We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for your money!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sueno Dorado

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sueno Dorado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Hotels.com
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sueno Dorado
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 km noroeste del Centro de la Fortuna | El Castillo de La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sueno Dorado Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Great value for your money!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Went with my family (hubby and 2 kids) and I'm always looking for great value at a great price......and found it at this little hotel. Although very small (only 11 rooms) and rooms are very basic, it served our needs to the tee. We had 2 double beds, small TV and A/C, room very clean and tidy. The pool was not very big but it was very clean and temp was great. The view, to DIE for.....right in front of the volcano!!!! The day we got there, the volcano was covered by clouds, but the morning after had an awesome, complete view.....it was smoking!!! Only complaints (which we did bring up to the manager) were that the WI-FI needs to be fixed (as I could only use outside of the room) and that the hot water was not working well (apparently there was a switch and had to have hubby stand-by to keep switching it back on while we showered). Otherwise, breakfast was delicious and the service.....SUPERB!!! Pablo, manager on duty the morning we left, was so nice, full of information and very open to opinions to better the hotel for future guests (i.e signs stating wifi availablity, putting phones in room , etc) I would definitely recommend and I most certainly would stay there again when I go back to Arenal.

Room Tip: Ask manager about excursions.....they give at discounted prices!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed here for a night due to a great package deal that they were offering at the time. Rooms very clean, not much to them, but very nice. The Staff were SUPERB!. Only gripe, when we checked in, we were the only people in the place. Later that afternoon, 3 people checked in, and they put them in the room right next to ours. Of all the 10 or 11 rooms that are in this place, they had to be right next to us?!? Personally, I thought that was in poor form, especially as they were loud and obnoxious (in my opinion).
That being said, we still enjoyed our stay, mainly due to their Staff and the restaurant Benedictu's, which is joined to this motel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, great hot water, view totally incredible. We negotiated breakfast with room and we were glad we did. Like living in a beautiful garden with a nice pool. Wi fi router could use a more powerful one . Very friendly staff I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

I loved the Sueno Dorado! The staff were super friendly, and helpful. The attached restaurant, Benedictu's Steakhouse was fantastic, with an awesome staff, and great food! My room was very clean. The location has an AMAZING view of the Arenal Volcano. I woke up every morning, and Arenal was just outside my door. Walking distance to the amazing Baldi Hot Springs. For the price, this place is fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We arrived unannounced quite late in evening and manager Alejandro set us up immediately with two very nice rooms. Clean, quiet, comfortable nothing fancy. He got us tickets for the zip lines at a very good price and gave us advice on where to eat and go. Good breakfast. No mildew smell at all even though in a rain forest and raining heavily while we were there. Highly recommended. Not lux but great value for money and very nice staff. Nice pool and small grounds. Easy to find.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Went with my wife and 6 year old to Arenal without a reservation and found this charming little motel (jut don't call it a motel in Costa Rica as the word has a sexual connotation here). We spent $65 per night for the 3 of us with a delicious breakfast included. The hotel only has 11 rooms and you park in front of them. The gardens are beautiful, the pool spotless and there is a great view of the volcano. The rooms are basic but very clean. Don't expect the luxury of a 4 star hotel or all inclusive but neither expect the crowds, noise that come with them. The Sueno Dorado is a family run hotel (which live on property) and they are very friendly. Only recomendation would be to update the beds, drapes and lighting in the room (the included lamp was very dim). Maybe the TV but not critical. Room has a/c and fridge. You could find better values in La Fortuna but not in this prime location (between Baldi Springs and Tabacon Springs). Very happy I stayed here! Also try Bet-El restaurant 2 min down the road to La Fortuna, great tico food at tico prices!

Soy tico y este hotel es apto para familias en busca de un lugar tranquilo y sin el servicio odioso que generalmente se encuentran en los hoteles grandes. Tiene una muy bonita piscina y jardines muy bonitos. 100% recomendado! Cerca de todo, tambien les recomiendo restaurante Bet - El como a 2 min en carro del hotel hacia La Fortuna , riquisimo y muy buenos precios.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

NO IDEA WHAT THE LADY TALKING ABOUT MILDEW SMELLS IS REFERRING TO.

Our room smelled of nothing bad. The personal attention you get when staying here makes it a great value. Alejandro the concierge would bend over backwards for you. It being a small motel, there is a feeling of privacy. The breakfast is always delicious. The view of the volcano is perfect! Any activity you would wish to partake in can be arranged from the hotel, as well. We had a great time in arenal and feel a big part of that was our stay here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sueno Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sueno Dorado

Also Known As:
Hotel Sueno Dorado Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: 4 km noroeste del Centro de la Fortuna | El Castillo de La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sueno Dorado Hotel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 63 hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sueno Dorado 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Fast Food Place, loccated in La Fortuna town 75 meters north of La Fortuna School, we offer great variety of food, typical food and fast food principal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sueno Dorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sueno Dorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.