We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelente!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sueno Dorado

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sueno Dorado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sueno Dorado
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 km noroeste del Centro de la Fortuna | El Castillo de La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sueno Dorado Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
San Salvador, El Salvador
1 review
“Excelente!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Nice place, beautiful gardens, Nice pool with a Great view, the people are very kind, the food is like home, I enjoy very much , the town is nearby, very clean and comfortable , quiet and pieceful the best place for rest all this included in a good price definitely I'll be back soon

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

the place was really clean the food was awesome and it was really cheap to stay there you won't find any better.You should try the steak, one of the best steak in costa rica.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

we went for a week to costa rica and stayed at this hotel for few days. The room was clean, the maid service was excellent (indeed she was the only thing i liked about the hotel), she cared a lot about the clients and kept the area clean. 5 points for Milena!! But, the service in the reception was poor. Actually most of the time, there wasnt anyone there. Our rafting tour company, called them to let us know tht they were going to reach late... but they never told us about the phone call. everything else was ok, the area clean, good view, but the beds were a little bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at this small hotel along the road to the Arenal Park. The place is spotlessly clean, but without charm. Great views of the volcano, but many other places here have the same view. Take the bungalow if you can. I would spend a little more money next time and stay at a more charming place.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. We chose it based on lonely planet and liked the location and the rooms. The hotel stuff was very helpful with information and any request we had.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Our large family (8 people) stayed for 3 nights. A week earlier 1/2 of our group had stayed at this hotel and received a free breakfast for each person as was advertised. This second week with a larger group, not only did we pay more for the rooms ($70/night) because of the large number of people (which is fair), but we also had to pay per person ($10/pp) for the breakfast which a week earlier was free. We did not get any specials like free breakfast, 3 nights for 2 or anything else. Otherwise the view of the volcano was awesome, rooms clean, and breakfasts filling.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Went with my family (hubby and 2 kids) and I'm always looking for great value at a great price......and found it at this little hotel. Although very small (only 11 rooms) and rooms are very basic, it served our needs to the tee. We had 2 double beds, small TV and A/C, room very clean and tidy. The pool was not very big but it was very clean and temp was great. The view, to DIE for.....right in front of the volcano!!!! The day we got there, the volcano was covered by clouds, but the morning after had an awesome, complete view.....it was smoking!!! Only complaints (which we did bring up to the manager) were that the WI-FI needs to be fixed (as I could only use outside of the room) and that the hot water was not working well (apparently there was a switch and had to have hubby stand-by to keep switching it back on while we showered). Otherwise, breakfast was delicious and the service.....SUPERB!!! Pablo, manager on duty the morning we left, was so nice, full of information and very open to opinions to better the hotel for future guests (i.e signs stating wifi availablity, putting phones in room , etc) I would definitely recommend and I most certainly would stay there again when I go back to Arenal.

Room Tip: Ask manager about excursions.....they give at discounted prices!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sueno Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sueno Dorado

Address: 4 km noroeste del Centro de la Fortuna | El Castillo de La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sueno Dorado Hotel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 63 hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sueno Dorado 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Fast Food Place, loccated in La Fortuna town 75 meters north of La Fortuna School, we offer great variety of food, typical food and fast food principal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sueno Dorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sueno Dorado Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sueno Dorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.