We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mountain Paradise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cleveland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First Class Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We loved this hotel so much that we canceled the second half of our vacation on the beach and stayed here. The staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. They even went into town and bought the makings for Rice Krispie Treats for my sister's birthday!

Perfect spot for honeymooners or a romantic getaway, but our group of girls had fun too. Bar closes at 10, so make sure you get something from town if you want to continue the party. Shuttle leaves a few times a day, but cab into town only costs about $11. If shuttle driver isn't busy, he can drive you for $20US roundtrip.

Rooms are huge and very clean, but close your windows unless you want to wake up with todos los insectos del mundo en el bano (I know from personal experience)!

Restaurant is ok, bar menu was a little more reliable. Free breakfast is nice, but only 3 different options. Definitely go into town for lunch or dinner if you can.

Booking exclusions through the hotel is really easy and didn't seem that much more expensive than doing it yourself.

Spa services were cheap and good. Definitely get a facial or massage.

If Mountain Paradise is the only hotel that I ever go to again, that is fine with me! I can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: I stayed in 2 rooms that were both very private and had volcano views. I don't think you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    602
    203
    75
    26
    19
See reviews for
223
505
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The location, facilities and staff were excellant! We were treated like we were the only guests there. It is a beautiful place to relax. Plenty to do for those who are active also. The view of the volcano is magnificent. Want to go back ASAP!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon, Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at the hotel as family trip. We were 4 adults: mother, sister and two brothers. Rooms at the charming, though the smell of mildew in the shower, but you can expect that at this time of year (rainy season). A better time is after Nov 15, already the beginning of the dry season.
Hotel's food is not the highlight. If you can avoid eating in the hotel, please, for your own good, do it.

The hotel staff was courteous and professional. Always ready and willing to help.
Special thanks to John, Alexandra and Marius staff reception.
Kailor, at the dining room. For me was the only light there. Smiling, helpful, courteous ..
These people are an asset to the hotel. Without them, our stay was so enjoyable. Huge thanks.

Room Tip: Not sure about connecting rooms, as we didn't really need any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Don't pass this hotel up. Loved every minute of this place. Would come back.

Room Tip: A view of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl River
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

What an incredible tropical paradise. The grounds were exquisite and the rooms were great. The room had a stone waterfall shower and a separate multi-jet high pressure(or not) shower. Very nicely appointed. The private patio had a spa tub and chaise lounges. Great swim up bar with food and reasonably priced drinks. Shuttle was available to town although we did not use it. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

The best hotel I stayed during my trip to Costa Rica. The hotel grounds are well kept. It has a great view of the volcano, from almost every point. The heated pool was rather useful during the cold nights of the rainy season. Breakfast (incl. in room rate) was a la carte (finally a break from the buffet!). Dinner was good, but not great (especially considering the prices). The room was enormous. The bathroom had two separate showers - one of them a simulating a tropical waterfall, a bit tacky but still fun. There was a private terrace with an outdoor Jacuzzi – with great volcano views. Booking tours or hot springs directly through the hotel is rather expensive. I took the phone and called Tabacon myself and saved quite a lot. They have a free shuttle a couple of times a day that takes you down to the center of the town (La Fortuna) – great option if you are tired of the hotel food or want to buy something. Didn’t see much for kids to do, so I guess it’s not a great option for families with young kids.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

This hotel was amazing!!! We actually stayed here for 3 nights in April of 2010. We traveled all over Costa Rica. Fortuna and this hotel was our favorite place. The environment is amazingly beautiful. But about the hotel.... We rented a car and drove the country. Very easy to find. The hotel staff was very friendly. Our rental car broke down while staying at the hotel and the staff was more than happy to help us fix it. We would have been stuck without them. The room was a standard king but had a patio with an outdoor jacuzzi and awesome handmade rocking chairs. We had a perfect view of an active volcano from our patio. The rooms are surrounded by lush greenery and tropical flowers with wildlife around. The room was clean and the bathroom was super spacious with a waterfall for a shower. There were multiple sprayers in the rock shower. We did not eat at the restaurant but heard it was sub-par. We booked a couple excursions at the hotel desk and it was completely worth it! You must try the white water rafting and volcano hike. The hotel pool was beautiful with a swim up bar. They also play music in the evening. I love this hotel and would love to return!!!

Room Tip: This is it! Look nowhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mountain Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.