two bedroom suite. Out side the master bedroom in our own private grounds with bushes and flowers, providing the privacy around our own private pool. The master bathroom was impressive as these other reviews have described.
Some of the best part was the beautiful grounds and the variety of flowers, trees etc, which welcomed a wide variety of birds. Each morning we could watch as the scarlet backed tanagers land outside our pool area, and a morning walk around the grounds gave us great birding enjoyment.
If you are a birder, ask reception to contact "Oscar". He guided us on the Hanging Bridges Tour. He is a birder, and offered to take us birding, but we did not have time. He would be delighted to take you birding.

The reception staff was helpful with anything we needed, free shuttle into town on a convenient, schedule, and arranged tours for us as well. Breakfast included, had a very broad variety buffet - from design your own omelet - breads and fresh fruit of coarse, as well as typical local foods.

They did charge an optional $10. extra for wifi in your room, unlimited international calls, coffee and bottled water. The wifi was marginal, sometimes worked , sometimes not so much.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la fortuna, cr
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

while the bungalows are spacious and outstandingly decorated, food (dinner!) + sevice leave much to desire. the (beef) steaks are much better and less costly down at la fortuna. the gardens are amazing and one can spot a lot of local animals (i.e. birds + leguans) and the pool with its cosy landscaping is fairly attracting. 3 things, however are spoiling the pool area pretty much: 1) the hot water (it's heated up to 35*c, while the air temp was just 28*c) inside and from the water falls doesn't provide any refreshment, 2) no dedicated rest rooms + showers at the pool side and 3) the keeper at the pool bar doesn't know how to prepare a proper caipi (((-: (+ ist still charging usd 12,5 for 1 cocktail). - summary: we wouldn't recommend this place to europeans, but it might be o.k. for usa citizens, who aren't as fastidious (w.r.t. food, refreshing water and services) as we are.

Room Tip: we were placed at bungalow 109 and we were quite content - though we didn'd use the jacuzzi (ind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yountville, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We just returned from Costa Rica, and this was a lovely place to stay. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms large and air conditioned, and the maid service outstanding. We had a private patio and hot tub. The waterfall idea in the bathroom was not my perfonal taste, but there was a great walk-in shower that was fabulous. The pool area is very lovely and was visited by a large, bright green iguana. This hotel also provides a free shuttle into La Fortuna, and they are kind enough to pick up and deliver their employees as well. There are a few minor suggestions that could be made such as a pot of coffee available for self-service. Overall this was a great experience at a reasonalbe price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Mountain Paradise is NOT an ordinary hotel/resort. Their amenities are exceptional! We stayed in a Premium Suite (room 101) and felt like we had our own private bungalow in the jungle with an amazing view of the Arenal Volcano. The suite was clean, light, airy and spacious - the waterfall shower was to die for!! The jacuzzi on the patio was also a nice touch!

The grounds are clean and full of splendid landscape along with wildlife. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning and had a lovely dinner (sea bass) in the restaurant. The heated pools of various temperatures that also featured waterfalls were a great place to relax and unwind after a day of touring. The swim up pool bar… Let’s just say… Johitan, the pool bar bartender was AWESOME!!! He kept our spirits flowing and had a fantastic sense of humor – He was up on American FOOTBALL and did not pick on us too much while we watched our beloved Patriots lose the AFC championship.

Magette (spelling?), Customer Service Manager went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay memorable! He is a class act to ensure Mountain Paradise’s guest get the most out of their stay!

We stayed 4 days / 3 nights and wish that we had spent the entire week at this resort…. We are already planning on a return trip!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mountain Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.