We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average option.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Save Saved
You added Hotel Magic Mountain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very average option.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

It is located close to the city of La fortuna, which makes it easy to go to town. The staff is really nice and the pool is ok. Rooms are not nice at all. There are too many options around to make this hotel your option...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thanks for your kind comments about our hotel and services; Your comments are very valuable to us.
We look forward to your visit again, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    176
    48
    10
    6
See reviews for
100
198
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Tx
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I would not say this place is a five star hotel. It has basic rooms (think motel 6) with better than average pool and grounds. They staff has been very accommodating. The rooms are a bit disappointing- but overall a solid place to stay. Close to town and the volcano. The restaurant is decent and the bartenders make good drinks.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd or 3rd floor to have a view of volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The grounds are kept very well. All rooms have balconies that provide a great view of the volcano, though we went in low season, November...lots of mist all day, so we didn't actually get to see the volcano. There are 2 hot tubs, which sometimes may not be on, so you'll have to let the front desk know to turn it on. There's no switch outside for you to turn it on yourself. Our stay included breakfast at the restaurant on site. The breakfast spread was very typical Costa Rican food, rice and beans, lots of fresh fruits! It's located 5 min from downtown LaFortuna, so you can actually walk to the supermarket and other restaurants if you want, or take a cab, less $5 one way. The beds are nice and firm. The shower head is not very impressive, but sufficient. Oh there's no blow dryers...you'll have to ask the front desk for one.

Room Tip: Bring your own blow dryer. There's a bar on location with very reasonable prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear customer, thanks so much for your comments.

Now we are almost finishing the works that we start, we work all our showers, hot tubs and we are making changes with the blow dryers also with our TVs.

We are improving to give you the best stay the next time.

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was the first stop on our family vacation. The rooms were a good size and clean. One room was missing a fridge and the other got skipped by the maid service one day. Breakfast was good the first day, but was pretty monotonous after the third. Front Desk personal was very helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay a good one. The hot tubs were not hot. If we were lucky, one of the two would be warm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We absolutely cannot say enough about how wonderful this hotel is. Our room, 311, was clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated, and had the most amazing view of the Arenal volcano! The AC worked great. The property was well manicured & had beautiful flowers and plants. The pool area was really nice too. The hot tub was not hot, but we found that this is common in all of Costa Rica, since they are in the heat most of the time, they use the hot tub more for the jets, less for the temperature. The staff at this hotel is so full of hospitality, you will feel like they are friends by the end of your stay, even if it's just a few days. Rosabel (I am sure I am spelling her name incorrectly) was so GREAT in helping us with our excursions... so much so that after breakfast one morning, she motioned us to the front desk to let us know that she found our tour cheaper and handed us $50 back!!! How nice was that? She could have pocketed that and we would have never known. She also checked on us after each tour to see how we liked it and make sure we had a good time. We did not hear the same stories from people who stayed in bigger hotels in the area. This is the place to stay in La Fortuna. The Sports bar is a nice place to relax and has 2 for 1 happy hour specials. We ate only breakfast at the hotel, which was included in our package. We thought it was really good. Loved the traditional Costa Rican food! Overall, we would recommend this hotel to anyone. Couple of random tips... ask for the third floor for superior views of the volcano, try La Choza de Laurel for great local food (just after the Burger King), go to Tabacon for the the most natural hot springs, do the combination all day tour... it includes the hanging bridges hike, swimming in the La Fortuna waterfall, hike to the lava fields, Tabacon, lunch & dinner. We had a fabulous time in this area and specifically at this hotel... just wonderful!!! Cannot beat the service & atmosphere!!!

Room Tip: THIRD FLOOR for the best views of the volcano!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed one night here. Great view of hotel and beautiful pool area. Nice terrace outside to enjoy the view. I usually get annoyed when people write reviews and complain about little things. However, we looked forward to having coffee on our terrace in the early morning while enjoying the view, but there was no coffee next to the coffee maker. Thinking this an oversight, I went downstairs to the lobby to get some. The desk clerk asked the housekeeper and I was told they had no coffee for the rooms, but they might get some later. Not much help. They did have a good breakfast starting at 7am. Also, it gets light at 5:30 am, so it's great to get an early start sightseeing at Arenal. Would definitely stay here again (but might bring my own coffee for the room.)

Room Tip: Get the second or third floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

You have a view of the volcano if not cloudy (volcano has been inactive for a few years now, but you see the cone of the mountain). Great pool. Walk to laundry service. Close to luxury. Modern rooms. Good restaurant and bar. Just watch out for the extra charges in the resturant. We ordered 2 glasses of wine and got a whole bottle and was charged $35 upon check out. The waiter added his big tip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Magic Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.