We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel and hope to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Magic Mountain to your Saves list
Hotel Magic Mountain
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel and hope to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

I booked this through Costa Rican Trails (would never use again) and thought this hotel was terrific. It happened that they had two groups there (when checking I thought "ugh" as the buses unloaded) but without my asking, they upgraded us to a junior suite away from the groups. Dinner at the restaurant was wonderful and one of the best quality and priced meals we had while in La Fortuna. Breakfast was a buffet one day (wonderful) while the groups were there and off the menu the other days. The staff was great, arranged any tours we wanted, were always friendly and able to answer questions. The cosmo from the bar was the best I've ever had-bar none. We are planning to return to Costa Rica again and will hope to stay here a few nights.

  • Liked — the setting was gorgeous when the clouds lifted from Arenal volcano
  • Disliked — there were two large groups while we were there but it wasn't too bothersome to us.
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    186
    52
    10
    7
See reviews for
108
208
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ON, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

Great location. Easy to get to all of the activities. Very clean and "american" type hotel. No complaints, but not a party place. I went with 3 other 20 somethings who were just looking for adventure - no parties for a few days and this place was great. Amazing view, great pool, internet. Definitely recommend.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

I had a great time there...although I was traveling solo and in my late 20s there were a lot of older people. I felt like I was in a retirement home. Sorry...but there were bus loads of tour buses.

I loved the place overall though. It was clean, a good place to end where i could put my feet up. The staff was always so nice and so helpful...

i would recommend this place to anyone

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — only one computer for internet and no near by pay phones
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2008

Very nice hotel
Very nice and helpful reception excellent staff
Very nice pool - Two whirlpools - Excellent heated pool bar
Very nice views of the Volcano – all rooms had a view
Very clean
Very nice, elegantly decorated rooms, well taken care of
Excellent room service
Very nice food
Breakfast a little slow, felt sorry for the two ladies cooking the eggs
Pool towels a bit thin
Comfortable pool chairs
Very organized, professional staff
Strange restaurant set up
Hotel still being finalized
Spa and Bar to be finalized – Construction work did not interfere with the holiday
Located about a 15 minute walk from the main town

The volcano does not erupt every night. We naively were lead to believe that it did. We spent two nights waiting for the show but nothing happened.
Baldi hot springs is very nice and apparently less crowded than Tabacan, and also a third of the price. – Recommend to book with the small tourist office located just at the bottom of the hill before entering the town. Young man, very informative offered the lowest prices on all tours. We paid 19usd to enter Baldi.
Baldi consist of several hot spring pools…some were a little too hot. Beautiful gardens at the top of the Theme very nice food.
Seemed popular with the older generation
Very easy place to travel around and to see the local environment
The hanging bridges tour, very nice, be prepared to walk a lot (2-3hrs), wear good shoes. Don’t expect to see any animals apart from birds and ants as well as the occasional ant eating animal.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2007

This hotel is exactly a $2.00 USD ride from La Fortuna town center which makes it great for those that don't have a car to get somewhere nice for dinner in Costa Rica outside your hotel.

The hotel is VERY clean, no carpeting in rooms every room has a balcony with a table and chairs. Breakfast was great, clean friendly wait staff. Depending on how crowded the hotel is will depend if the breakfast is buffet or A la Carte.

The only thing that was slightly odd was that the front desk is unattended from 10 pM - 6 am. there is still a security guard out in the front to control what cars and people come into or out of hotel grounds, but no front desk, found this out when trying to set a wake up call at 11 PM.

I would DEFINATELY stay here again, although I assume once the word on the street is out at how amazing this place is, it'll either shoot up it's prices or it will be hard to find a vacant room.

  • Liked — Cleaniness, close location to La Fortuna, Volcano View
  • Disliked — No front desk from 10 PM-6AM
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

My wife & I stumbled across the Magic Mountain hotel while looking for a place to stay in La Fortuna. I tried a couple other hotels that were all booked up (Lomas del Volcan and Los Lagos).
But there sat this new very expensive looking hotel (with an awefuly cheezy name).
I figured I would give it a shot.

Turns out it was significantly cheaper than the last 2 hotels I had tried, and it looked very nice.
So I looked at the room, and wow! 3.5 or 4 star accomodations.

They had a pool, hot tub, and every room was a view of the volcano.

Breakfast was included in the room price (and tax too), and it was also really good.

We stayed there the next 2 nights, and loved it. It was a beautiful hotel, with beautiful rooms.
We couldnt be more pleased.

  • Liked — Just about everything. . .
  • Disliked — Hmmmm. . . Who would name their hotel Magic Mountain?
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2007

Beautiful view from the room. Despite the fact that this is in town, the view out the balcony is of nicely landscaped hill. The service was
great - they delivered a smoothie to our room right after check in. The attached restaurant serves excellent food as well. We didn't get to see Arenal while we were there due to the weather, so I can't comment on the view.

  • Liked — View out the balcony
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Magic Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.