We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mountain Paradise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Mountain Paradise
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay Here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel was the perfect start to our vacation. When we arrived the staff was very welcoming and organized. They gave us a tour of the grounds before taking us to our villa. The rooms are very nice and spacious. We ate at the restaurant every morning for breakfast. Their was a lot to choose from at the buffet. One morning a blue macaw flew in and the staff began to feed it fruit. There is plenty of wildlife to see on hotel grounds. After seeing other hotels in the area I was certainly glad we chose Hotel Mountain Paradise. It was the perfect size resort where you can meet a lot of the other hotel guests. Overall this place is perfect and the staff is beyond nice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    575
    193
    67
    22
    16
See reviews for
207
478
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights a few weeks ago. They upgraded us to a honeymoon suite and the accommodations were out of this world! We had a private swimming pool on the deck, another private porch, an enormous hot tub in the villa, a kitchenette, a beautiful king sized bed, a huge bathroom with two showers, a flat screened TV and more space that we knew what to do with. The grounds and landscaping at the hotel are gorgeous. Beautiful flowers and lush plants everywhere you look. The pool is even beautiful and the wet bar is very inviting. You can go to the restaurant on the grounds or you can choose to have food delivered to your room. The staff was wonderful. I wish i remembered all of their names. One young man in particular, Daniel, was so attentive and was always there anytime we needed him and for anything we needed. He recommendations for restaurants and tours were spot on. Every staff member that we encountered was very nice.
There is a free shuttle that brings you into La Fortuna several times a day if you choose to go.
This is the type of hotel that you could vacation here and never even leave the grounds. It's so peaceful, relaxing and beautiful and the staff will get you anything you need. I hope hope hope that I will return here one day! I DEFINITELY recommend staying at Hotel Mountain Paradise if in La Fortuna!

Room Tip: We had room 400. Honeymoon suite right on a hill with a view of the volcano and a short walking dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The rooms at this place were so nice it made me not want to leave the grounds. Each room has a view of the volcano- you can see it right from your bed! There were 2 showers in the giant bathroom- one was a 7 head shower and the other was a waterfall shower! Oh and if you want to take a bath there is a jacuzzi bath on your private patio! The pool was another awesome perk! It was heated and had a swim up bar- we ate all our meals while sitting IN the pool! The bar tender there was really great too- super funny guy that knew how to mix a mean drink! Our room was at the far end of the grounds but no problem- call the front desk and they will come pick you up in a golf cart! The only negative was the beds were rock hard. My boyfriend likes hard beds but even thought these beds were too hard. The beauty of this place made my back hurt a little less.

Room Tip: Ask for a soft bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed three wonderful days here in August. Our arrival was during a torrential downpour. After our warm welcome by the staff my two daughters and I chased a wild Armadillo around the beautiful grounds in the warm rain then wound up in the hot tub. The weather cleared and we were treated to a spectacular scene of Arenal Volcano at sunset in our back yard. The remainder of our stay continued to be equally wonderful with beautiful scenery and fabulous service...almost didn't need to leave the hotel grounds.

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed three nights here while adventuring around Arenal. We were upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite and loved the spacious and private bungalow. There was a private plunge pool directly outside the bungalow and a fully functional hot tub inside the bungalow. There were also two showers in the large bathroom. In addition, the bed was comfortable and firm. The grounds were beautiful and access was restricted by a security post next to the road. The heated pool was also very enjoyable and relaxing. Overall, we had a wonderful stay. The only issues were with the door lock that didn't always unlock and the room safe that wasn't programmable.

Room Tip: Request the honeymoon suite for all the amenities and a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We enjoyed 3 days at this hotel and loved every minute of it. The bathroom is the puff daddy of all Bathrooms. It was a huge room with 2showers, one a waterfall and the other a rainfall, the bathroom was designed with rock walls and plants. The room was also very large with a jacuzzi tub outside on our very private patio. Only downside was the water for the jacuzzi never got hot. The pool was very warm and comfortable.the grounds were beautiful and we saw many birds. The staff, especially Diego were very welcoming. The only difficulty was the sign at the entrance, it was not well located and not clear.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite which was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three night and it was breathtaking. One of the most beautiful destination we have encountered. The surroundings were amazing and very secluded. The staff there was super friendly and very accommodating. The concierge were nice were not as friendly, but still, they were nice nonetheless.

Our room was beautiful, and they really captured the outdoors theme in it. Loved the waterfall shower in the bathroom.

I would definitely recommend this place for anyone on their future visits.

Room Tip: Be aware that there is a mandatory $10/day charge for internet, phone, and water for room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mountain Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.