We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Great View & Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Magic Mountain to your Saves list
Hotel Magic Mountain
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Clean, Great View & Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Hotel is clean with a great view of the volcano and close to town. Walking distance to a large grocery store. Really nice pool and grounds. The beds are typical Costa Rican platform beds, hard, hard, hard. Price is excellent. Definitely not luxury but not a hostel or motel grade either. No entertainment or activities scheduled but on the route for all excursions.

Room Tip: Town is a good walk away. Best to take a taxi for $5 each way. Hotel restaurant is overpriced and de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    219
    61
    13
    7
See reviews for
128
244
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Excellent value!!! Probably one of the best locations if you're looking for a hotel rather than a hostel. Generally a $3-4 taxi ride into town. Friendly and helpful staff. Most importantly the rooms were clean!!! Breakfast was included as well, though its nothing to write home about. Request a 3rd floor room if you want a good view of the volcan.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I stayed for a night on the ground floor, and was able to see the volcano Arenal with a clear view in the late morning after the clouds had parted. The price is good, the room is not bad, and the location is conveniently about 5-10 minutes drive to La Fortuna (I wouldn't advise walking to town on the narrow busy main road, though the locals seem to do it). I was thankful to have rented a car. Unfortunately, issues kept accumulating during my stay. Wifi was poor and intermittent to non-working, which really affected me because I needed Internet access to adjust some travel plans. The remote to the TV didn't work. The card key required 5-6 tries to open the door. I found tiny bugs in the sheets. The shower curtain allowed water to drip outside of the drainage area, soaking the floor outside of the shower proper. The room lacked tissues. I could go on and on. It's a shame, because all of these problems are minor and fixable, but the sum total lead to a less than desirable experience.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed here two nights on Caravan tour. The volcano is only visible 30% of the time--so, be prepared for a nice view of: fog or clouds. Rooms nice, clean, spacious. They do not tell you when you check in that the second controller in your room is for the a/c---we didn't know that until we were ready to check out.
Restaurant is okay, but staff has to be asked to refill water glass, give you silverware, etc.
One funny moment. As we got ready to sit at one table we noticed it was covered in crawling ants. I called the waiter and said, "There are a couple of hundred ANTS on this table." He shrugged and said, "There are ants all over Costa Rica" and walked away unconcerned.
The "business center" amounts to one computer in a cramped, tiny lobby. Desk clerks were mildly attentive but seemed like they were not thrilled to be there.
Pool looks great, and LOTS of folks seemed to enjoy the swim up bar. Lovely grounds and landscaping around pool. The road in front is narrow and walking to grocery store or shops kinda scary since traffic passes so close and is so fast Maybe a taxi is better.
So, clean rooms, great pool, nice balcony, all in all an okay place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed with our family of 6 (2 rooms) for 4 nights. It was walking distance to the town of La Fortuna. It was very clean, decent size rooms, decent breakfast included, nice pool and hot tubs and swim up bar. The staff was friendly, accommodating, and efficient. This is not a "luxury" hotel but great for those on a budget, without a car, or just looking for a moderate clean place to stay.

I would totally recommend this property!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schofield
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This hotel was a 2 night stay on our Caravan tour of Costa Rica. It is in a good location and close to many restaurants and Arenal volcano(if you are lucky enough to actually see it). The hotel itself is in need of a few updates, especially in the bathroom. We also had issues with our room key which required staff assistance a couple of times and also made us question room security. The front desk is quite small and was quite congested during check since is is also the "business center" for computer use. The meals we ate were good, as was the service. I cannot say the same for the attached bar. We tried it twice and both times, the service was basically non- existent. We wound up just going back to the restaurant to get a drink. We very much enjoyed the pool area and pool bar. The grounds were well maintained too. This hotel has some "personality" and once you get past a few shortcomings, it really is a good choice to stay in this area.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel 4 nights in early July. The rooms are big and very clean. Beds are comfortable. Rooms are however outdated, the shower doors are rusted, there are some holes in the walls. We did not have a safe in the room, there were a few insects in the room that we had to chase out every night. The breakfast was included, we only went the first morning and did not enjoyed it ( coffee is weak, fruits are full of flies, not a lot of variety). The staff are friendly. This hotel is well located

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#18 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,059 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 851 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#13 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Monte Real
#20 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
2.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,759 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Arenal Green
Hotel Arenal Green
#17 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Magic Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.