We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little bit overrated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Arenal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Gran Arenal
Save
You added Hotel Gran Arenal to your Saves list
1.3 Km North of National Bank, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“a little bit overrated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

after reading the reviews here (especially the last ones) i was a bit disapointed. this is a nice hotel but defenetly not the best. (i can't compare to other places in la fortuna but in comparison to other hotels we've been to in our trip)

first i must say - luis the owner is the best! he is the most helpfull and nice person we've met in this trip!

if you don't have a car location can be a bit of a problam - walkig to town takes about 20 minutes and most of the time it's extremely hot outside. other option is taking a taxi which costs around 2$

rooms are big and comfortable but no TV and decoration can use a little improvment

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting La Fortuna. It is tucked a way off of the main road, about 5 minutes outside of La Fortuna. It backs up to the owner's private farm, and has a breathtaking view of the Arenal Volcano from all areas of the property (when the clouds are not surrounding it). We were so impressed with the attentiveness of all staff members working on the property, and with the beautiful rooms each private bungalow offered. The rooms are air conditioned, there is free WiFi in the "lobby" cabana, delicious breakfast that you take with views of the Arenal volcano and surrounding region, hot showers and very clean bathrooms.

The rooms are very reasonably priced for similar establishments in La Fortuna; however, you can't beat the privacy and personality of the Hotel Gran Arenal. It feels exactly like rooms in Costa Rica should feel, and we will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: Every room is exactly the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Ga
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I have stayed in many hotels in Arenal including many 4 star hotels and the Gran Arenal is clearly my favorite. The view of the Volcano is perfect. The location seems peaceful and serene like you are 20 km away from town when you are really within walking distance. The cabinas are only like 2 years old and are all very nice and clean. There is more wildlife hear then anywhere else we visited. We say toucans, sloths and iguanas galore. The free breakfast is cooked to order and great. Luis will attend to your every need. And the rates cannot be beat. THIS IS DEFINITELY my go to hotel next time in Arenal. We were a family of 5 and had a tremendous amount of room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

La Fortuna is a great place overall and this hotel was amazing. The grounds were immaculate. Grounds keepers work on them all day and into the evening hours as they carefully work around the bunny rabbits! The bungalows have clean tiled floors, a rustic stone shower and clean comfortable beds. You have flowers and long hot showers. (Hey that rhymes!) The restaurant has a great menu, wonderful food and turned out to be one of the best values in the three weeks we were in Costa Rica! It had a buffet for breakfast with tons of great food which was included in our price. Dinner offered menu service which ended up being about $10 per person for dinner. A group of tourists in a big tour appeared to be eating even better!! (Costa Rica is fairly pricey for a Central American country which surprised us...don't be fooled into thinking it's a cheap place to visit!!) The pool was sparkling clean with romantic lighting, a small waterfall effect, a swim-up bar AND views of the smoking volcano! It had the OMG effect. You will love it.
Oh and even the gift shop had some nice values. I'm glad we purchased some things there and didn't wait for the rest of our trip (this was our second night in Costa Rica). The lady working there was as gracious as the ground keepers, the restaurant waiter, the breakfast server and the concierge! As you drive around La Fortuna, you will see many new, fancy hotels on large estates. Many of them may be very nice as well, but this place was excellant for a very reasonable price. We didn't get a chance to visit the Gran Tabacon Spa Resort and I wish we had, but all in all this place was just amazing!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

A 10-minute walk from downtown La Fortuna, this was a great place to stay! We stayed in a private villa for 5, which was very reasonably priced. The room was large, clean, and we had an all-around comfortable sleeping experience.

The grounds were neatly kept, and the pool was great. Breakfast served in a really awesome group dining area. Every place on the grounds had a view of the volcano.

The man at the front desk spoke immaculate English, and was exceptionally helpful, providing us with a map, restaurant and activity recommendations, and transportation arrangements.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

This hotel is pretty far out of town, but a taxi into La Fortuna is only 2000 colones or so, or you can walk. I loved that each room is it's own separate house. Our room was nice and relaxing; there were flowers on the little table when we got there. The pool is nice- not very big, but certainly not small. Breakfast is included, which I liked a lot, but we had to wait for the eggs and rice and beans to be refilled every morning, and there wasn't always fruit.

The owner really cares, and it shows. Also, he speaks perfect English, which is not that common among hotel owners in Costa Rica, as we found out.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

This place is AWESOME! The man that runs the place really made our stay special. He went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. He even took time to show us some wildlife in the hotel grounds. We even saw a sloth!

The cabins were large, they had 2 queen beds! The rooms and bathrooms were spotless. There is even a refrigerator in the room. The swimming pool and breakfast area have a GREAT view of the volcano.

If you are going to visit the Arenal, I cant recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gran Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Arenal

Address: 1.3 Km North of National Bank, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Number of rooms: 319
Also Known As:
Gran Arenal Hotel
Hotel Gran Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.