We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience, Great Location to La Fortuna, Great front desk staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Magic Mountain to your Saves list
Hotel Magic Mountain
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Great Experience, Great Location to La Fortuna, Great front desk staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Our first trip to Costa Rica-Arenal. If your looking to walk to La Fortuna this is the place to stay. For the excursion a van or taxi picked us up so we thought we had the best of both-walk to dinner, shopping and excursions. As a hotel best value there is. There are others that are resorts if your looking for that. Only negative, there were very small ants on the floor but not sure if this everywhere or expected because of the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
To Magic Mountain hotel is a pleasure that you choose our hotel during your visit to La Fortuna. Also we want to express our appreciation for your comment.
We're glad to know that we meet your expectations.
About the ants problem, let me explain you what is happen with that, is very normal that during the raining season, see many, many, many ants everywhere.
We inform you that we are improving day by day to benefit our guests, because are our reason to be, so you deserve the best.
Thanks a lot to mention all that distinguish us from the others and that makes us the best hosting option.
We thank your recommendations, it is too important for us.
Hoping you come back once again, we express our gratitude to you and our compromise to keep improving our service.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    186
    52
    10
    7
See reviews for
108
208
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Let me start by saying thank you to the amazzing staff at this wonderful hotel. Leo, Jeison, Erika, Nancy are some of the best customer services I have ever experinced in my life. The greeting at our arrival, the way they make us feel since we stepped foot into the reception area were over welming. I was treated as a queen during my stay at Magic Mountain. Leo was very sweet, helpfull and patience with my family and I. Great recomendations for places to go eat as well as activities and tours which by the way it is best to have the front desk staff make reservations for you as they fill up very fast. I had one if not the best vacation of my life here. The food at the restaurant was very good , the breakfast was delicious and a lot to of choices. Javier at the restaurant is very friendly and sweet.
The pool very beautiful and clean. The room super clean and the view to the Arenal Volcano from the room was espetacular from our room and balcony. Room 505 was the best!!!
Thank you so very much Leo, Erika, Nancy , Jeison and Javier for such a great service and for making my stay a wonderfull one.
I am coming back soon!!!!

Room Tip: Any room on the third floor and the second floor with volcano / pool view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Google Translation
Hola Doña Clara.

Que gusto saber de usted.
De verdad fue un placer atenderla a usted, su hija y a su nieto.
Siempre nos esmeramos para que los clientes se sientan cómodos, pero con clientes tan amables y simpáticos como ustedes no hay que hacer mucho esfuerzo, al contrario terminamos nosotros fascinados con personas así.
Mil gracias desde el fondo de nuestros corazones por tan lindo comentario eso nos motiva a seguir dando un excelente servicio y a mejorar día con día.
Creo que esta demás decir que las puertas quedan abiertas para cuando gusten visitarnos de nuevo.
Nos vemos pronto

Saludos Cordiales
De parte de todo el staff
Hotel Magic Mountain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I took my daughter to Costa Rica for her graduation present. Our first three days in this beautiful country were at the Magic Mountain Hotel. What a fantastic way to begin our adventures. The staff was attentive from check-in, to check-out. Breakfast (excellent); Dinner (excellent); poolside bar (excellent); Room (excellent ). Views......Excellent. I even got to practice my spanish with the staff. Your service, food and room (junior suite), made our Costa Rica vacation an overall excellent experience. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
To Magic Mountain hotel is a pleasure that you choose our hotel during your visit to La Fortuna. Also we want to express our appreciation for you flattering comment to us.
We're glad to exceed your expectations and turn your experience at Magic Mountain to a wonderful time.
We inform you that we are improving day by day to benefit our guests, because are our reason to be, so you deserve the best.
Thanks a lot to mention all that distinguish us from the others and that makes us the best hosting option.
We thank your recommendations, it is too important for us.
Hoping you come back once again, we express our gratitude to you and our compromise to keep improving our service.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was not only my favorite hotel on the trip but also Arenal is amazing! If you're thinking of visiting Costa Rica, please go to Arenal! Okay so more about the hotel.. the room and bathroom was very clean, friendly staff, yummy breakfast buffet, and it's close to most activities/hot spots. The view of the volcano from the balcony is just breathtaking. I'm hoping to visit again very soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
To Magic Mountain hotel is a pleasure that you choose our hotel during your visit to La Fortuna. Also we want to express our appreciation for you flattering comment to us.
We're glad to exceed your expectations and turn your experience at Magic Mountain to a wonderful time.
We inform you that we are improving day by day to benefit our guests, because are our reason to be, so you deserve the best.
Thanks a lot to mention all that distinguish us from the others and that makes us the best hosting option.
We thank your recommendations, it is too important for us.
Hoping you come back once again, we express our gratitude to you and our compromise to keep improving our service.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This Hotel and the staff got an A+. Great location very closed to everything. Breath taking view of the Arenal Volcano. Super clean and safe. The staff is beyond friendly, from the people who checked us in (Jeison & Leo) to Erika & Nancy at front desk, and Javier at the restaurant, I can not decide who is more friendly. They all went out of their way to make sure our stay was the best one ever!!!!! Thank you all !!!
The Breakfast buffet is delicious, a great variety to choose from and a great taste.
The tours very fun and safe. I recommend you reserve your tour at the front desk for various reasons we wasted one day for trying to do things on our own. The water rafting is a very fun tour.
Already planning to go back in May to this same hotel. Definitely LOVE IT!!!

Room Tip: Any Room on the Third floor have a great vie to the volcano and the pool, which by the way is beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Google Translation
Hola Sandra.

Un placer saber de usted.
En nombre de todo el staff de recepcion, queremos agradecerles su preciada visita.
Fue un verdadero placer el poder atenderles. Nosotros nos esmeramos en dar una agradable servicio y cuando la respuesta de los clientes es tan positiva nos alegramos mucho ya que para eso trabajamos para hacerlos sentir bien, como en casa.
Nos complace saber que superamos sus expectativas y que pronto volverán a visitarnos.
Muchas gracias de verdad por mencionar en su comentario todo aquello que nos define y nos diferencia de los demás. Ademas de agradecerle sus buenas recomendaciones.
Las puertas quedan abiertas para su próxima, entonces nos vamos a esmerar en mejorar para que su visita sea lo máximo.
Nos vemos pronto

Saludos Cordiales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The service at Hotel Magic Mountain is beyond compare! Our group lost our tour information and the hotel staff quickly called the booking company to get them to send over another copy of our tour information. Since none of the tours were through the hotel we were skeptical that they would be so willing to help but they did!

Everyone else was super friendly and always willing to help us when we had a puzzled look on our face. They gave us recommendations about restaurants to go to and places to shop. The folks here were amazing and I can't wait to go back to Costa Rica and Hotel Magic Mountain!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
To Magic Mountain hotel is a pleasure that you choose our hotel during your visit to La Fortuna. Also we want to express our appreciation for you flattering comment to us.
We're glad to exceed your expectations and turn your experience at Magic Mountain to a wonderful time.
We inform you that we are improving day by day to benefit our guests, because they are our reason to be, so you deserve the best.
Thanks a lot for mention all that distinguish us from the others and that makes us the best hosting option.
We thank your recommendations, it is too important for us.
Hoping you come back once again, we express our gratitude to you and our compromise to keep improving our service.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My traveling companion and I arrived at Hotel Magic Mountain on Friday, August 9th, 2013 after a four hour transfer from San Jose airport. The staff was very welcoming, although they did have difficulty bringing the welcome drink - I imagine it was a busy check-in time and they made it up to us.
We stayed in room 302, which I highly recommend. The balcony view was superb! Anytime we wanted to see Volcan Arenal, just open the shades and/or your eyes.

The one complaint I do have was that the hot tub was not working. Normally, I would not find issue with this, but after day long active tours, the muscles would have benefited from a relaxing hot tub.

Stay here and enjoy your time in La Fortuna with a short walk to the main town area.

All of the staff was super friendly and I would definitely go back and stay in this hotel on my next trip to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Room 302 has a beautiful view and is near the stair well for easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
To Magic Mountain hotel is a pleasure that you choose our hotel during your visit to La Fortuna. Also we want to express our appreciation for you flattering comment to us.
We're glad to exceed your expectations and turn your experience at Magic Mountain to a wonderful time.
We inform you that we are improving day by day to benefit our guests, because they are our reason to be, so you deserve the best.
Thanks a lot for mention all that distinguish us from the others and that makes us the best hosting option.
We thank your recommendations, it is too important for us.
Hoping you come back once again, we express our gratitude to you and our compromise to keep improving our service.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Magic Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.