We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Magic Mountain to your Saves list
Hotel Magic Mountain
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. It has a nice breakfast in the restaurant...with a great view of the volcano. We stayed in the junior suite...complete with an in-room hot tub. The hotel also offered a pretty pool and outdoor hot tub.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    209
    58
    13
    7
See reviews for
121
235
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We went to La Fortuna, Tabacon thermal waters and the Sky Tram then we decided to stay the night. We called in and they gave us a GREAT rate w/bkft! Loved it. Super clean, Modern rooms all with a view to the volcano and the beautiful pool area. Dinner at the restaurant was good. Breakfast was a small buffet but good enough for our family of 4 with kids. We Highly recommend it. Super safe too! Juan Carlos in reception was a great help suggesting a good canopy tour!

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd or 3rd floor location! However, rooms were really quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a weeklong trip to Costa Rica. Our first stop was in La Fortuna and we were fortunate enough to find a room at Magic Mountain. It provided one of the cleanest and more modern Hotels in the area. They have one of the best locations, with great views of the Arenal Volcano. Each room has a balcony facing the pool with the Volcano in the background. Wonderful breakfast included with nice restaurant for both lunch and dinner. Their happy hour provides a great transition from a full day of activities, and we enjoyed ours from the swim up bar at the pool. I would recommend for anyone staying in this area of Costa Rica. Rutledges from Texas

Room Tip: Standard rooms have plenty of room but the corner suites give you a bit more room to spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Missed the view of the Volcano due to clouds but has nice garden pool area for relaxing and two for one happy hour at the pool bar.

Nice rooms with terrifc outlook,

Room Tip: Ask for a view toward the pool and volcano which are no the same side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeForest, WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days before heading to the beach. We had a nice room, I was a little disappointed with two double beds instead of a king and there were little tiny bugs in the bathroom but they didn't bite so no worries. The bartender at the pool was very nice and we enjoyed trying to speak Spanish as she was learning English. Overall it was a nice place to stay!

Stayed February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We enjoyed this smaller hotel. It had a great view of the volcano. We also really enjoyed the pool area. The pool was a bit cold but the pool and entire area around it was very clean and in good condition.

We had very good food at the pool area and in the restaurant.

The room was nice, my only compliant was that there were tiny little bugs in the bathroom. I chalked it up to being in the tropics, but it was annoying none the less.

The hotel was also easily accesible to the town.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We were on a Caravan tour - loved this small hotel, amazing views, nice refrig, 5 blocks to a grocery store to buy wine, beer or liquor. Unfortunately, as some have said, the hot tub is COLD - the reason why is that the heater is BROKEN. What a shame as there are two hot tubs with a spectacular setting. The buffet has few choices, one am all the food was cold and another am the only cereal (this is a tour of 44 adults) was fruit loops!!! With a few impovements, this could be a perfect hotel, unless you like the big properties. The volcano is right out the window and all the grounds are beautiful, with even a guard walking around the property.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good - tho on a busy street we did not hear any street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Magic Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.