We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, great views, good value. Stay here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campo Verde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Campo Verde to your Saves list
Hotel Campo Verde
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   La Fortuna, Volcan Arenal | 9km oeste de la Iglesia de La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice, great views, good value. Stay here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We really liked this place. The cabinas are spacious and clean with coffee makers, refrigerators, and a good, hot shower. Each room has an outside patio with comfy chairs to enjoy the AWESOME views of the volcano. The grounds are planted in LOTS of flowering shrubs and fruit trees that attract lots of hummingbirds and other wildlife.

On my previous trip to Arenal, I stayed at Lomas Del Volcan. It was new at the time, and pretty cheap. We stopped by this time, and their rates were well over $100 now (rainy season rates)! The funny thing is - Campo Verde is almost a mirror image (on about half the acreage) around the hotter side of the volcano - and for around $50 a night! The host spoke very little English, but she was very nice, and we all muddled through. I would definitely recommend this place!

One word about the "rainy season". I noticed some people complaining about the volcano being clouded over in the dry season. Let's face it, weather is always a crap-shoot. This was my second trip to CR in the so-called "rainy season" and we had plenty of sunny days, both trips, even at the volcano! Now, I'm from Florida, so I'm used to afternoon rain in the summer - but still - considering the discounts during the rainy season, I think it's worth it. We were in CR and Nica for almost 3 weeks and never had a single day where it rained the entire day, or ruined our plans.

By the way, as far as the 'green side' versus the 'hot side' of the volcano. You are probably more likely to get a clear sunrise on the south and east (green side) of the volcano, because it's less likely to be rainy/cloudy in the morning. But if you get lucky and get a clear sunset on the rocky north/western side, it looks like this (see my pic).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    91
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
65
119
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed at Campo Verde for 3 nights in August 2010 and had a great time. The cabin we had (#7) was completely private. We were as close to the volcano as you can get! No one was ahead of us so we had great views of the volcano. All around the property in the back are cows and horses. At night we could see the volcano spitting out rocks and during the day we had a great view of smoke coming out from the top. The shower had great water pressure. The breakfast was good--3 choices. The office closes at night so you can't have internet access at all hours. There also is not wifi in the room. That's the only complaint I had! Would be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

This was our third trip to the Arenal area, and this was the worst hotel by far. Live bugs (big ants in addition to the "normal" rainforest bugs that can't be helped), dead bugs (that were not removed from day to day), trash cans not emptied, bathroom only superficially cleaned, and an overwhelming and pervasive smell of must and mold in the room. We had to fight with the shower faucet to get hot water. Our room overlooked the main road so there was the constant noise of traffic. The front desk, if it happened to be open, had no English-speaking help. On the positive side, breakfast was decent with fresh fruit and 3 choices of entree, and a computer with free Internet if the front desk is open.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fransico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

Hotel Campo Verde is a very simple hotel. Decent place to stay if you are not expecting too much. The gal at the front desk was nice and friendly and offer us a great deal to Baldi Hot Springs, which made our first day in CR a good experience. Its not too far from town and the Arenal volcano.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

This place was great, the staff was very helpful, everything felt fresh and clean (it's new, so it basically is). The grounds were pretty, and the view of the volcano was great. I can see why other people complained about the noise, but there weren't many people in the cabins around us so we didn't experience it. It was far enough away from town to feel secluded, and about 10 minutes away from the park entrance, driving. Overall, a great value.
Tip: At night, take the gravel road to the park, and continue past the park for about 5 minutes til you hit a bridge, it's apparently a prime lava-viewing spot (when there IS lava, and when the fog isn't covering it).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City MO
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

Great room with a clear view of the volcano. Room is very simply with 2 double beds, cable TV, mini fridge, coffee maker and safety deposit box. Good size bathroom and a nice little patio. Most important is room is comfortable and staff are super nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

We loved Hotel Campo Verde--it was our favorite place to stay of the trip. I don't know why the other review said it was noisy... ?? The cabins were nice, clean and comfortable and the view of Arenal couldn't have been better. The breakfast was great and included in the price. They give you the choice of several menu items, and it was nice to have more than just bread and fruit! It was nice to be outside of La Fortuna--the location was very convenient to go downtown, but was without the noise. The staff were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The grounds were beautiful, and we even had the special treat of seeing a Toucan right in our cabin's own back yard! We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Campo Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campo Verde

Address: La Fortuna, Volcan Arenal | 9km oeste de la Iglesia de La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campo Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo Verde designed for the enjoyment of couples and families, located right in front of one of the world's most active volcanoes, the Arenal Volcano, just 10 minutes from the beautiful village of La Fortuna. The hotel is run by their owners, distinguished itself by its dedication to responsible sustainable tourism, and its personalized, quality service and attention to detail, making all the difference in our customer’s satisfaction.Hotel Campo Verde is a place where life is the purest of nature, with spectacular views of both the volcano and the mountains that surround it. The guest can enjoy the majestic volcano from their rooms. The Volcano´s ash explosions and lava flows, at night, give the impression of fireworks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Campo Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Campo Verde Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Campo Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.