We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, clean rooms - get the jacuzzi in the room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Magic Mountain to your Saves list
Hotel Magic Mountain
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Great price, clean rooms - get the jacuzzi in the room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great place near Arenal. We came from los lagos and it was like night an day. Very clean place, decent staff, great room, clean sheets and great service. We did laundry there and it was so worth it to not have dirty clothes. The restaurant isn't that great, breakfast was average for CR but not unexpected.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    207
    56
    13
    7
See reviews for
118
235
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall the Hotel Magic Mountain is decent value for the price. There are nicer options in the area, but I think this hotel was fairly decent.

Pros-
Great location, close to La Fortuna and Lake Arenal
Good Breakfast that is included
Awesome views of volcano
Free Wifi

Cons-
No coffee in room
Reserved a king size bed, got two queens and were not given an option to change after requesting
Front desk staff was not overly friendly

All in all, I'd stay here again if they keep their prices in this range.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'll start with the positive. The grounds were very nice with a pool, hot tubs, and gardens. There is a nice view of the volcano. It is very convenient to other restaurants and tours. There are so many negatives. Our room had a coffee maker but no coffee. Others on our tour did not even have the maker. Some said their safe was missing, all that was left were the holes in the wall where it was secured. We left our key at the front desk before our excursion, when we returned it could not be found. After several hours we were told housekeeping had the key. The happy hour is very limited 2 for 1 drinks. They ran out of OJ at the pool happy hour. We went to the second happy hour and there were 4 of us again with limited options. The wine selection in the bar was limited and not good yet they had a nice selection at the restaurant. The breakfast buffet was OK but you had to beg for coffee. They could not keep up with the demand. One morning we went to breakfast and saw they had an omelet station. Unfortunately they had not one there making the food.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our flight to San Jose was delayed seven hours, so we arrived at Hotel Magic Mountain at around 11:30PM. Although reception was closed, the security guard found us wandering about and helped us to our room. We were pleasantly surprised by a beautiful fruit plate and cute towel elephants on the bed! It was a super pleasure to walk into after almost 24 hours of travel. The bathroom was clean as well as the bed and the entire room. The one thing I didn't like was the shower curtain, which needs to be replaced. Although it wasn't gross, it was a bit dingy. I woke up to the sight of the cone of Arenal exposed and birds chirping! It was so beautiful! My boyfriend was already on the balcony taking photos and enjoying the landscape. We went down for breakfast and were not disappointed! It was absolutely delicious and the staff was so welcoming. The owner actually made sure to say hello and asked us how long we were staying. It felt really good to stay in a place where the owner takes great pride in his business, which you can see by the well-kept grounds and open air restaurant. Although we didn't take a dip in the pool, it looked beautiful! We would absolutely stay there again. We were in room 311 (which I definitely recommend if you want a great view, definitely do the upper levels) which had a very large comfy king bed. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: higher floors for best view of volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are looking for a romantic dinner, talk with the manager Manuel, and he will not disappoint you. We ate at the restaurant Lina's twice out of our three nights and were not disappointed. All staff made us feel special during our stay. Rooms were clean and we had a great view from the 3rd floor. If only the clouds would have gone away. This was our favorite accommodation in the two weeks we stayed on Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Get one on the 3rd floor for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My friends and I were driving thru the town of La Fortuna and were worried as to what we were going to stay In. When we first pulled in, my expectations were skeptical but we were met by a very welcoming staff. we walked into our room and were amazed. Not only by the room but also the view. Jeison was beyond helpful as to what to do and where to go. The birthday girl bartending poolside made us feel welcomed and the staff at Lina Restaurante were on point. Edwin made us feel like we were the only people in the place and Odaylin made a dessert that people only see on tv. My recommendation is don't expect anything and you will b surprised to b served the world. Bravo MI amigos. You made our trip perfecto!!!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved this cozy hotel. We arrived at 11pm and were greeted at the door by Jose. The girls in the front reviewed everything with us and made us feel so welcomed. Breakfast was very good and the views and peacefulness was awesome. We were so sad when we left.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Magic Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.