We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel with Fantastic Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Magic Mountain to your Saves list
Hotel Magic Mountain
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Hamlin, New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel with Fantastic Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

Upon arrival we were told "we have good news for you, we upgraded you to a junior suite". The room was gorgeous! It had a sitting area, huge bathroom with walk in shower and a 4 person hot tub surrounded in glass. We had the most wonderful view of the volcano from the hot tub – great place to relax and take in a breath taking views of the volcano. The staff at the hotel went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. They were knowledge of the area and tours. They suggested a rafting trip and booked it for us. It was wonderful. Breakfast at the hotel was great – omelets anyway you like them along with fresh fruits and dry good. Location is great – La Fortuna, restaurants, shops are just blocks away. Hotel is quite, great pool and outside hot tubs. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    187
    53
    10
    7
See reviews for
108
209
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed 3 nights at this wonderful hotel when we travelled around Costa Rica.

The location is great with a fantastic view of the volcano. The restaurants and tour offices in La Fortuna is a short 15 minutes walk away (1-2 USD in Taxi when it rains – which it does very often during European summer time.... )

The hotel is brand new – and the rooms really have stile. The breakfast was delicious. The young people in the reception were extremely helpful and friendly. Due to all the rain I caught a terrible cold and inflammation in my throat. They did everything to help us (call English speaking doctor, the restaurant made special soup and after check out they let us stay longer in the room until we got picked up by the bus.

One of the best hotels we stayed at in Costa Rica.

  • Liked — Location, view of the vulcano and the service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

Nice pool, 2 jacuzzi, swim-up bar, heated. Very clean and neat. We were walk-ins and able to strike a very reasonable bargain well under the quoted rate. 10 minutes to Arenal volcanoe park, 15 minutes to Lake, 10 minutes to town. Nice view of field next door. Free big breakfast buffet.

  • Liked — comfort after roughing it
  • Disliked — very american - no local flavor
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

Although this hotel is smaller than many in this area, it is lovely. We overlooked the volcano and the pool area. The rooms are large with balconies. We had hoped for a glimpse of the red glow of Arenal, but even though that didn't happen, the proximity of the volcano was breathtaking. The hotel restaurant is very pretty too, and the food was tasty. We were there for two nights as part of a Caravan tour, so we partook of the buffets, but there is also a menu one can order from. We went to the bar for an after-dinner drink, and we were disappointed at the amount of smoke in the bar. But, we learned there was an outdoor porch, so that problem was solved!! The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — smoke filled bar
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights at Magic Mountain....after hearing about it from family friends we thought to check it out. Right away they upgraded our room which was totally gorgeous and modern. Micheal, David and Erika all went above and beyond to make our stay special including setting up a private dinner on our balcony!! It was outstanding service and a great property. Highly reccomend stopping in!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

We were here for 2 nights, one being New Year's Eve. The hotel is nice and newer than most hotels in the area. The staff at the front desk was very helpful with making phone calls for us. The hotel isn't close enough to walk into the town of Fortuna, but it is about a $4 taxi ride each way.

I have only two issues with the hotel: I wish we were closer to Arenal, where all of our activities were, including the hot springs and zip line, and that the staff would try to make sure that the hallways remained quiet- our room ,#101, was about 6 feet from the glass door to the reception area, which was almost always left open. Good thing I had ear plugs! The staff did offer to move us to a quieter room for our 2nd night but we figured by then it was more of a hassle to pack up again just for one night. It would just be more efficient if they had a sign up reminding folks to not yell into their cell phones or each other in front of the rooms, and to keep the glass door to reception closed.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye Brook, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

Loved the Magic Mountain!! It is a perfect location for touring the area. It is a new and beautiful property. Rooms are ample and views can't be beat. The front desk staff is very helpful. We loved the pool area. Had a swim up bar, but no one as there, a flat screen TV and jacuzzi! Very kid -friendly place yet luxurious enough for couples too.
Our only compliants about the room was the lack of drawer space. WE did not have a dresser in our double room and had to put clothes on shelves. The tub is also very high so it is quite difficult getting in and out of the shower. We were so pleased with the hotel accomodations however, they acciodentally washed my sons stuffed animal with the sheets, but one phone call and housekeeping found it!
Contrary to what the previous reviewer stated, we had some dificulty with the restaurant. The service is the slowest I have ever seen and their is a great language barrier. We had difficulty getting what we needed for our kids and were never greeted witha smile! The choices are decent but heavy and we only had a breakfast buffet offered one of the 3 days. Save your time and $ and get a 2 dollar cab to go to town. We really liked Luigi's for Pizza and pasta.
The view from our room was incredible. When else can you wake up go on your balcony and see a volcano erupting. At night you can see orange lava and during the day lots of smoke. Truly incredible.
Would also recommend Desafio tours, Sky tram and volcano tour and Tabacon Hot Springs, and definately stay at Magic mountain!

  • Liked — Location and quality
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Magic Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.