We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 3 nights in Arenal/Magic Mountain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Magic Mountain to your Saves list
Hotel Magic Mountain
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Boynton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our 3 nights in Arenal/Magic Mountain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I took my 20 yr. old son for 6 nights in Costa Rica. Our first three were in Arenal at the Magic Mountain. Not knowing what to expect since the travel agent and Costa Rica Sun Tours arranged everything, we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was clean, modern with a staff of super friendly and efficient people. Our 3rd floor (which I recommend to have best view) balcony overlooked the volcano, a view we enjoyed first thing upon wakening and throughout the day! Since we were there during rainy season, 2 nights we opted not to walk into town and chose to eat in the Magic Mountain Restaurant. The food was delicious and not budget breaking. Breakfasts were delightful as well. The pool area/bar was very nice as well. Hot tub was broken, not warm, while we were there, but I am sure they are working on it. I would recommend this hotel. There are bigger and more resort like hotels in the area, but this suited our purposes and was convenient to everything. We could walk to Fortuna, and were within minutes from all our tour destinations. I especially want to thank Carlos at the front desk...I was the lady with a million questions, and he had an answer and a smile for all. Same thing for Erica, one of the managers.
Ilene Glickman
Boynton Beach Fl

Room Tip: Third floor, balcony facing volcano and pool for best views.....!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Mrs. Glickman
Hotel Magic Mountain appreciate your visit.
For Carlos and me was a real pleasure have been helped with all your questions.
This is our work help our guests with all the doubts they have, give the best recomendations in the area and orient them.
This is one of the good things we have for offer to the people who wants to visit Magic Mountain.
We are working on the jacuzzis, we apologize for that inconvenience.
We are glad to know that we meet your expectations and you will recomend us.
The doors are open for your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    193
    53
    11
    7
See reviews for
109
214
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our stay at Magic Mountain was very enjoyable. My son and I had been traveling in Costa Rica for 8 days when we arrived there, the staff was very friendly and helpful with any questions we had about the area. The beds were by far the most comfortable that we slept during our three weeks that we were in country. We stayed for 3 nights and the room was refreshed everyday while we were out. We had no complaints except for cold water in the spa tubs by the pool and like every other hotel restraint we ate in the food was very good and pricy. otherwise it was a very good experience. Arenal volcano could be seen from every room. A spectacular view when the clouds cleared.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Customer
Hotel Magic Mountain appreciate your visit.
Our clients satisfaction are our first objetive, and the reason why we work hard to give the best service.
We are glad to know that we meet your expectations and that your stay in magic mountain was a positive experience.
Thank you so much for your comment.
The doors of Magic Mountain are open for your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Magic Mountain 7/18-7/21/13. The hotel grounds are beautiful, check in was a breeze. Staff very attentive and helpful. Rooms were spacious and cleaned daily. Hotel bar had great happy hour specials and good music. Amazing view of Arenal volcano!!! Only set back, the jacuzzi near the pool was small and water was luke warm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Customer
Hotel Magic Mountain appreciate your visit.
We are glad to know that we meet your expectations.
Thank you for mentioned all the good things we offer that define us from the rest.
We apologize for the inconvenience with the jacuzzi, we are working on it.
Thank you for your comment. The doors in Magic Mountain are open for you next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay at Magic Mountain hotel because they offered a great deal (3 nights for the price of 2) and because of the Tripadvisor ratings.

Pros
1 Great location. There is a little 'town' immediately beside the hotel with several craft shops and restaurants. The hotel is about a 5-10 minute drive to the main town of La Fortuna. Also, the hotel was a central location for the excursions we took part in.

2. The pictures on Tripadvisor are a true depiction of the grounds, rooms an bathrooms. Amazing views of the volcano from our room on the first floor.

3. Breakfast was included and was pretty decent. Eggs, sausages, plantains, pancakes, fruit, rice and beans etc. I would have rated it so-so if not for the fact that it was significantly better than the breakfast at the hotel we stayed at in Tamarindo. We never ate dinner at the restaurant so I can't provide a review.

4. Happy hour at the sports bar was great. Fantastic tequila sunrises for $3. Couldn't beat that. Apparently we went during the slow season because we saw only a handful of people during our stay.

5. The hotel offered several tours. We had already booked our tours in advance with another company but the prices at the hotel were comparable to the prices that we paid.



Cons
1. The hotel provided two large towels only upon check-in. The maid didn't clean the room the first day we were there so we ended up having to ask for extra towels and washcloths.

Overall, we enjoyed our trip and would stay at Magic Mountain hotel again if we revisit La Fortuna.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Customer

Hotel Magic Mountain appreciate your visit.
Thank you so much for your comment. As we can see you have mentioned more good things and we are working hard, to give the best for our guest because they deserve it.
But that really help us to grow up in this business is the things you mentioned in the cons. Immediately we take sizes in the matter and we did the necessary improvements to prevent any complain in the future.
Thank you so much for your recomendations.
The doors of Magic Mountain are open for your next visit.


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed three nights and experienced exemplary service at all times. The restaurant served excellent meals at breakfast, lunch, and, especially, dinner.
Magic Mountain is within walking distance to town, assuming one enjoys a 20-30 minute walk. Beautiful and well-maintained grounds. Staff was always very helpful. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Customer
Hotel Magic Mountain appreciate your visit.
Thank you for your comment. The good service is one of the good things we have and that define us. As well the food in Lina´s Restaurant and the gardens are like a little piece of the mountain and the gardener work hard to keep it beatiful
Thank you for mentioned all this and for your recomendations.
The doors are open for your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great hotel with a wonderful staff. They are very helpful and the restaurant attached is fantastic for breakfast and dinner! It's about a 6 dollar cab ride to the springs and all excursions booked through the hotel will pick you up. You are right near La Fortuna and it is a quaint town to see. Excellent happy hour and pool bar. It was pretty dead when we were there in July as it is off season and rains every day.

Room Tip: Every room has a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Customer
Hotel Magic Mountain appreciate your visit.
Thank you for your comment. Every time that one client makes reference of the good things we offer we feel great.
We work hard to give the best service posible and cause a positive experience for our guests.
Thank you for your recomendations. We hope to see you in your next visit. The doors stay open for you.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I and our two 13 year old grandsons stayed for three nights at this hotel in early July, and I cannot say enough about the staff. Our grandsons were involved in a zipline accident during our stay and the front desk people and the management went overboard to help us with resolving issues related to the accident. Since we do not speak Spanish, they helped with phone calls to the clinic where they were treated and to the zipline company. The grounds are indeed beautiful, and the view of the volcano, awesome. I would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Reinette

I hope everything is fine with you and your grandson.
We want to thanks you for this comment.
It really was for me a pleasure to help you on your stay in Magic Mountain.
We understood your concern and we tried to do the best we could.
Our clients are the most importan and they are reason why we help in everything they need.
We hope everything had been resolved in a postive way for you.
Magic Mountain doors are open for your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Magic Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.