We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect view of the Volcano” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Magic Mountain to your Saves list
Hotel Magic Mountain
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect view of the Volcano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We spent two nights at the Magic Mountain hotel. It was very nice and within walking distance to town. A good walk though. The taxi ride back was relatively cheap just in case you are in a down pour. We did the 4x1 tour and had a great time. The tour takes you to the hanging bridges which was amazing, La Fortuna waterfall which is a must see. (bring your suits). We then ate lunch at this little place on a back road that our guide took us to. It was amazing food and the view was awesome. We then went on the volcano hike which wasn't much. Saw a better view from our hotel room and we got completely rained on the way back. We ended our day on a awesome trip to Tabacon Springs and relaxed there for a few hours and then had a great dinner there. A little pricey but worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the Volcano. Maybe they all face that way, I don't know but ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    211
    58
    13
    7
See reviews for
122
237
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Very helpful staff at this beautiful motel. They really went out of their way to make sure we got to see and do some fun activities. We had a great view of the volcano, had a great time watching soccer at the wet bar and had an excellent breakfast each day. Had a great river safari and saw the great waterfall! A trip we will never forget!

Room Tip: Great views all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We spent two nights at this location as part of an Air Canada Vacations Ecotour in March 2014.

Our room had a wonderful view of the Arenal Volcano from our balcony, which also had a table and 2 chairs, which was great for sitting outside and relaxing. I recommend that you keep the drapes closed and the light off, however, as many bugs are attracted to the light. Inside, the room was "OK". There was wall damage where a safe was once located, and there was a large empty cupboard in the room, where a mini-fridge may have been once located.

We ate breakfast in the restaurant both mornings, which was a decent buffet with good service. We did not eat any other meals here.

The pool area was small, but relaxing nonetheless. We found the pool bar service to be "OK", certainly nothing spectacular.

The hotel is a 30 minute walk from town, which is safe, but one section of the road is dark near a farm. I would recommend a flashlight to some extra light, expecially as the sidewalks are not in great condition. We enjoyed going into town, eating at some of the local restaurants and browsing through the shops.

Overall, a nice hotel. I wouldn't rush back here, but it was fine for what we needed, as we were gone for most of the day and spent our evenings in town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed here with Caravan Tour, we were looking to stay at this hotel just because of the name, everything was magical in this area, the view of the big volcano was beautiful. The food and service were good. The rooms felt like a private house in a magical location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great place, comfortable, clean, and in excellent condition. There were only a few other families there, which made it nice and peaceful for our stay. The grounds, while in the beginning of off-season, were still clean and in great condition. The pool was very relaxing, and additionally so when the bar was open. :)

The views of Arenal were unbeatable, and it was close enough to town to walk down for necessities and for touristy stuff to bring home.

2 huge bonuses at this resort:

First, my wife and I got massages while there, and both were amongst the best massages we have ever had. My massage therapist was Margarita, and she had a very peaceful touch. I left the massage perfectly relaxed!

Second, the restaurant was out of this world! I had the garlic/seafood concoction, and my wife had a daily special with shrimp, flambeed at the table. The dinner was amazing, and the table service was very professional!

Check out Hotel Magic Mountain, you will definitely enjoy it!

Room Tip: The closer the room you get is to the front desk, the better the view of Arenal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My family and I stayed 3 nights here this past week as part of a week-long Costa Rica vacation. We loved it!! The rooms were clean, the pool was nice, the staff was great, the breakfasts were yum, the wi-fi worked fine... The hotel is close to zip-lining canopy tours and horseback riding (lots of fun, btw). The view of Volcano Arenal was spectacular. I could go on about how nice our stay was, but the real testament was when my 10 year old son said, "I'm going to miss it here."

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel because of recommendation from a friend who stayed there last October and I have to say it was not what he explained it to be. Dont get me wrong the property is beautiful and the staff is friendly but the service is lacking for a hotel at this price. The location is great and there is a view of the volcano from every room. We stayed on the 2nd floor and had an unobstructed view. The bellboy Jeison was very friendly and helped us out as best he could making recommendations for things to do and places to see. The bar was closed and we couldn't get drinks. When asked we were told there was an emergency and the bartender had to take off for a few days. Dont people have backup plans for this, its business people. The rooms were lacking the comforts of a hotel at this expense, towels were scarce, internet was spotty, and if you wanted to watch TV the stations were mostly in spanish. The food at the restaurant is really good and I would say eat here when your wanting a nice meal and when you want something different go into town.

When we wanted to book tours the receptionist was pushing specific tour companies whose ratings on tripadvisor were not very favorable. When asked for different companies from what she was suggesting she said she couldn't sell those, so we ended up booking our own tours.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Magic Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.