We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Magic Mountain to your Saves list
Hotel Magic Mountain
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Incredible Views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at this hotel while on a tour with G Adventures. All rooms at this hotel face Arenal Volcano--the views are spectacular. Each room also has a balcony or terrace facing the pool. The rooms are spacious and clean, the bed was very comfortable. The location is pretty good--not right downtown, but there are a few shops and a supermarket within walking distance. We did walk all the way into town one day, took about 20 minutes.

Breakfast was delicious--even have made to order eggs and omelets! Free wi-fi throughout hotel!

Ask for a room on the 3rd floor (highest) to get the best views of the volcano.

Highly recommend this hotel!

Words of Wisdom: Don't lose your room key or they charge a fee.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello, thanks so much for your comments!!

Your suggestions are the most important for us, Is good to know you had a great time at Magic Mountain Hotel.

We are really proud of hear we are doing a very good job.
Thanks again, and hope see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    196
    55
    12
    7
See reviews for
111
217
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We chose this hotel based on it's location to the thermal hot springs, and wish we had looked around a little more. The rooms are outdated and average at best. My room had a mini fridge but my friends fridge was missing. Air conditioning was iffy. The pool area is nice, but the swim up bar was closed up when we headed down at 7:00 pm for a cocktail. The food in their restaurant is good and the prices for food and drink were amazingly low.
The staff was pleasant and helpful, and there were several times we needed them...
A very average hotel that I would only stay in again if there was no where else in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We really sorry had not met your expectations, Sorry cause when you got to the wet bar it was closed, but is it was because the time for the wet bar is from 11:00am to 7:00pm.
Thanks for your comments, It help us try to be better. We hope if you stay again here, you can have a better experience.

Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at Hotel magic Mountain for three nights. I was glad we had booked excursions as it was too cool to use the swimming pool and too rainy to even find the hot tub appealing, but the view was breath-taking. We found the room attractive and well-kept. We had no bug issues, but that may be because we were on the third floor. The staff was always helpful and gracious. I was pleased to find a computer in the lobby with free access. Watch for the hummingbirds.

Room Tip: Take rain gear and camera. The plants and flowers in the gardens are photo-worthy. Plan excursions a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Greetings from Magic Mountain hotel staff;

We are happy to hear you had a great time, thanks for your suggestions and for recommending us.

We hope see you soon soon again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We just returned from a 5 night stay at Magic Mountain. I agree with all of the positive things other reviewers have said. The staff was very nice and very helpful. Everyone was just extremely pleasant. The views of the volcano would have been fantastic but we did not see it because of heavy clouds. The breakfast is very good and served cheerfully. The orange juice is fresh. If you're a backpacker, you'll be fine. If you have a suitcase and would like to have drawer space to store your things, you're out of luck. But all in all we were happy with our experience and if we return to LaFortuna, we would stay there again. It is very close to town, less than a five minute drive. The grounds are gorgeous, very lush and well-maintained.

Room Tip: Recommend second or third floor for good views of the volcano. Our room had the strange little ramp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear anne, thanks for your very nice comments about us.
Is important for us hear that you had a good time with us, comments like this make us be better each day.

We are proud of you had enjoy the stay at Magic Mountain.

Magic Mountain hope see you soon again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent four nights at this hotel and were very satisfied. The rooms were simple but very clean and contained everything we needed. We had breakfast each morning in the dining room and the food was fresh and filling.n the staff at the pool and restaurant were great and our kids had alot of fun with them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Regards from Magic Mountain Hotel!!

We enjoy to know you and your family had a great time with us and our staff.
We hope, we can see you the next time you visit Costa Rica, our custumers are the most important for us, thats why you always will feel like in family.

Thanks so much for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I was impressed with the view from the hotel and was pleased with it; good value. We asked for a third floor room and it was nice hanging out on the balcony. We took advantage also of the half priced happy hour drinks at the pool bar, which was also heated. I wouldn't stay anywhere else next time because we were there to explore and were out and about all day. The staff was friendly and helped with making reservations. Breakfast was included and it was different every day, and included hot buffet.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Hello, thanks so much for your comments!

Is good to hear you had wonderfull stay at Magic Mountain Hotel, we hope you can visit us again in your next vacations.
Your are the most important for us, if our guest is enjoying, we are going to be happy.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I would like to thank the staff at the Magic Mountain Hotel. Nancy and Juan were so kind and patient with me as I changed my reservations twice at short notice. We were unable to drive up to La Fortuna from San Rafael because of the intense fog at night and had to turn back. We were pretty shook up. Instead, they upgraded us to a better room at no charge. They were so warm and inviting when we finally arrived the next day and were a great help in planning a tour.
Thank you Nancy and Juan
I had to wait at Lina's restaurant for my husband. Nella, the server there was kind enough to bring me a little cake to eat while I had coffee and kept me company.
It is those extra little touches that make a stay so pleasant and removes any stress.
The view is spectacular, the rooms are spotless and the food is delicious.
Thank you mountain magic hotel
I will return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hello, greetings from Magic Mountain Hotel!!

We are proud of read your very good comments about our hotel and staff, we are happy to have met your expectations...

We hope you can visit us soon again...

Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Magic Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.