We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Magical, But Not Bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Magic Mountain to your Saves list
Hotel Magic Mountain
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nothing Magical, But Not Bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed here two nights on Caravan tour. The volcano is only visible 30% of the time--so, be prepared for a nice view of: fog or clouds. Rooms nice, clean, spacious. They do not tell you when you check in that the second controller in your room is for the a/c---we didn't know that until we were ready to check out.
Restaurant is okay, but staff has to be asked to refill water glass, give you silverware, etc.
One funny moment. As we got ready to sit at one table we noticed it was covered in crawling ants. I called the waiter and said, "There are a couple of hundred ANTS on this table." He shrugged and said, "There are ants all over Costa Rica" and walked away unconcerned.
The "business center" amounts to one computer in a cramped, tiny lobby. Desk clerks were mildly attentive but seemed like they were not thrilled to be there.
Pool looks great, and LOTS of folks seemed to enjoy the swim up bar. Lovely grounds and landscaping around pool. The road in front is narrow and walking to grocery store or shops kinda scary since traffic passes so close and is so fast Maybe a taxi is better.
So, clean rooms, great pool, nice balcony, all in all an okay place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    207
    56
    13
    7
See reviews for
118
234
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed with our family of 6 (2 rooms) for 4 nights. It was walking distance to the town of La Fortuna. It was very clean, decent size rooms, decent breakfast included, nice pool and hot tubs and swim up bar. The staff was friendly, accommodating, and efficient. This is not a "luxury" hotel but great for those on a budget, without a car, or just looking for a moderate clean place to stay.

I would totally recommend this property!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schofield
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This hotel was a 2 night stay on our Caravan tour of Costa Rica. It is in a good location and close to many restaurants and Arenal volcano(if you are lucky enough to actually see it). The hotel itself is in need of a few updates, especially in the bathroom. We also had issues with our room key which required staff assistance a couple of times and also made us question room security. The front desk is quite small and was quite congested during check since is is also the "business center" for computer use. The meals we ate were good, as was the service. I cannot say the same for the attached bar. We tried it twice and both times, the service was basically non- existent. We wound up just going back to the restaurant to get a drink. We very much enjoyed the pool area and pool bar. The grounds were well maintained too. This hotel has some "personality" and once you get past a few shortcomings, it really is a good choice to stay in this area.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel 4 nights in early July. The rooms are big and very clean. Beds are comfortable. Rooms are however outdated, the shower doors are rusted, there are some holes in the walls. We did not have a safe in the room, there were a few insects in the room that we had to chase out every night. The breakfast was included, we only went the first morning and did not enjoyed it ( coffee is weak, fruits are full of flies, not a lot of variety). The staff are friendly. This hotel is well located

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

This one is tough to review, the rooms were clean and the staff very nice. Breakfast was buffet style and also very good.
Our a/c had only one setting ( even though one was supposed to be able to change the temperature) and that was ice cold. After break fast we accidentally tried to enter our neighbors room and to their and our surprise our key card opened their door. We checked the door to other people in our party and it opened theirs as well. This was a HUGE security issue, which they apologized, but this could ended badly with a key that opens every door in the wrong hand. They tried to makes excuses for this mishap .... Very upsetting.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and our stay was excellent. Our rooms was clean and comfortable and we had view of Arenal volcano from our room. I upgraded to Junior Suite which was fully worth it. Suite had a Zacuzzi in room. Morning breakfast was included with our rate and food was average.

Hotel bar is ok but there was no one else when we were there. Wet bar is much better and you can enjoy company of other travelers.

Hotel staff is very friendly and they tried to help us with what to do. They did give us wrong information about Baldi hot spa. There is no discount to go to Baldi hot springs. Compared to other hotels, this is located closer to La Fortuna town and you can even walk to Supermarket.

Overall, our stay was comfortable and I would recommend it if you are looking for a hotel which gives you good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The hotel staff are doing their best to create a magic moment.
The garden is very well maintained.
The tours reserved by the hotel are better then the ones you can find in the city center for cheaper prices.

Room Tip: Any room and enjoy the happy hour on the pool bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Magic Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.