We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Save Saved
You added Hotel Magic Mountain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Magic Mountain
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

As a woman traveling alone to a place I've never been, I felt perfectly safe. The staff was wonderful and very patient. I made a mistake and booked the same tour twice, they made every effort to rectify the situation and get me on another tour asap. The food was good but a little too salty in the main restaurant and a bit more expensive than I expected.The buffet breakfast was wonderful with plenty to choose from and lots of local fresh fruit. The spa was beautiful and the Swedish massage very relaxing as well as the mini facial. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    160
    44
    7
    6
See reviews for
85
183
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Talala, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Check in was very smooth. Front desk staff spoke good english and were very helpful our entire stay. They called the tour company to verify tours we had arranged prior to arrival. The hotel was extremely clean. The flowers around the pool made for a beautiful view from our balcony. The breakfast was good and allowed us to eat authentic Costa Rican food. Hotel was quit and relaxing this time of year. I loved the glass elevator and the view of the volcano from this property. LaForunta seemed like a safe town and we were not bothered by people trying to sell us stuff or take advantage of us as tourists.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We got in around 1am, and there was no one at the desk, so security let us in room. He didn't speak any English but we got it figured out. There was no safe in our room, but after some issues with the door, decided not to bother to ask to switch rooms the next day. Rooms in the suite are very nice with jacuzzi in room (which we never used). the outdoor hot tubs were not very hot, but pretty. We really didn't hang around the hotel much in the three days we were there. One very nice gentleman at the desk (can't think of his name tho). The others not very exuberant. Breakfast was decent, but as someone else said, not much variety when you are there several days. I thought beds were very comfortable, and bathrooms large. They don't quite tell you on the brochures that the volcano only comes out to be seen 70 days a year. We caught a glimpse of it while on a hike, but not from the hotel. (ok, one night with a full moon we see a great shadow of it.) We went on two GREAT excursions including one on a hike around Arenal that then took us to The Hotsprings where we soaked and had dinner. HIGHLY recommend that one. And then went on a hanging bridges tour of the rain forest. Who can complain about such a lovely area! We really liked La Fortuna and wished we had gone into town more than just one night. We ate at Nenes? I think and it was off the beaten path but worth it. Try the Heart of Palm salad! It was end of rainy season, but seemed to clear up in the afternoon. Not very many people around that time of year tho, so that was a bonus! We didn't drive in Costa Rica, and are really GLAD we didn't. Doesn't seem to be many rules of the road and they are narrow and winding!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

This hotel is not a "showy" place but it is very nice and clean. Ants will not be a problem if you ensure all food is closed and sealed.
We had a Volcano view from our Junior Suite (which had a jacuzzi in the room). The view was wonderful!! We ate the buffet breakfast in the hotel every morning and it was good, however it was the same food, every other day. One day scrambled eggs, the next day poched eggs, then back to scrambled the next. The bed was wonderfully cozy to snuggle in after a long day.
The hotel is within walking distance to the town of LaFortuna (and a grocery store which was a big plus!).
. If you take a cab to town, the ride is only $3. The local soda's have amazing Costa Rician food! We had the best meals at La Tipica and Los Nemes (?). The locals are very friendly and helpful and most do speak English. American money and credit cards (Visa) are accepted.
We booked our tours through the hotel and our guide "HIDO" was very knowledgable and alot of fun! We actually requested him for another adventure the next day. The Bali hot springs are one of the best.
I would recommend this hotel and would return for another visit!

Room Tip: Get a Volcano view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I stayed here for three nights for vacation with my husband. My main complaint is that the sheets and pillows on the bed had a off smell also the bed was very uncomfortable. The view of the volcano is amazing and the location was great. We had no wireless internet in the room as mentioned in the website.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I stayed here for three nights at the end of my honeymoon with my husband. My main complaint is that our room, and also our sheets and towels had an awful smell. I thought it may have been from the chlorine in the jacuzzi tub, but I'm not sure. It was musty and possibly moldy? It was extremely distracting and made my stay quite unpleasant.
Some other negatives are the pool chairs, which belong in the dumpster by now, and the fact that nothing was working when we were there. The room phones were down and the front desk phone wasn't working well either, the elevator was broken, the safe in our room didn't work, and there was no wireless internet in the room like it says on the website.
A couple positives I'll say is that the view of the volcano was good and the location of the hotel was very convenient. Other than that, everything was either average or below average.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

As said previous excellent view of the volcano, good rooms and excellent pool. But restaurant good but a little over priced for dinner but breakfast is great. In addition to this the staff were always polite

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Magic Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.