We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Clean, and Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Save Saved
You added Hotel Magic Mountain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Friendly, Clean, and Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Magic Mountain in late June, it was pretty empty at first but filled up in a couple of days! The concierge was so helpful, and so friendly! They had a variety of different day adventures we could sign up for, and made sure that we were well taken care of by whomever picked us up! The Hotel was very clean, the pool and views were absolutely amazing! We paid as part of a package deal, so I am not sure about their regular rates, but I highly recommend this place if you visit La Fortuna!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    176
    48
    9
    6
See reviews for
99
198
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The staff was helpful and friendly. The view from the room of Arenal was wonderful and we enjoyed our balcony overlooking the pool. The breakfast was great. The gardens and pool area were well cared for and beautiful. We appreciated the WIFI in the room. We also appreciated the fact that we did not need to have our room cleaned every day. The lockbox in the room was helpful.
The little bugs In the bathroom didn't go away. It rained every afternoon and got dark early. The overhead light was the only light in the room and made reading difficult. There was nowhere else to go to sit and read. The hot tub was not hot nor were the jets working. The pillows were very hard.
Having the grocery store right down the road was handy. We did eat at the little restaurant next door for lunch one day. We each had a sandwich and tea and the bill was $27. That seems too much for a small lunch. The food was good but or worth $27. Over all the stay was very good.
I see on the review that I am supposed to rate the fitness center. We never knew there was one. No one said anything about it. I wish wheat known. During those long rainy afternoons we could have exercised.
It was too far from town to walk and it rained so hard, we never got there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were greeted at reception with a few welcome drinks. The staff checked us in and had us to our room quickly. The hotel appeared nice and well cared for. We had a junior suite (Room 506) on the top (3rd) floor on the south end of the building. The room included a large bathroom, king size bed, wet bar with mini-fridge, and a deck that had a great view of the volcano and sugar cane fields. There was an in-the-room Jacuzzi set up on a pedestal next to a window that also afforded an excellent view of Arenal. There is free wi-fi throughout the hotel. Grocery store about three blocks away, as well as a number of restaurants. We ate at the on-site restaurant, Lina’s, several times for breakfast and once or dinner. All the meals were good (The chicken with pineapple sauce and the chicken/ham with white wine sauce were fantastic). My only criticism of our stay here was the music at the bar by the pool. Several times while sitting by the pool or on the deck, the staff would turn the music on at the bar, even when no one was there (it was low season and there were not many people staying at the hotel). I understand that people have different preferences, but I would prefer not having to listen to loud music while trying to relax. The same thing happened at night with the music from the sports bar at the other end of the complex. Again, this is more of a personal preference than a problem with the hotel. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly. I would definitely recommend the hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: The hotel has 3 floors. The view of the volcano from the ground floor is partially obscured by the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chassahowitzka
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were here for the first part of a travel package and wow what amazing views, gardens, service! The experience was better than we hoped, and we enjoyed the breakfasts at the restaurant. I don't think there is a better view of Arenal volcano, and our room had a refrigerator which we really like when traveling. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others. Vanessa in housekeeping was helpful, showed us how to use the in room safe and helped us get the hang of the door card and AC control. The only down side for me was that the beds were firmer than my back would like so I used towels to make a cushion under the fitted sheet. But everything else was so perfect. I liked that they were energy conscious, although others may not share that. It doesn't take long for the room to cool. We enjoyed meeting a few other travelers in the pool and yet had plenty of privacy.

Room Tip: We had 308, but every room probably has an amazing view. Hotel had an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Loved this hotel. Staff was wonderful and attentive. Views were SPECTACULAR! Only negatives were that we had tiny ants in our room, the pillows were VERY uncomfortable, and the breakfast was little to be desired. Other then that, we loved everything about this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Magic Mountain hotel appreciate your visit .
Also we want to express our appreciation for your comment.
We really sorry for all the inconvenience caused during your stay, our best intention is to make the clients feel like home.
We inform you that we are improving day by day to benefit our guests, because are our reason to be, so they deserve the best.
Thanks a lot to mention all that distinguish us from the others.
We thank your recommendations, it is too important for us.
Hoping you come back once again, we express our gratitude to you and our compromise to keep improving our service.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The staff was really nice in the hotel. Front desk staff were superb! nice pool and wonderful view! Waitstaff at restaurant was not the friendliest bunch. The location is perfect an restaurant that is just next door was great. Breakfast was good but the dinner was not. I recommend staying here but walking down the road to some great food. We really liked novillitos steakhouse. And we even visited another resort for dinner that was amazing! Nayara! This place is worth checking out! Food was the best we had! Overall we liked magic mountain an would recommend staying here. But if you are on a honeymoon I'd go with Nayara resort.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Customer

Hotel Magic Mountain appreciate your visit.
Every comment we received for our clientes is very important, because on based of this we can improve the things you mentioned.
Hotel Magic Mountain appreciate your visit.
Every comment we received from our clients is very important, because on based of this we can improve the things you mentioned.
In the name of all staff, we apologize if you didn´t received the best service.
Our intention is make the customer to feel like home.
Thanks a lot to mention all that distinguish us from the others.
We thanks your recommendations, they are too important for us
Hoping you come back once again, we express our gratitude to you and our comprom

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotel Magic Mountain provides a great view of the Arenal Volcano. The grounds are clean and the staff is friendly. It's a 4$ cab ride from downtown. The hotel has a great happy hour and facilities. We got a free upgrade to a junior suite which made our stay a lot better. However, 3 days into our stay, the jacuzzi broke and it was never fixed, but overall it was a really great time.

Room Tip: any room provides amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear customer

To Magic Mountain hotel is a pleasure that you choose our hotel during your visit to La Fortuna. Also we want to express our appreciation for your comment.
We inform you that we are improving day by day to benefit our guests, because are our reason to be, so you deserve the best.
Thanks a lot to mention all that distinguish us from the others.
We thank your recommendations, it is too important for us.
Hoping you come back once again, we express our gratitude to you and our compromise to keep improving our service.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Magic Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.