We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Mountain Paradise to your Saves list
Hotel Mountain Paradise
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel grounds are absolutely beautiful and the rooms are so unique -- little bungalows nestled in flowers, trees and such lush greenery. Lizards, frogs and hummingbirds abound and a beautiful pool/hot tub/bar area with gorgeous views. The waterfall rock/garden shower was awesome, too! Breakfast is included and delicious, head into town for dinner though, dinner at the hotel was just mediocre. (Don Rufino in La Fortuna was great!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    209
    76
    27
    19
See reviews for
227
510
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was the first stop on our Honeymoon and was nearly perfect. The grounds are amazing, the rooms were great and the staff so friendly and helpful. We stayed five nights and hated to leave. If I had to nit pick, the only complaint was that the walls between rooms were a little thin and you could sometimes hear the neighbors.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel as part of a Gate 1 tour A package. The hotel ground were incredible lush and beautiful. They have a heated pool from the hot springs. There were a lot of hummingbirds all ove the property. We had a nice little patio where we sat and listened to wildlife at night. We went to Tabacon Springs for dinner and the hot springs. I highly recommend going there. I went in 1999 and remember it t
Just as beautiful as it was back then. The hotel staff was sooo very nice, spoke great English when necessary and was very accommodating. I highly recommend staying at this property.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

While clouds shrouded Arenal Volcano during our stay, we enjoyed the beautifully maintained grounds -- a tropical paradise with hummingbirds galore! The room was clean and nice, complete with a waterfall shower in the bathroom and (what would have been!) a dead-on view of Arenal Volcano. We relaxed at the heated pool and swim-up bar, along with other guests and Miguel, the resident green iguana! Staff was helpful in making arrangements, and the hotel offers a free shuttle to La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to offer volcano views and private hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had an excellent time during our visit to this hotel. The hotel and the staff were excellent. We were only able to stay for a weekend, but wished we had more time. The heated pool and wade in bar really added to the experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel was absolutely beautiful and the service was incredible. My mouth dropped when I saw our adorable private room. The bathroom was the best part. You have your own shower and a waterfall shower and a jacuzzi tub on your porch. Me and my husband were so happy here. We were sad when we had to leave. If the opportunity presents itself, we would love to come back and spend more time here. There are beautiful gardens all along the property and hummingbirds flying all around. We loved the wetbar at the heated pool. The bartender was fabulous and his drinks were yummy. My personal favorite drink was called the Zombie. We tried a few while we were there. Hopefully we will make it back someday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is a good value and the property is very beautiful. I really struggled with the rating i gave the hotel, 3 or 4.

pros:
beautiful property
great pool
shuttle to town
feels very private

cons:
service was pretty good, but we always felt like they were upset we didn't book our adventures through them. (we like to be on our timeline and not someone else's)
the bathroom - cleanliness left a little to be desired
our room would/could have an AMAZING view of the volcano if some of the brush was trimmed, but as it was we just got to look at about 10 feet of grass and then brush.
expensive restaraunt.

I guess the real test would be to ask 'would we stay here again?'. And the answer for us would probably be 'depends on the price'.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mountain Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;