We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view, even better staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Save Saved
You added Hotel Magic Mountain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent view, even better staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff. In your face view of Arenal from our balcony. We bought a couple bottles of wine at a local market and though survived a 9 hour hike and a horse back ride the next day, didn't miss a sunset from our balcony. Yea there were ants in the bathroom, but if bugs in the room really bug you, don't visit Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Gerente at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hotel Magic Mountain thanks your precious visit.
We work very hard to give the best service because our guest deserve more than that.
We are very glad to know that you had wonderfull time in the hotel and we want to let you know that every comment you did is like gold for us.
The Magic Mountain doors are open for you. And we hope in your next visit give you the best service.

Best Regards
Mr. Edwin Padilla
General Manager
Hotel Magic Mountain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    170
    48
    8
    6
See reviews for
94
195
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Decided to stay in La Fortuna so we could explore the Volcano for a full day. Walked into Hotel Magic Mountain and Karina helped us. She was great. Showed us our room before we decided to stay and it had an amazing view of the volcano! She also helped us find a great family coffee farm to visit the next day and was such a great experience. We would recommend this hotel to everyone. Great price and great service.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of volcano.. Amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear guest, was a pleasure help you with your activities in La Fortuna de San Carlos.
Is great hear from you and is nice to know you had a excellent stay at Magic Mountain.

We hope see you again here the next time you visit Costa Rica, we will give you our best.

Best Regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great view of the Areanal volcano from the room's balcony. The grounds are well kept especially around the pool area. The breakfast at the restaurant had a good variety of offerings. We especially enjoyed the local fresh fruit. I would recomend this hotel to my friends and would stay there again if I travel to the Arenal area in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Dan, thanks so much for your comments.
We are glad to make your stay has been relaxing and wonderful time for you.

We hope to see you again soon at Magic Mountain.

Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was the worst hotel we stayed at in costa rica. The food was terrible. The room seemed fine until we woke up and our bags were covered with ants. We didn't have any food or anything in them. The bathroom had ants as well. It was disgusting. When we complained to the front desk, they pretty much said there was nothing they could do about it. Worst hotel in costa rica. Next time we'll spend the extra money and stay at one of the nicer resorts.

Room Tip: don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Gerente at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
The Magic Mountain Hotel thanks you for your precious visit.
For us it is very important the welfare of our guests during their stay. We wish to inform you that we are very aware of the inconvenience caused.
Feedback from our customers helps us improve the quality of service provided, so it is of utmost importance.
We are very sorry not to have met your expectations, and we deeply regret having to refer you in these circumstances.
We also wish to extend the appropriate apologies and our interest in making the improvements mentioned by you.
The Magic Mountain Hotel doors are open and we hope your next visit to reciprocate with a pleasant and enjoyable stay.
We appreciate your patience and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Nancy at the front desk was a doll. She was always smiling and helped us planning activities.The view from our room was beautiful. The grounds of Hotel Magic Mountain were lovely. The sound of the birds every morning with my coffee was magical. Thanks for the great tme..

Iris Whatley and Jason Rohr

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Iris Whatley and Jason Rohr,

Our goal is to make you experience an unforgettable time at Magic Mountain, that´s why we try to serve you doing our best.

We expect to see you again soon to bring you a wonderfull time.

Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Hotel was better than advertised. Reception was seamless and the front desk very attentive to all our needs. Although the reception and Lobby area are small, the room was extremely clean and well appointed. The bathroom was ample and clean and the beds and pillows were clean an everything was in good condition. The Grounds were perfectly trimmed and manicured and there were flower and tropical paths through out the property. There is a nice Restaurant on site where the included breakfast is served. In our estimation, this was by far the highlight of our Budget Lodging in Costa Rica. Would definitely stay here again when I return to CR.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Guest.

In Magic Mountain we try to keep our facilities in the best conditions for your enjoy, and we feel glad that this made you experience a good time in La Fortuna.

Thanks for choosing us, hope to see you soon.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent three nights at Hotel Magic Mountain.It was an extremely good place to stay and we would stay again. It is central to all of the area attractions The reasy to find. Finding many places in Costa Rica requires a GPS! The rooms are clean and comfortable and fairly modern. It is quiet at night so it is a great place to sleep. They have free WiFi although the signal was low in our room and one night the internet was not available. They have cable TV and it has at least three American network affiliates as well as CNN. The pool area is beautiful and the gardens are well maintained. If you want to read in bed, bring a book light. There is only one overhead light. That is my only serious criticism. The staff is very hospitable. We had a car and wanted to do some things on our own and needed to be persistent to get directions. They prefer to book tours for patrons and we did book one tour through them and it was outstanding. Breakfast was included with our room and they have a buffet and wilThel cook eggs and oemlets to order. We would recommend this place with no reservations. We were booked here as part of a vacation package and didn't expect it to be a nice as it was.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello, greetings from magic Mountain Hotel...

Is a pleasure read your very good comments about us and our staff, we work every day to give our best and make of your stay something magic.
We really are proud of we could give you a good time.

We hope see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Magic Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.