We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical time at Magic Mountain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Magic Mountain to your Saves list
Hotel Magic Mountain
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta,Ga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Magical time at Magic Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a beautiful property with a great view of Arenal Volcano. We stayed for 3 days and found the hotel very clean and all the staff helpful and pleasant. I enjoyed the swim up bar and the waitress referred to me as Mr. Fish with a big beautiful smile! Get the breakfast buffet - the super fresh eggs are cooked to order and the fruit is to die for! We loved every minute! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Victor, we really appreciate your comments;
Is good to know that you had a good time with us.

Our customer are the most important for us, if you feel pleasent, we are too.
We hope see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    186
    52
    10
    7
See reviews for
108
205
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Magic Mountain January 26 - 29. The hotel is clean and the staff are very helpful. The property is beautifully landscaped with lovely flowers and plants. We enjoyed some time at the pool and hot tubs. There is a bar by the pool where you can order drinks and food. The waitress was so attentive that we never had to leave our lounge chairs. The breakfast buffet was wonderful--the freshest papaya, mango and pineapple I've ever had.

We did some tours through Aventuras Arenal -- rainforest hike and Arenal hanging bridges, La Fortuna waterfall, volcano lava flow hike, Tabacon Hot Springs, Cano Negro river boat safari. These tours were the highlight of our time in Costa Rica. The tour guides were great and well worth the money. This is truly the most beautiful part of the country, so be sure you don't miss it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest; kindest regards from Magic Mountain Hotel!!

You are our priority, so really appreciate your comments, It is an honor for us to hear you had an excellent stay.

If you get a great time it means we are doing a good job to give you the best vacations you ever had.

Best regards...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We just spent two nights in Magic Mountain Hotel in La Fortuna. We liked the location - between the town and the Arenal Volcano. From our balcony we had the greatest view of the Volcan, the garden and the pool. Yesterday we were able to even see the top of the Volcano. The hotel is clean and the staff helpful. We had a very good buffet breakfast at the restaurant adjacent to the hotel. At night my husband took the dinner buffet - at a very reasonable price. We appreciate the Wifi even though the signal was not very strong. Two little things that could be improved: the key to our door was not always functioning. We had to get a new key and play with it each time we entered the room. Also the paint was peeling on our door on the outside. Therefore our first impression was not the best even though we really enjoyed our stay there after.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear customer, thanks for your beautiful comments...

It's nice to know you spent an excellent stay at Magic Mountain Hotel.

We are working with the paint in the doors, It is almost ready, thanks for your suggestions about the keys problems also.

Magic Mountain Staff, hopes see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

wonderful hotel, fantastic view of the volcano.
Room was great, but, we spent the extra for the in-room hot-tub. On arrival the water was cold, called front desk, a person was quickly there, told us to turn on the jets, and it would be fine. Went for dinner, returned to a "hot" hot-tub - too hot to enjoy. Turned off jets, and water gets cold. Tried several times to adjust the temperature on the two controls, but no instructions - so water was either cold or too hot.

Room was very nice, clean, but pillows are hard. Pool and grounds are very good, and kept clean.

Restaurant food was ok, not a highlight of our trip. Hotel seems to have a tour bus each day, so they put on a buffet dinner & breakfast. You can order dinner off the menu, but food was not better than the buffet.

there are several hotels and restaurants close by, so do not pass on this hotel just because of the food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Greetings from Magic Mountain Hotel, we really appreciate your comments, our customers are the most important for us.

We are working hard to improve the restaurant, we are training our staff to give you a unmatched service the next time....

Thanks for choose Magic Mountain, we hope see you soon again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed three nights at this hotel. The rooms are fairly spacious, and I believe all of them have a balcony facing Arenal volcano. The only two downsides of this hotel are the remote location (from the center of La Fortuna) and that the WiFi signal is very weak in certain rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Greetings from Magic Mountain Hotel...

We are really proud of you have had a wonderful stay here. We are working on the wifi signal to give you a better service the next time and about our localization we are just 3 kilometres from La Fortuna town on the main street.

We hope see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Magic Mountain in January, 2013. It is conveniently located just out of La Fortuna. The staff are very helpful, the price reasonable, and the rooms bright and spacious.
We stayed in room 506, a lovely junior suite with a great view of the volcano. The suite has a sitting area, nice-sized balcony and large bathroom with a large shower, as well as a jacuzzi.
The room included a breakfast buffet, which was quite decent.
The only small negatives were that the plants in the planters on the balcony were quite dry and wilting and needed attention right away. We told this to the receptionist, who told the grounds people, but when we checked out two day later they still not been watered. The other thing was that there was no bulb in the light above the desk.

The desk clerk helped us book a trip on the sky tram, and the 'sky trek' (zip line).

All in all we had an excellent experience, and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 506 has a great view of th volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Noel, thanks for your comments.

Your suggestions are very important for us, we are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, about the plants at the balcony, we take care about it, they are better now.

We hope see you soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China MI
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent 2 nights with a king bed on the 2nd floor. We had a nice balcony with a good view of the volcano, when it wasn't covered with clouds!. The room itself was spotless but the bathroom sink was a bit dirty. Our room did have a safe, small fridge and a nice balcony. Our bed was firm & not saggy with plenty of pillows. We only received 1 key at check in & when we arrived in the room noticed that you had to keep the room key in a "holder" so the a/c would turn on. Once you left you couldn't keep the air on unless you had another key. We did notice this "policy" throughout Costa Rica but everywhere else we were given 2 keys (we do like to keep the air on when not in the room, just at a little higher temp). We ate breakfast & dinner both days and it was great. We also went to their sports bar one night & had a drink. They were well priced & not skimpy on the liquor. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the area.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor towards the center of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments.

We would like to explain you why we usually give just one key; we are friendly to the environment, and this is a means to protect it, saving electricity.
So, the idea is when you go out the room, you take the key and do not leave the A/C working all the time.

We apologize for the inconveniences about the keys.


Thanks again for your excellent comments and thanks for recommend us.


Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Magic Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.