We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7 Day stay at Hotel Magic Mountain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Save Saved
You added Hotel Magic Mountain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Palm Harbor, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“7 Day stay at Hotel Magic Mountain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful 8 day trip to Costa Rica. We stayed at the Hotel Magic Mountain as our base during our stay the week of June 17,2013. The hotel is perfectly situated to the town of La Fortuna. It is very convenient to all of the local attractions such as Baldi Hot Springs, Zip Lining and of course the Arenal Volcano National Park. The staff at the hotel could not be nicer. Adrian and Nancy as well as every employee are friendly and courteous. We upgraded to a suite from a standard room and found the room to be clean, comfortable and had a beautiful view of the volcano. Our room was on the third floor. The only complaint that I have is that the elevator was out of service during our entire stay. At times, it was very inconvenient to walk 3 flights of stairs with luggage, groceries etc. The pool area is very quiet. The Jacuzzi that is separate from the pool was not very warm and could be described as cool water. I found the alcoholic beverages to be a little pricey at the pool. Overall, this is a great hotel with a great staff and I would highly recommend it. The location could not be better!

Room Tip: The third floor has the best views. Upgrade to a suite if you are traveling with a family. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Customer
The Hotel Magic Mountain appreciates your visit.
Feedback from our customers are very important to us. It helps us to grow and improve in everything.
There are no excuses for what was not right. But we work to give the best to our customers.
Thank you very much for recommending the hotel, we really appreciate it.
Mountain Magic doors are open for your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    186
    52
    10
    7
See reviews for
108
205
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rowland Heights, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were at the hotel Saturday, June 1 - Tuesday, June 4, 2013. Great location within walking distance to the town of La Fortuna. The rooms were nicely decorated and clean. We had a third story room and a beautiful view of the Arenal Volcano. My hubby was having a couple issues with the in room safe and each time we called the front desk they were pleasant and sent someone within minutes. The pool and the surrounding areas were very nice and clean. It was also a bonus to have (free) access to a computer that is located in the front lobby. Our package included breakfast which was pretty basic, but decent. The first two mornings someone was their to make omelets. There was always "Pinto Gallo" which is a typical Costa Rican dish of black beans and rice. The breakfast also included fruit, pancakes, sausage, potatoes, plantains and juice/coffee.
For our third and last breakfast we were informed that breakfast was going to be "Ala Cate", which meant that our choices were limited to eggs, pinto gallo, potatoes and fruit. From the hotel we traveled to Arenal National Park and hiked on a (easy) trail that took us to a set of stairs up to the most beautiful view of Lake Arenal. If you plan on taking a hike, make sure you bring bug repellant. We also went to the Butterfly Conservatory, if you like to see beautiful butterflies and just as beautiful grounds, spend the $14.00 per person entrance fee; it took us about an hour or so to walk the grounds (in pouring rain). Overall, I would recommend Hotel Magic Mountain because of the staff, clean rooms, very nice grounds and great location.

Room Tip: Higher floors are best for a view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director General at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Customer
The Magic Mountain Hotel appreciates your visit.
Your comment is very important. The staff works hard to provide customers the best of the best.
The friendly staff is something that defines us.
Thank you so much for all the good things mentioned in your comment. And thank you for recommend us. We really appreciate this.
The Magic Mountain doors are open for your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Delights: Staff is WONDERFUL! Very courteous, friendly, gracious. Adrian and Nancy greeted us likes kings and queens. Nancy is a top notch concierge and helped up plan day trips. Leo ran a hospitable front of house. Rooms comfortable, clean. Patios and views are extra special! Great pool.

Disappointments: Tune steak not recommended. Food good, not great.

Enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Customer
The Magic Mountain Hotel appreciates your precious visit.
Your comment is very important. The staff works hard to provide customers the best of the best.
The friendly staff is something that defines us.
We apologize for not meeting the expectations of the food quality . We are working to improve.
The Magic Mountain doors are open for your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Okay, I'm writing this on the first night, so it's possible that my views will change. However, the service and room so far have been excellent. Clean rooms (huge bed!), polite staff, a pool with a swim-up bar. Now, take all this with the knowledge that I've never really used a booking agency before, so I tend to find myself the cheapest hotel with a/c and internet that I can. Maybe for people who are used to higher-end resort stays this place isn't so special. Nevertheless, I'm impressed and our room has a lovely balcony looking out on the Arenal volcano! Oh, did I mention the complimentary drink when we arrived?

Update: my views did not change

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Customer

The Hotel Magic Mountain appreciates your visit
It's a real pleasure to meet your expectations from first moment.
Our staff works hard to provide the best of the best and that our customers feel at home.
Thanks for mentioning the details that make us an excellent choice of quality and price.
The doors are open for your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here at the end of May 2013. The hotel is great! It is in a great location, within walking distance of La Fortuna and amazing views of the Arenal Volcano. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. We were there in the slower season, so the pool and wet bar were never too crowded. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Customer
The Hotel Magic Mountain appreciates your precious visit.
Thank you very much for your kind comment. The details you mention are part of who we are and what we offer to our customers and that make a big difference.
The staff work with a positive attitude always trying to convey to our guest. The friendly service for part of the staff is characteristic that we want for our customers to feel at home.
Mountain Magic doors are open for your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in May 2013. It is in a great location, close to all activities. The staff are super friendly and the continental breakfast is great. It was slow season so there weren't many people there. We never saw anyone using the pool or at the bar. The WiFi is free which was great. Our room had a great view of the Arenal Volcano. I felt it was the best hotel in the area. We only stayed for 3 days but had a positive experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Customer

The Hotel Magic Mountain appreciates your precious visit.
We greatly appreciate your comment, it helps us grow and improve day by day.
We work hard to provide the best service because our customers deserve the best.
Each comment that speaks of good staff, service and hotel quality brings us more and more customers, but mainly we are required to give the best to everyone.
The Magic Mountain doors open for your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Magic Mountain with my significant other for a few days in May. The hotel is beautiful with a wonderful view of the Arenal volcano. The front desk was very helpful, Nancy was wonderful. The included breakfast buffet was also quite good. The room was clean and had a wonderful view of the volcano. The air conditioning could only be utilized when you are present in the room (you must use your key card to access it, and they only provide one). This is kind of exasperating when you are coming back from a long trip and the room is very humid. However, I think air conditioning is considered somewhat of a luxury so we did not mind much.

The only downside we experienced was when a tour was incorrectly booked by the front desk staff (not Nancy) but it was then rectified and we were able to still do the tour, just on another day.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice, clean, hotel right in the Arenal volcano area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Customer

The Hotel Magic Mountain appreciates your visit.
Our customers are the reason for being and our goal is to provide them the best service possible.
Thank you very much for the positive and negative details listed for you. This helps us to realize that we can improve for our customers that deserve the best.
We will work on refining small details that can make a big difference.
Mountain Magic doors are open for your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Magic Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.