We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mountain Paradise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Staff and Views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a great stay at Hotel Mountain Paradise. The staff was great and the amenities was were nice too. The hotel is a about 6 miles away from town center, however, they offer a shuttle. For activies/excursions, transport is included.

Pros: Staff, heated pool, views, spacious rooms and bathroom
Cons: "nature" often made it into our rooms, hot water was a bit of a problem if you neighbor was showering at the same time (for the cabins sharing a building).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    600
    202
    72
    25
    16
See reviews for
217
499
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel was wonderful - and for the price you can't beat it! The service was amazing from start to finish and our private room with a view of the volcano was over the top. What an amazing time! The swim up bar was a good time and the drinks were delicious. Highly recommended. The waterfall shower and private jacuzzi were big selling points -- unfortunately we ran out of hot water very very quickly so we weren't able to enjoy them. That was the only downside to our entire stay. The food was pretty good, but food at the other hotels we've stayed at on our trip has been better. It's also very very close to everything (hiking, hot springs, town).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We loved this place. Upon check in, we were offered a welcome drink and then were brought to our bungalow by way of golf cart. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous. We were show around the room, with our favorite being the bathroom. You have two showers. One is traditional and what you might expect and the other is much like a waterfall with stones and live greenery. There was a jucuzzi on our porch with two rocking chairs with an amazing view from our slider. Complimentary breakfast was made up of quite a generous buffet spread with made to order omelets. The staff through out the entire stay was so friendly and warm. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This place is amazingly beautiful. It is hard to imagine a hillside property in the rain forest dotted with villas and landscaped with tropical vegetation - it can only be described as a paradise. The view of the volcano is spectacular and changes with the rain and clouds.

The junior suite is a generous room with two beds, a glass-topped table and a couple chairs. The bathroom is huge with a private toilet and two showers. One shower is the modern jet style, the other is a simulated rock wall with a waterfall shower. I used the waterfall and loved it.

Outside is a terrace with a hot tub and two rocking chairs. I drug a small table out here and set up my laptop. Great view with tropical plants and lots of birds all around.

The pool is a short walk. Nice heated thermal water to paddle around in. Between that and the waterfall shower, I never got a chance to use the jacuzzi. there is also a nice swim up bar in the pool.

The included breakfast was very good but like other reviewers have said, otherwise the restaurant is overpriced and the food is not that special. I chose to take the shuttle in town to do some walking around and eat more locally. Also nice to find a grocery to get a couple of bottles of wine for the room.

The staff was friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is the perfect spot to enjoy the Arenal volcano area. The rooms are individual single story structures with two rooms in each, which are situated so they are very private from each other and the surrounding gardens. The rooms are very large and comfortable, with a private spa tub on the patio. The grounds are richly landscaped with every type of mature tropical flowering plant, with hummingbirds darting in and around the foliage constantly. The volcano heated pool with waterfalls and swim-up bar was quite the social scene in the late afternoons and evening, with a great bartender and tasty food available. The free breakfast buffet was outstanding, with a made-to-order egg station and well prepared local and american dishes.We also enjoyed eating dinner in the restaurant with outstanding food and attentive service, and the pricing was moderate. I would have expected to pay twice as much for the ambiance, service, comfort, and amenities at this hotel. I have already told every person I know about this amazing bit of heaven in an area that has so much to enjoy for an adventurous couple.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Gorgeous location, gardens and room. Super friendly and helpful staff. Enormous rooms. Delicious food. When we checked in, we received a free drink and towels to clean up after the long drive. Wonderful.

Only minor complaint is when we ate dinner at the restaurant, the pricing for the water was inconsistent, some nights it was free, some nights it was $4, others it was $5. Just be aware of this, but don't let it keep you away from this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel grounds are absolutely beautiful and the rooms are so unique -- little bungalows nestled in flowers, trees and such lush greenery. Lizards, frogs and hummingbirds abound and a beautiful pool/hot tub/bar area with gorgeous views. The waterfall rock/garden shower was awesome, too! Breakfast is included and delicious, head into town for dinner though, dinner at the hotel was just mediocre. (Don Rufino in La Fortuna was great!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mountain Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.