We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 year wedding anniversary!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Magic Mountain to your Saves list
Hotel Magic Mountain
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Louisa, Virginia
1 review
“10 year wedding anniversary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous inside and out! The staff was amazing! The attention we received made us feel like we were the only ones there! I had a constant smile and would definitely go back!!

Room Tip: Corner and higher floors are the best!! We had an unbelievable room with GORGEOUS views! We absolu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    207
    56
    13
    7
See reviews for
118
234
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights.
The rooms are nice and have enough space, there's a refrigerator in the room.
The staff is nice, friendly and very helpful, even the manager helped me.
I didn't use the pool but it looked very nice.
I had breakfast and dinner in the hotel, I liked the breakfast very much, I had limited options for dinner as I keep kosher but the salmon was very good.

2 down sides for me:
1. The annoying shower, the amount of effort to get the right temperature is beyond annoying and the water flow is weak (could barely wash the shampoo of my hair)
2. Bugs in the room - I don't know how when I was in much more rustic accommodation I didn't have any bugs in the room and here I did

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

WE stayed here only one night but wished we had done a second. Excellent views of the volcano, very easy to find. real close to the town and restruants. the pool had a swim up bar that was awesome. safe and very secure. this place gets an A+

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

There were 6 of us traveling together. We started in San Jose for 1 night (day we landed) rented 2 SUVs and traveled to LaFortuna to stay for 3 nights at Magic Moutain. Rooms were clean, staff was very accomodating. Once couple in our group had not upgraded to the Junior Suite, however upon checkin, the desk clerk noticed and offered to upgrade them at no cost since their suite would not have an operation jacuzzi. They agreed. There is a beautiful view of Volcano from the hotel, the pool is very clean as well as the 2 jacuzzis. The area at the pool bar is like a jacuzzi, with very wam water. The included breakfast was okay.... Not something write home about.

Room Tip: The junior suites were very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Very nice clean, updated rooms. Nice friendly staff. Great wet bar. Kid friendly. Restaurant close by. good location to walk to restaurant and souvenirs. Close taxi ride to tours. AC works great and hot water.

Room Tip: 3 floors-stayed on the 3rd floor. I believe all rooms overlook the pool area and Arenal. Great pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmares, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

hotel would be greatly improved with hot water in the Jacuzzi by the pool. Short distance to downtown area for shopping. Would stay at this property again when visiting La Fortuna. The Peruvian restaurant on the way to centro was excellent.

Room Tip: ask for the room with the indoor jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Overall, our stay was about what I expected. The room was clean, beds reasonably comfortable (except for pillows), the property was in a good location, the staff was friendly, the included breakfast was good, and the pool was well-maintained. On the down side, our air-conditioner didn't work so we had to sleep with the patio door open - fortunately no mosquitos - and the water pressure in the shower was abysmal. The only other criticism was that the swim-up pool bar was only staffed during the evening happy-hour. We were out hiking and rafting most of the time, but it would have been nice to be able to relax and get a drink as soon as we returned to the hotel instead of waiting until happy hour.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, so that was helpful when trying to get a breeze and sleep with the door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Magic Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.