We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May 2013 visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Magic Mountain to your Saves list
Hotel Magic Mountain
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“May 2013 visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in May 2013. It is in a great location, close to all activities. The staff are super friendly and the continental breakfast is great. It was slow season so there weren't many people there. We never saw anyone using the pool or at the bar. The WiFi is free which was great. Our room had a great view of the Arenal Volcano. I felt it was the best hotel in the area. We only stayed for 3 days but had a positive experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Customer

The Hotel Magic Mountain appreciates your precious visit.
We greatly appreciate your comment, it helps us grow and improve day by day.
We work hard to provide the best service because our customers deserve the best.
Each comment that speaks of good staff, service and hotel quality brings us more and more customers, but mainly we are required to give the best to everyone.
The Magic Mountain doors open for your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    217
    58
    13
    7
See reviews for
125
239
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Magic Mountain with my significant other for a few days in May. The hotel is beautiful with a wonderful view of the Arenal volcano. The front desk was very helpful, Nancy was wonderful. The included breakfast buffet was also quite good. The room was clean and had a wonderful view of the volcano. The air conditioning could only be utilized when you are present in the room (you must use your key card to access it, and they only provide one). This is kind of exasperating when you are coming back from a long trip and the room is very humid. However, I think air conditioning is considered somewhat of a luxury so we did not mind much.

The only downside we experienced was when a tour was incorrectly booked by the front desk staff (not Nancy) but it was then rectified and we were able to still do the tour, just on another day.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice, clean, hotel right in the Arenal volcano area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Customer

The Hotel Magic Mountain appreciates your visit.
Our customers are the reason for being and our goal is to provide them the best service possible.
Thank you very much for the positive and negative details listed for you. This helps us to realize that we can improve for our customers that deserve the best.
We will work on refining small details that can make a big difference.
Mountain Magic doors are open for your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This place is voted excellent in its own category. Do not except the Four Seasons, but for what it put out to do, it does it well. The service here was above par than most hotels. A gentleman named Carlos helped me and my friends with all of our questions; we bugged him day and night. The pool was super nice and had a great view of the volcano. There was a swim up bar and two hot tubs. The hot tubs were not really hot though; they were around 96F I would say. They had security there at night and we felt safe in our room. Our room included a safe, fridge, two beds, two night stands, balcony, a desk, and a few lamps.

One thing I didn't enjoy was that if you lost an extra key made for you, you would have to pay for it. Being that I work in the hotel industry, I thought that odd, oh well it is different everywhere. Additionally, there was no person at the front desk at night. We needed someone around 1:00 am and no one was there. Usually there is at least one person running night audit. This is not a big deal though. The breakfast was fresh and cooked well. They have a bar upstairs, but both times we went it was pretty dead. Be careful, for little bugs. We left a piece of food out on accident and by the morning there were these little tiny bugs on the food. It wasn't thing horrible.

Overall, great place to stay. The guest service was great. The location is pretty great as well. It was close to a few hot springs and not far from the city.

Oh yeah, the staff spoke English pretty well and were kind to us when we tried to speak our borken Spanish to them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Customer.
The Hotel Magic Mountain appreciates your precious visit.
We are proud to provide our customers good service and comfort during your stay.
We appreciate your good comment and all the details mentioned on it. We are working on the keys situation and from now we will give 2 keys to the clients.
We really sorry about that.
The staff works hard to give the best to our customers who are the reason for being.
Mountain Magic doors are open for your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
172 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Staff helpful and pleasant, dining room food just OK first night but excellent second night, WiFi free and worked well, nice pool, room has fridge & coffee maker, safe was cranky & hard to use, town 2 miles and $3 taxi, town safe and fun to walk around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Customer.
The Hotel Magic Mountain appreciates your precious visit.
We are proud to provide our customers good service and comfort during your stay.
We appreciate your good comment and all the details mentioned on it.
The staff works hard to give the best to our customers who are the reason for being.
Mountain Magic doors are open for your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were booked in Hotel Magic Mountain as part of a package, and thus didn't know what to expect, but at every point, it met or exceeded expectations. The rooms were pleasant, with every one having a view of the volcano and a balcony. The staff was very helpful when we ran into trouble, the breakfast was tasty and the pool was pleasant, with cheap drinks at the wet bar. It's about a mile out of La Fortuna (and thus has unobstructed views), so might be a little tough for travellers without cars, but there are several nice places to get dinner within a short walk (we liked our dinners in that area better than those in La Fortuna). On the whole, a really lovely place.

Room Tip: Those on a higher floor have a clearer view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente.

El Hotel Magic Mountain agradece su preciada visita.
Cada comentario que recibimos de nuestros clientes nos ayuda a crecer en servicio y calidad.
Muchas gracias por mencionar las muchas ventajas con las que contamos y que por eso somos una excelente opción de hospedaje.
Nos complace mucho haber cumplido con sus expectativas. Nuestro personal se esfuerza por dar lo mejor para que nuestros clientes se sientan como en casa.
Las puertas de Magic Mountain están abiertas para su próxima visita

Saludos Cordiales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Very friendly and helpfull staff. In a great location. Very clean and lovely gardens. Very clean restaurant. Lovely pool and great couple of hot tubs. In the centre of everything. Very friendly and helpfull staff. In a great location. Very clean and lovely gardens. Very clean restaurant. Lovely pool and great couple of hot tubs. In the centre of everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Customer.
The Hotel Magic Mountain appreciates your precious visit.
We are delighted for your comment
Every day we work hard to provide good quality service because our customers deserve the best.
Nice to meet your expectations. Thank you very much for mentioning the details that make us an excellent choice in the area and we appreciate your recommendation.
Magic Mountain doors are open for you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I went on holiday to CR with my parents and we couldn't have missed visiting Arenal area, where we did excursions to the national park and waterfalls on hanging bridges, went to the hot springs, enjoyed canopy and rappel. There are so many things to see and do in that area. The hotel in Fortunal has a great location, you can see the vulcano perfectly from the bedroom and swimming pool, wonderful facilities, and the staff was very kind, helpfull and friendly.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Customer.

Thank you so much for your visit.
We are very glad that you had a wonderfull time with us.
Our clients are the most important, and the reason because we offer any kind of information about La Fortuna area and their surroundings.
The Magic Mountain doors are open for your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 820 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#18 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
2.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
2.0 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#26 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Magic Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.