We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Save Saved
You added Hotel Magic Mountain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Family Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent four nights at this hotel and were very satisfied. The rooms were simple but very clean and contained everything we needed. We had breakfast each morning in the dining room and the food was fresh and filling.n the staff at the pool and restaurant were great and our kids had alot of fun with them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Regards from Magic Mountain Hotel!!

We enjoy to know you and your family had a great time with us and our staff.
We hope, we can see you the next time you visit Costa Rica, our custumers are the most important for us, thats why you always will feel like in family.

Thanks so much for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    173
    48
    9
    6
See reviews for
97
197
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I was impressed with the view from the hotel and was pleased with it; good value. We asked for a third floor room and it was nice hanging out on the balcony. We took advantage also of the half priced happy hour drinks at the pool bar, which was also heated. I wouldn't stay anywhere else next time because we were there to explore and were out and about all day. The staff was friendly and helped with making reservations. Breakfast was included and it was different every day, and included hot buffet.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Hello, thanks so much for your comments!

Is good to hear you had wonderfull stay at Magic Mountain Hotel, we hope you can visit us again in your next vacations.
Your are the most important for us, if our guest is enjoying, we are going to be happy.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a great hotel in a really excellent location. It's the final hotel on the road going out of La Fortuna but a taxi costs only $3 - 4 to get into town where there are lots of good restaurants. The best things are a) the view of the volcano which is better than you will get on any tour and b) the garden. The plants attract so many birds, many of which are nesting, that it's a pleasure to sit on the balcony or by the pool and watch them. The rooms are large, clean and fitted to a high standard with very reasonable rates for laundry which is done in a few hours. My only criticism of the hotel is the pool bar where the staff play latino pop music loudly for themselves without any regard for the guests. We were the only people at the pool one morning and were enjoying the peace and bird chatter when this happened and it totally spoiled everything. I can understand playing this during happy hour but not otherwise.

Room Tip: top floor facing Arenal Volcano for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hi, thanks for visiting us!

We are willing to hear any suggestion from you.
Thanks for tell us about the loudly music at the wet bar, we are going to take care this do not happen again...

Eventhough this incident you told us very nice things about the hotel, we hope you can visit us again and give a better service, the service you really deserve.

Thanks so much, best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I would like to thank the staff at the Magic Mountain Hotel. Nancy and Juan were so kind and patient with me as I changed my reservations twice at short notice. We were unable to drive up to La Fortuna from San Rafael because of the intense fog at night and had to turn back. We were pretty shook up. Instead, they upgraded us to a better room at no charge. They were so warm and inviting when we finally arrived the next day and were a great help in planning a tour.
Thank you Nancy and Juan
I had to wait at Lina's restaurant for my husband. Nella, the server there was kind enough to bring me a little cake to eat while I had coffee and kept me company.
It is those extra little touches that make a stay so pleasant and removes any stress.
The view is spectacular, the rooms are spotless and the food is delicious.
Thank you mountain magic hotel
I will return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hello, greetings from Magic Mountain Hotel!!

We are proud of read your very good comments about our hotel and staff, we are happy to have met your expectations...

We hope you can visit us soon again...

Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was our second hotel stop on our 10 day vacation reserved through Costa Rican Trails. Nice balcony views from clean and comfortable rooms with breakfast included. Take a cab for about $4.00 into La fortuna for shopping and lunch. Don Ruffino's Restaurant is very good. We walked to La Fortuna from the hotel but it is really too far, so we took a cab back. For dinner we tried Vagabond Pizza. A couple of Imperial beers and fresh brickoven pizza hit the spot. You can walk here in five minutes from the hotel. In 2 days here we did the zip-line,volcano tour,ecotermales hot springs,river paddle and La Fortuna waterfall. Beautiful area with friendly people. Have fun!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Michael, thanks so much for your comments!

We enjoy heard that you have had a beautiful stay with us.
We hope see you soon again and we wish give you the better stay you have had never.

Best regards....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Geneva
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed here with the Caravan tour company and it was simply excellent - the staff, the services, the pool, the facilities and services (laundry well done overnight), complimentary wi-fi in the reception area. Lucky with the weather we had perfect views of the Arenal volcano from our room balcony. Two bars - one by the pool (a little small) and one on the 2nd floor on top of the restaurant (too noisy) but then we squeezed in the pool bar and greatly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony with a view of the Arenal volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Greetings from Magic Mountain Hotel!!

We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Magic Mountain Hotel.

We are proud of met your expectations, very nice comments and thanks again for visit us.

Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Room was very clean and tastefully decorated. Rooms are typical hotel size. (read small) Bathroom has weird little ramp thing up to the tub that we kept tripping over, but not a deal breaker. Nice little deck overlooking the lovely grounds/pool, and most importantly, a stunning view of the volcano. Staff friendly, helpful, and responsive. For example, one day we were sitting out by the pool and along came a guy who fired up a power washer and began cleaning the concrete. You can imagine what a buzz kill that was. I immediately went to the desk to complain and it was shut down immediately, never to appear again during our stay. This was much appreciated. One nice thing about this hotel is that the majority of people disappear during the day on various tours. The 4 of us had the whole pool to ourselves for an entire day as a result, which was delightful. My only criticism would be of the restaurant. They are trying very hard to be high-end but are missing the mark in terms of the food. Service was EXCELLENT, however I was disappointed to be served green tomatoes in the tropics. My husband ordered filet mignon...it was certainly not filet mignon, but another cut of steak that is not as good. I think that this has more to do with language issues than anything else. Some people rave about the breakfast...there was nothing wrong with it but I would have liked to see bacon available. They had omelettes, which was nice, but everything else was either fruit or something starchy. I would also like to review the spa...I had not intended on doing any spa stuff but they had a special on, so my daughter and I gave it a go. VERY good idea. We were surprised at how swank the spa was...you certainly would not think that looking at the hotel from the street. I highly recommend it...beautiful, super clean, and the staff was lovely and competent. Request a 3rd floor room to take advantage of the amazing view. Overall, would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor...best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Greetings from magic mountain hotel!!

We really appreciate to hear your suggestions, we are working in improve our restaurant, and you can be that sure we are going take care about the tub to avoid any accident...

We hope had met your expectations, and we desire see you soon; thanks so much for your comments again.

Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Magic Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.