We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect view of volcano” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Magic Mountain to your Saves list
Hotel Magic Mountain
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
235 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Perfect view of volcano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Arenal was not erupting when we visited, but you still like to see it. Our guide warned us that many people did not see it. All of the rooms have views of the volcano. Our second floor room had an unobstructed view. When we woke up shortly after sunrise the first morning of our stay, Arenal was fully visible and very photogenic. By around 8 AM, the clouds were already starting to roll in. The next morning, you would not have known there was a volcano there.

The front desk staff is very willing to provide extra toiletries if you ask. We asked for more the first night and again on the second night (because they had not been replenished).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an unobstructed view. The rooms above the ground floor would generally have bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Greetings from Magic Mountain Hotel.

We appreciate your comments and we are proud of you have had a wonderful stay...

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    219
    60
    13
    7
See reviews for
128
242
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Magic Mountain Hotel and package was nothing short of superb. For $630 USA for a couple we had all food and drinks included, a tour of the rainforest and hanging bridges as well as a hike to an amazing waterfall and active volcano. Topping it off with the most luxurious hot springs!! The guide was amazing and we learned so much. Her passion was infectious!

This is a must do when in Costa Rica!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments, It is very important for us.
We are happy you enjoyed the stay at Magic Mountain.
Hope see you soon again.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I was here with my son in 2007; this time the whole family came.. We got in late afternoon and needed two rooms which we had. I needed a roll away as my adult sons will not share a bed. It was little more than army cot which was disappointing.. There was a large tour group there while we were there.. I know they contribute more income to the hotel but the pool bar and pool chaises were full from this group so we opted not to use either that night which was too bad.. Dinner was a buffet for this large group.. not what we wanted either. We had a drink, delayed a while and then when back after the group had left and ordered from the menu.. The food was very good but not great. The breakfast was the same.. good but we had better at a hotel near the airport in San Jose.. the staff was super, very helpful and friendly especially at the front desk and restaurant. The views.. well, you can't beat those.. a large volcano going up up up into the clouds seemingly right behind the pool (which also is beautiful). While my guys went on a zip line tour, I hit the spa for a mud massage which was really heavenly. The spa is new since last there. Beautiful and large rooms but I was the only one there. Last time the food, both breakfast and dinner, were better but overall it was a good choice again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments, This is too important for us, this is the way how we can see what we are doing good or not.
We hope the next time that you visit us, we can give you a better service
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We only had one night to spend here but our stay was very memorable. The room was clean and fairly luxurious. We had a spectacular view of the volcano from our balcony. So perfect it was almost surreal. The swimming pool was lovely and the pool bar was very warm. The jacuzzis too were awesome. The staff were amazingly friendly, attentive and helpful. We met the owners and they could not have been nicer to us, giving us a tour of the hotel and were very willing to chat. You could tell they have pride in their hotel and want to hear from the guests to make sure everyone has a great stay. You don't see that much anymore. Thank you.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a volcano and pool view. Room 308 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Greetings from Magic Mountain,
We are pleased to have met your expectations, We hope you can visit us again soon and hopefully next time give the same or better a service.

warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Service was great, rooms very good, bed was very comfortable! Breakfast buffet needs improvement! I recommend staying here. Great value. Location is excellent close to la fortuna 2 mins car 10 mins walking and great views of arenal volcano. Hotel has security at night. I observed this when i came back from new years celebration.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello, thanks so much for your comments, this is too important for us, and we are going to take care about the buffet; Thanks for your recommendation.
We are pleased that you have had an excelent stay.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. The rooms are great, we had booked excursions with the hotel in advance, it all went well. The reception desk is somewhat funny, the SPA good but empty and the bar and restaurant dismal. Take a cab to La Fortuna instead for a meal.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello, thanks for write us.
We are working hard for give you a better stay the next time.
We are improving our personal to make the reception a warmest place also we are going to see what is wrong with the restaurant and so next time you can enjoy our food.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Excellent place to stay in this area. We were here on a Caravan tour. Rooms were very nice, with balconies and a pool. (Also a sport bar that I did not visit.) The main feature is a view of the volcano, but while we were there (two nights) it was too cloudy to see it. Better luck if the weather is good, especially on the 2nd or 3rd floor. Avoid the 1st floor--no view.
Be sure to soak in the excellent hot springs a short distance away (see my separate review). On the road, a short walk toward town, is a good grocery store and a laundry that does what you need within a couple of hours for you to pick up.
Meals were very good to excellent.

Room Tip: Upper floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Best regards from Magic Mountain Hotel,
We hope you had a wonderful stay with us and that we were able to meet all of your expectations.
We are happy to see your comments, It help us to see if we are doing a good job, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#18 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,746 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#21 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Arenal Green
Hotel Arenal Green
#17 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Magic Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.