We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bet if you like Western comforts and being close to town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Magic Mountain to your Saves list
Hotel Magic Mountain
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best bet if you like Western comforts and being close to town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

I went back and forth about staying at this hotel because I was concerned about not being "on the mountain" but I absolutely made the right choice. First of all, if you want to be secluded away from town, restaurants, then stay at one of the more expensive hotels up the hill. If you want the comfort and style of these hotels, but don't want to spend $15 for taxis every time you walk out the door, then this place is for you. It is right on the edge a town, a $2 taxi ride away. You could walk but its probably 2 km or so. ( 1 mile) .
It is beautiful with very modern and up to date rooms. When I checked In, I was given a Junior suite upgrade, which included a Jacuzzi!
Many people who stay in the resorts on the mountain often complain about not having options for food. You are stuck with the hotel. This place, you are free to eat there or eat in town for almost no hassle of a cab ride. The hotel calls a cab, they show up and 3 minutes later you are on the main strip and picking any restaurant you wish. and if you are doing tours, they pick up up at the hotel so that is also not a problem.
While I was there, I got the hot rocks spa massage. It was amazing. The spa packages are much cheaper than in the US, though I hear they are even cheaper in town..but who cares, it was only a couple dollars more and still much cheaper than the US.
Breakfast was included in my stay and it was a decent buffet style breakfast with traditional Costa Rica food as well as eggs toast, etc.
There was a sports bar on the premises and it looked nice.

Check in and check out was a breeze and there is a free Internet station in the lobby. There is also free WIFI, but you have to stay close to the lobby to use it. My room was on the far end of the hotel so it didn't work there.

The room had flat screen TV, beautiful views of the mountain and a huge bathroom. The only thing I would say was missing was the Costa Rica feel. It felt like i was back in the States and not in Costa Rica. But it was a great stay and I loved it

I would stay there again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    217
    58
    13
    7
See reviews for
125
239
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

Stayed 2 nights on a Fun Sun/Thomas Cook travel trip. We were tired when we got there and to our sheer joy they upgraded us to a junior suite. It was amazing. The bathroom was bigger than the usual places we stay! Very clean and everyone was very hospitable. I even left my knapsack at the restaurant one morning and there it was all safely returned to the front desk. We took a river raft cruise recommended by the hotel and it was excellent. Highly recommend this hotel! We ate dinner in the town, a fairly pricey place, again recommended by the hotel and it was excellent. Sorry, can't remember the name.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia area
Level Contributor
315 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

La Fortuna is a strip of tour organizers and other artifacts of the hub of ecotourism in this part of Costa Rica. Go through the pillars to the fairly secure grounds and you are in a different world--fine floral landscaping, spotless floors mopped almost hourly, flawless beds with 6-8 pillows each, and a splendid pool with swim-up bar, two jacuzzis, and a kiddie pool. The only flaws: the shower was hard to figure out hou to operate and lacked force, the restaurant meal (based on a samplee of one meal) offered bland food but this part of the world, and towels were less lush and plentiful than we Americans are accustomed to. Each room has a small, quite adequate, balcony with a fine view of the cloud-topped mountains and occasional parrots flying by. The location is just out of the center of town (2-3 km.,) , thus both convenient (if you have a car) and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

stayed here for 2 nights. the drive from san jose was wild, get ready! mountains, curvy roads, no signs...be prepared! its an adventure. Once in Arenal, this hotel is right at the end of the strip, but before you drive further into the more expensive resorts. So the location is good...close to some bars/restaurants/stores but right next to the volcano so right next door to attractions. This hotel has GREAT volcano views from all the balconies and a great pool/lush look. Very nice...right next door to Ecoglide canopy tours which I highly recomend over any other zipline tour..and affordable. A couple of minutes from Baldi's hot springs which I also highly recommend...with buffet dinner. Also for cheap eats, try La Hormiga which is in the town of Arenal, a mile or so from this hotel. It is a shack...but you can get amazing food for just $2-$4. Magic Mountain is close to all the other volcano activites as well. If you just want a nice enough place in a good location that is clean, with great great views from your balcony and a resort-style looking lush pool,and are not going to be in the room much then this place is for you! thanks LatinDestinations.com. Next review will be for the other 2 hotels on this trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

We had a group from Habitat from Humanity staying here because of the generosity of this establishment. They are very supportive of our organization and the work we are doing locally. Aside from giving us a great rate they donated to the cause as well. The accomodations exceeded our expectations by far. Each morning we awoke to a gorgeous view of the Arenal Volcano from our balcony. The rooms are clean and beautifully decorated, the amenities include a spa, a jacuzzi, swimming pool with a swim up bar, conference room, and free internet! Each room had a fridge and a safe. The SPorts bar was fun and had pool tables. Reataurant had delicious food and amazing coffe :-) The only thing that could have been improved in my opinion would be to heat the water in the area in front of the swim up bar at the pool The water there was colder than the pool which made it not the most desirable place to be. I never sat at he pool bar but probably would have if the water was not cold. Just my opinion. The hotel manager / owner (?) was super cool and really gracious. He even bought me a beer on the last night and asked my opinion of how they could improve service since I too am in the service business. He really cares. I would highly recomment his hotel to anybody, and would return there in a heartbeat! Love love love it! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Loved Magic Mountain Hotel! Leonardo helped check us in and he was great during the entire stay - really friendly, booked us a great horseback riding tour to the waterfall, and gave us good advice the whole trip. Also, LOVED the breakfast - we stayed at 3 hotels in Costa Rica and the Magic Mountain breakfast buffet was the best. Pretty pool. Good location - in between the downtown area and the hot springs.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

I was there for 3 nights and wonderfull hotel...good services,nice rooms,good room service and the price is very good...we both loved! I do recomended...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 820 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#18 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
2.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 693 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
2.0 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#26 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Magic Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.