We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Mountain Paradise to your Saves list
Hotel Mountain Paradise
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three night and it was breathtaking. One of the most beautiful destination we have encountered. The surroundings were amazing and very secluded. The staff there was super friendly and very accommodating. The concierge were nice were not as friendly, but still, they were nice nonetheless.

Our room was beautiful, and they really captured the outdoors theme in it. Loved the waterfall shower in the bathroom.

I would definitely recommend this place for anyone on their future visits.

Room Tip: Be aware that there is a mandatory $10/day charge for internet, phone, and water for room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    209
    76
    27
    19
See reviews for
227
510
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This property hosted our first three days in Costa Rica and we loved every minute of it! It sits at the base of Arenal volcano and offers a beautiful, peaceful setting in a tropical paradise. The property has hundreds of hummingbirds & flowers & the grounds are well kept. You have to keep in mind that you are NOT in Las Vegas---you're in Costa Rica---so if you're looking for that big hotel feeling with institutional-like cleanliness, you won't find it here. It's an amazing property with exceptional views and while the food is good, it's not exceptional. It's clean but you are at ground level so expect to see a few little bugs. We highly recommend this property, it was a unique experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reston, va
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Mountain Paradise for 3 nights at the end of December. The room was very large with a comfortable bed. We loved the waterfall shower but had a hard time regulating the water pressure and temperature. We ran out of hot water with each shower. The back patio had a jacuzzi tub which we were not able to use because if lack of hot water. The room was made up beautifully but not done at convenient times. The staff (housekeeping as well as front desk) did not speak English as well as we expected at a hotel of this caliber. Restaurant buffet breakfast was great. Other meals were not great and overpriced. Restaurant service was spotty. Shuttle service to town was very limited, forcing us to pay for a taxi back if we wanted to have dinner in the town. Grounds are lovely, with many hummingbirds and other types. We were excited to see a macaw one afternoon. Nice pool with swim up bar. With a few improvements I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as part of a packaged tour of Costa Rica. We loved it! Beautiful jungle setting with great views of the Arenal Volcano. Our room had a porch with an outdoor jacuzzi & rocking chairs which was very relaxing. The room also had a waterfall themed shower (separate to the normal shower) which looked very impressive. The restaurant served delicious food for lunch & dinner & the breakfast buffet was great too, with lots of choice.
There was a $10 surcharge per day but this included unlimited international calls which suited us & we made the most of it. The wifi isn't the best in the rooms but hey, you are on vacation in a beautiful location so forget about the Internet for a few days & relax.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We booked this hotel through a discount site (the regular price was out of our range) and we were very pleased with the experience. It was still pretty pricey, but breakfast was included (an excellent buffet with both traditional American and Costa Rican breakfast foods), the pool was a lot of fun (our boys loved that they could watch American football games as they sat in the pool at the pool bar), and our rooms were very nice with private terraces with views of the volcano. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. Service was excellent. Yes, there is a $10 per room per day "resort fee" that surprised us, but since it included free phone calls we took advantage of it to call family and friends at home (it was New Year's Eve, so it was great to be able to do that), and the included water bottles were delivered to our rooms each day. We did have a little trouble with the drains in the bathroom, but it was a minor inconvenience. Be aware that, although the waterfall shower looks really cool, it does splash a lot and gets the entire bathroom floor wet. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here very much. Check us Benedictus Steakhouse - up a mountain road almost directly opposite the entrance to the hotel road.... had a fabulous, special dinner there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel is great. The staff is superb and always very friendly. Th only disapointment is the 10 $ extra (hidden) charge per day that is mandatory added to your bill when you check in the hotel. The 10 $ is suppose to cover for the free shuttle to town, 1 water bottle per day and long distance calls. Unfortunetly, there is only 4 shuttles per day and you have to fight each day with the hotel reception to get your bottles of water. Be aware before you book of the charge. This makes the hotel a little less attractive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel was great. Set in the rain forest the rooms are bungalows, randomly placed on lushes grounds. The room we stayed in was a lot of fun, private outdoor pool, waterfall shower, indoor Whirlpool and very clean. And no screens on doors or window mean nature gets in.
The food was very good at the restaurant a bit pricey but worth it. A breakfast spread that was very good and included.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mountain Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;